Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars17
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
16
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 August 2013
Have a few albums from Nitin Sawhney and every ones a winner. If you like world music then this is a must.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2013
Incredible moments captured live to vinyl... discipline creates freedom and risk produces results on Onezero. Congratulations to all involved, Onezero is immaculate and joyful.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2013
I can't believe only 3 reviews so far (!?!?)

I'm not going to spend time reviewing the songs here - if you'd like to know about Nitin's hits go to You Tube and watch some videos. Start with 'Nadia', which is one of his best tracks in my opinion.

If you already know Nitin, here is a 'greatest hits' - recorded live and direct-to-disc. The sound quality is just stellar, easily one of the best recorded albums in my collection. I refer to the CD version here, I thought £100 for the vinyl was a bit steep. I say this as a self-confessed audiophile, trust me you will be delighted with the recording quality.

As for the 'live' aspect, well expect no audience clapping or other 'live' artifacts. It is 'live' in its manner of recording - direct to tape/disc. One take, one recording. Apart from the stellar sound quality, also suprising is the lack of 'mistakes' in musicianship. If there are errors, they are probably noticeable only to the musicians themselves, I can't detect anything of note.

With Nitin's band, the music is a little different to the initial recordings from past albums, but all the better for it. By this I mean hearing a variation is refreshing, and the differences aren't so great that you miss the original.

In summary, you should simply buy this. Press ''buy''. Hurry up.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 17 July 2013
The big feature of this is that it was recorded "live" in the studio direct to vinyl, so that it wasn't possible for the band to stop and the whole thing had to be done in a continuous take. This doesn't tell you what it will sound like though - only perhaps that there were some very good musicians/singers involved in making this.

Listening, the big feature is the all acoustic nature of the music - no electronics or electric instruments. The sound is set by the leader's accompaniment on either acoustic guitar or piano. The album starts off with guitar and with the conventional rhythm section this sounds quite western, but occasionally the vocals burst into Indian scales or we get a hint of Tabla - giving that distinctive colour.

By tracks 5 and 6 though, Nitin Sawhney moves to piano and the vocals take a back seat, as we enter musical territory that could have come from a modern Jazz group. Flute and Cello provide semi-improvised lines and piano dominates the sound for a change that never sounds abrupt, but flows naturally. Throughout we get snatches of Indian music and at times it bursts into the rhythmic vocalising heard on albums made with percussionist Trilok Gurtu - like Que Alegria.

The music is often gentle and Sawhney's parts have a deceptive simplicity - with the real virtuosity coming in the various vocals from a trio of singers and special guests - like Joss Stone on one track. Yes, this is like a summary of Nitin Sawhney's career so far - but it also coheres as an album and flows naturally - crossing genres and boundaries effortlessly. It all appears effortless and just the music that this group of people want to play, with no regard to any expectations - highly recommended for a lazy sunny day.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2014
1st class music as always from Nitin Sawhney, all the tracks have been remade with a really nice twist. I have been listening to this CD over and over again. The production as well is very very good, its a pleasure to listen to.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2013
On thursday 27th june Nitin Sawhney and his 9 piece band put on a remarkable one off show at the Roundhouse. Nobody has yet reviewed it, to my surprise.
The breadth of this man's musical vocabulary is staggering. Nine gifted musicians played enough different music for 20 bands, but it was all magically coherent. There was Spanish flamenco, Indian crossover, rock, jazz, folk music, and the best chick singer band ever, with the three lady vocalists representing soul, Portuguese, Indian classical, and just about every other style you can imagine. Each one of them would deserve to be starring in her own show. So much music, so much joy, from a 9 piece band. Such eclecticism and sheer musicianship, and nobody else would dare to take a band and record a whole concert directly to tape and to vinyl cutters without any hesitation, any faults, any alteration, mixing or whatever. This is what 'One ten' was about. It marks his tenth album, but I fancy it is also a jibe at the digital age of ones and zeroes. I bought the limited edition box set with 5 45rpm vinyls inside as well as the CD and a DVD. I had a wonderful surprise driving home, playing the CD in my car, and enjoyed the whole concert all over again. I will not describe the individual tracks, except to say the retrospective material is wonderfully fresh and the new tracks, especially 'longing' (written for and featuring the very amazing voice of Nicky Wells) are beautiful and uplifting. If you like Nitin Sawhney's music this carries the highest recommendation. If you haven't already heard his music this would be a perfect disc to start with.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2016
Once again Nitin Sawhney does not disappoint. From his cleverly crafted lyrics and music to the excellent musicians and vocalists that surround him this is well worth buying. A good cross over between a live and studio album.
If you are looking for a guide to the sound of Nitin then this is a good 'sampler' from which to start.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2015
This is just an awesome cd....beautifully arranged and played, but all songs slightly different to the original recordings......in a good way though.The musicianship throughout is outstanding and I just cant stop playing it....dont know why I left it so long to buy it really....I'd heard a few songs, and they were all good!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2016
Just bought this one purely on the recommendation of others and was not disappointed. Some tracks you will recognise as old friends but they serve to heighten the pleasure derived from the new tracks. Very easy listening with the Indian flavour flowing through. I love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2014
incredible live versions of classic tracks , the sound is amazing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£5.82

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)