Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real grower
I agree so much with those reviews that say this album improves with listens. I have all their albums and this is definitely the most consistently good across all tracks- their first two albums had stand out songs but the odd song you would skip. Their third, IMO, was not my favourite - at it's best, stunning (You Dont Know Love/The Boxer) but the extra tracks being noisy...
Published 16 months ago by Captain Oatwright

versus
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love and Hate
'The Weight Of Your Love' is the fourth studio album by Editors.

Prior to the release of their 2005 Mercury Prize nominated debut Tom Smith (lead vocalist) et al. had spent three years cultivating an identity to do justice to their bold and captivating sound. Spearheaded by Smith's grandiose vocals the final inception of 'Editors' was to be an anthemic runaway...
Published 18 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmmm snow patrol....ish, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Weight Of Your Love (Audio CD)
I must start by saying I do love the Editors...they have 2 great albums and one interesting sojourn into electronics. I was beginning to wonder what had happened to them, so was keen to hear his.

Well it's ok... There are no songs up to he quality of the first album... If anything I would suggest its a little "style over content." The production and strings re almost too much and seem to mask only satisfactory songwriting. Maybe it needs longer but I doubt it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 4 July 2013
This review is from: The Weight Of Your Love (Audio CD)
Great album! With two new members and songs created without them it was always going to be tough - but this album is BRILLIANT! Tom's vocals are the best he has ever done and that is saying something!

The deluxe edition is worth it for 'Get Low' and 'Comrade spill my blood' which are two brilliant tracks.

Editors are one of the few where I can listen to ALL the tracks and not skip any!

BUY IT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Weight Of Your Love (Audio CD)
excellent stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Album, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Weight Of Your Love (Audio CD)
I've read many different opinion about this new Editors work, but after all when you find 11 beautiful songs you just can say that is a fantastic album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Weight Of Your Love (Audio CD)
excellent cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In love, 27 Dec 2013
I'm loving it, one of my favourite bands, the album is great as i was expecting it to be, pure love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - worth the wait, 27 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Weight Of Your Love (Audio CD)
Worth buying this two disc version with five additional tracks on disc 2 that are all excellent (note some are acoustic versions of those on the main disc but great in their slightly different format).

In my opinion this excellent album is closer to the melodic (anthemic?) An End Has a Start. From my pov that's a good thing as the keyboard heavy In This Light just didn't sound as good to my ear, even though it has some good tracks on it. Still, this remains a long way from the Back Room. Sometimes I can hear Bono on the Zooropa album - not a particular problem for me but interesting development. One track is even called Desire.

The Weight rewards additional listens with some really meaty, satisfying tracks. I've been playing for a week or so now and it's still getting better. If you liked the first two albums best then you're v likely to really enjoy this. And, all for a fiver - a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Weight Of Your Love (Audio CD)
This album is a real grower - nice mix but definite Editors sound -Tom's voice is great - Editors still going strong
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Editors Album I am loving, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Weight Of Your Love (Audio CD)
Awesome. As usual. Editors rock. Yet another Editors album I loved from the very first chord. Awesome. Truly Awesome. Word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different...in a good way, 20 July 2013
By 
Steve Geek (Godalming, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Weight Of Your Love (Audio CD)
On the face of it this offering is more mainstream than previous Editors work, but as others have commented, it is a fine collection of tracks forgetting what's come before. In fact I expect I'll be listening to this more than any of their earlier albums, simply because it is a less nerve jangling, less challenging experience.

For me the standout tracks are "Sugar" and "Honesty". Nothing really revolutionary here but sounds that get inside you and stick.

Pleased I parted with my hard-earned for this album! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Weight Of Your Love
The Weight Of Your Love by Editors (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews