Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Am Having A Good Break
Deep Purple or Rainbow or Blackmore's Night, Ritchie Blackmore is my man. On account of their previous albums 'Shadow Of The Moon', 'Under A Violet Moon', 'Fires At Midnight', 'Ghost Of A Rose' I own by this romantic band that plays folk rock or renaissance music or whatever it is called, I made an unmistakable purchase of this album. I am not a big fan of this kind of...
Published 16 months ago by Mr. Bluesman

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing to write home about
Blackmore's Night are the only group I buy CD's of these days because I love the mix of old and comtemporary, vocal and instumental. But this is simply bland and each song sounds pretty much the same. There's nothing catchy, foot tapping or inspirational here, unlike so much of their other music. I wasn't that taken with "Autumn Sky" either and was looking forward to some...
Published 15 months ago by Carol Evelin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Fantasy of Musical Moon Themed Mystery, 16 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dancer & The Moon (Audio CD)
After listening to this album I find it very refreshing and alive. The first track did not warm to me at first and now it's a firm favorite. I also love the title track and the other original songs - far more than the cover songs - except for the first one which has gone through the Blackmoreizer to come out a more upbeat and catchy number. All in all a great album - just would have loved more songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BK strihe again., 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dancer And The Moon (Audio CD)
Using a Rainbow track works well, but Uriah Heeps best ever track ,Lady in Black.is a great idea. Candice has a superb voice and this whole album is BK at their best..Buy and enjoy, I still am.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Feast For Those That Like Real Music, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dancer And The Moon (Audio CD)
Ritchie Blackmore is undoubtedly one of the world's best musicians who has surrounded himself with others of the same abilitiy. Together with Candice Night, the music of Blackmore,s Night harps back to an age long gone and this album is no exception. In this day and age of 'manufactured and artificially produced pop' it is absolutely wonderful to listen to real musicians playing their own instruments (witnessed at their last concert in Salisbury) with a virtuosity that is sorely missing in music. From the hurdy gurdy to the mandola, this album is a real feast for those that like to listen to real music played on English Folk instruments. Furtjermore, Candice Night's voice on this is a joy to listen to - it is note perfect with a beautifully lyrical and mystical quality, completly at one with the band.

This album is full of 16th Century/Renaissance musical imagery, together with many folk based melodies that will grab at you without any warning - this album is a wonderful blend of all of these. If truth be told, one can immerse themselves in this and drift away to Middle Earth, where surely these folk tales and melodies live on.

The album also contains absolutely wonderful renditions of Uriah Heep's Lady in Black, together with a beautiful rendition of the Rainbow classic Temple of the King. Mention must also be made of the last track as a tribute to Jon Lord.

If you like English Folk and Rennaissance music - get this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb band- top class music, 6 July 2013
By 
Nick "clubenic" (Stevenage, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dancer And The Moon (Audio CD)
Blackmore never fails to amaze with his peerless musicianship, both as one of the most gifted guitarists on the planet, as writer, arranger and band leader. Live, he is a changed man, enjoying himself like never before and presenting shows as good as those I remember in early Rainbow days. He has gathered around him some simply superb musicians to help him update the traditional folk and classical forms that he now plays. And they manage to make it as relevant and modern as anything else in modern music. What a shame that they are so ignored by the media.
Great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing album, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dancer And The Moon (Audio CD)
great music, as usual with "blackmore's night" another musical masterpiece performed by truly gifted musicians. this is a five star cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good As Ever, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dancer and the Moon (MP3 Download)
Nice blend of songs/tunes, some old some new

From the rousing Troika to the poignant Carry On......Jon, which is a tribute to the late, great Jon Lord, it's BN at their best after the disappointing last album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 25 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dancer And The Moon (Audio CD)
very good and quick sending it too . if you like richie blackmore you will love this he,s back to his best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Their Best Album Yet?, 18 Jun 2013
By 
This review is from: Dancer and the Moon (MP3 Download)
I've tried listening to Blackmore's Night before, but I couldn't really get into them even though I'm a big fan of folk music. The good news is that I have found this album a great deal more accessible than there previous work.
The opening track, 'I Think It's Going To Rain Today', is my favourite track on the album, with an almost country feel to it with the way that the melody is carried. The next track 'Troika' is just as good with it's flamboyant guitar opening. 'Minstrels In The Hall' is an instrumental folk song, as is 'Galliard', and I like them both. I think that these instrumental tracks help to break the album up a little bit and make it just that bit easier to listen to.
Sadly I find that as the album progresses it runs out of steam a bit, and the latter tracks just aren't as good as the opening salvo. I will admit that I do prefer this to all of their previous albums, although I'm sure that there's a bigger fan somewhere who begs to differ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing to write home about, 23 July 2013
By 
Carol Evelin (Misery, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dancer And The Moon (Audio CD)
Blackmore's Night are the only group I buy CD's of these days because I love the mix of old and comtemporary, vocal and instumental. But this is simply bland and each song sounds pretty much the same. There's nothing catchy, foot tapping or inspirational here, unlike so much of their other music. I wasn't that taken with "Autumn Sky" either and was looking forward to some great new music, but I guess I'll have to play their other albums instead. Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing remarkable, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dancer And The Moon (Audio CD)
Having listened to Dancer and the Moon about 10 times now, I find there is nothing remarkable on this CD.
The songs are o.k. but none of them stand our or stick in mind. Earlier Blackmore's Night albums always had one, two, sometimes more songs that stood out while listening the full CD.
Nothing like that on this albym. Little disappointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dancer and the Moon
Dancer and the Moon by Blackmore's Night
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews