Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great new find, 9 Sep 2013
By 
commodityfetish (Southampton, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fire & Fortune (MP3 Download)
I bought this because it was a cheap recommended MP3 that sounded worth a gamble. Having listened to it, I can confirm that it is indeed a beautifully constructed album that demands repeated listening. It is emotionally mature, delicate, enchanting and engaging. Lyrically and musically brilliant (the two going hand-in-hand perfectly). Really great buy - highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely stunning album, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fire & Fortune (MP3 Download)
Beautiful mixture of traditional & original songs from this fabulous duo. If you get a chance to see them live - grab it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 2 Sep 2013
By 
Jimmy (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fire & Fortune (MP3 Download)
Very varied little album which would be suitable for fans of folk, country and jazz alike. Very beautiful voice and very soothing music. Give it a try whilst its on amazons deal of the week!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantabulous album, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fire & Fortune (Audio CD)
wish there were 10 stars for this album. Beautiful vocals on skilfully crafted lyrics set to addictive melodies. The track ' anyone but me' is dark and beautiful at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fire & Fortune - A beautiful classy album, 21 July 2013
This review is from: Fire & Fortune (MP3 Download)
Fire and Fortune is the brilliant new album from Josienne Clarke and Ben Walker. It is a mix of wonderfully re-worked traditional songs and self written compositions. Josienne has beautifully emotive vocals and can sing any type of genre. Ben is an amazing guitarist and arranger. If you like folk (modern or trad.), country or even jazz, you could really love this.

Josienne and Ben have just been nominated for two categories at the BBC Folk 2014 awards....Best duo and the Horizon award. They have also just won FATEA album of the year.

Twelve songs of crafted quality, no fillers here. Stand out songs? Pick any one from twelve. My favourites songs written by Josienne and Ben are "After Me", "Another perfect love", "Anyone but me", "The Pauper and a poet", "Sycamore tree" and "No such certainty". On the traditional side "The seasons", "My love is like a red red rose", "Green Grow the Laurels" and "When a knight won his spurs". The title track is also great and has a video with a very memorable ending...(you will just have to watch it to find out)

"Anyone but me" is currently free to download....

They also have a cover version of Little Sparrow is also well worth a play, really beautiful.(on Soundcloud)

F&F is getting great reviews in the UK media and the press. Only time will tell, but it has the hallmarks of a "classic" album, one that will be talked about and loved for many years. Their other albums "One light is gone" and "The seas are deep" are also worth exploring.

Please buy it as I did, pour yourself a glass of wine, pick your favourite chair and let this beautifully crafted music wash over you.
Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime blend of the traditional and new, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fire & Fortune (Audio CD)
I can't say much more in this review other than to echo what has already been said. The track 'Anyone But Me' is worth the price of the album alone but every track on it is fantastic in it's own way. The future of folk is safe in the hands of such artists as this as well as The Unthanks, The Moulettes etc. I hope Josienne and Ben win an award at tonight's 2014 Folk Awards as they fully deserve to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strong penetrating personalities, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fire & Fortune (Audio CD)
The loveliest voice I've heard for ages, with haunting music and beautiful instrumentals, intelligently and thoughtfully put together. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fire & Fortune (Audio CD)
Heard one track on radio and had to buy the album - really enjoying it, and have recommended it to others. Very talented
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply wonderfull!, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fire & Fortune (Audio CD)
Simply wonderfull!
I really terrific cd by two talented musicians.
I was lucky enough to see them live in Bath and immediately bought a cd.
Since then I have given a number away to friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings tears to the eye with its crystal beauty, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fire & Fortune (Audio CD)
I saw them live doing this material and needed a sit down afterwards, emotionally drained. What a life that must be -to seem sing your heart out; worse, to actually do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fire & Fortune
Fire & Fortune by Josienne Clarke & Ben Walker (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews