Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real grower
I agree so much with those reviews that say this album improves with listens. I have all their albums and this is definitely the most consistently good across all tracks- their first two albums had stand out songs but the odd song you would skip. Their third, IMO, was not my favourite - at it's best, stunning (You Dont Know Love/The Boxer) but the extra tracks being noisy...
Published 14 months ago by Captain Oatwright

versus
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love and Hate
'The Weight Of Your Love' is the fourth studio album by Editors.

Prior to the release of their 2005 Mercury Prize nominated debut Tom Smith (lead vocalist) et al. had spent three years cultivating an identity to do justice to their bold and captivating sound. Spearheaded by Smith's grandiose vocals the final inception of 'Editors' was to be an anthemic runaway...
Published 16 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love and Hate, 1 July 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Weight Of Your Love (Audio CD)
'The Weight Of Your Love' is the fourth studio album by Editors.

Prior to the release of their 2005 Mercury Prize nominated debut Tom Smith (lead vocalist) et al. had spent three years cultivating an identity to do justice to their bold and captivating sound. Spearheaded by Smith's grandiose vocals the final inception of 'Editors' was to be an anthemic runaway success for Kitchenware Records; follow up records two and three were both chart topping albums in the UK guaranteeing sell-out concerts and headline festival slots.

You can sense the collective sigh of relief in the opening track. Following their electronic departure In This Light And On This Evening (which is in itself an excellent detour) it seems they've been diverted back to their roots; 'Weight' is a blistering opener reminiscent of their earliest work, yet richer and fuller in sound. The beats are noticeably classical in form allowing Tom's voice to cascade alongside the strings. The synergy of love and and death is a sinister approach that is well suited to Tom's ominous brooding voice. And so to the lyrics are earth-shatteringly epic: "Strike down on me" resonates at the end of the track as the instrumentation is pulled abruptly.

Cue the waspy bassline and lush lead guitar of 'Sugar', a sweet offering, again generous in atmosphere and sufficient in a certain cursed inevitability of love. 'A Ton of Love' is happily enough well groomed for the stadium. Staged as the single for the album it is excusably poppy and as such can be easily forgiven for its lack of edge.

"I've been your lover, for the last time", a falsetto voice proclaims. Sorry what!? Did I press the shuffle button there? Is this an editors record? And then the realisation of what is happening starts to dawn.

Over the next five tracks commences the experimental soul of this record and, dis-pleasingly so, we are talking more Chris Martin c.f. 'Honesty'/Gary Lightbody c.f. 'Nothing' than Paul Banks. I dont't want to pass too much cursory judgement on the tracks alone, as they are commendable efforts in themselves. 'Nothing' really is a truly beautiful track, but its clear that 'What is this thing called love' was not originally written for the band and one would need to pass their own conclusion on why it wasn't chosen for the X-Factor finalists, for whom it was initially written for.

The final few tracks do regain an intrigue that is more apt to the bands vibe ('Phone Book' and 'Bird of Prey' are superb) but I was left uncomfortably numb by the Emo-fuelled core. Repeated listens confirm. The album starts and ends triumphantly but with a soft and soppy underbelly that feels obvious and opaque. For some this may feel refreshing and honest, but to me it has a familiarity to it that is unoriginal and not distinguishably editors. There are four or five stunning tracks on this record but on the relative strength of their previous offerings, this will stand as my least favourite of their albums.

To retain an identity and following whilst remaining unique and creative is a delicate balancing act. Radiohead's seminal electronic Kid A (also their fourth) was a far cry from the rock beginnings and polarised a lot of their fans, yet the band is still recognised as one of the greatest of all time. This new offering from Editors will deeply divide opinion. Notably it is the first to feature two new members, Elliott Williams and Justin Lockey, following the departure of lead guitarist Chris Urbanowicz in April 2012; a decision tellingly based on "musical direction" differences that are strikingly manifested within this record. It is perhaps foreboding that, for the first time, it is pretty difficult to make out the name of the band on the album art.

Listen to: 'The Weight', 'Sugar', 'Nothing', 'Bird of Prey'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real grower, 7 Aug 2013
By 
Captain Oatwright "CaptainOatwright" (YORK, North Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Weight Of Your Love (Audio CD)
I agree so much with those reviews that say this album improves with listens. I have all their albums and this is definitely the most consistently good across all tracks- their first two albums had stand out songs but the odd song you would skip. Their third, IMO, was not my favourite - at it's best, stunning (You Dont Know Love/The Boxer) but the extra tracks being noisy horrible affairs in contrast. This 4th album is much better- just a pleasure to listen and every track a masterpiece. You can tell it's been we'll honed over a longer period. My favourites being Sugar, The Phone Book and the bristling pop song Formaldehyde. Least favourite probably the slightly plodding Bird of Prey- good song but the drum track is a bit monotonous - could do with more breaks and work. The extra tracks are well worth buying- three v good strong melodic tracks + two instrumentals which add to the originals. There have been some good new CDs this year and this is one of my favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pleasing change of direction, 18 Aug 2013
By 
This review is from: The Weight Of Your Love (Audio CD)
I have listened with pleasure to all of Editors music over the last eight years and have always found them satisfyingly unpredictable, and yet always thoroughly enjoyable. And this latest album is no different. I've been somewhat surprised by some of the negative reviews of this album, although tellingly even those who have berated the band for doing something different are still scoring them an average 4 stars (yes, it really is that good). My first listen was tinged with a worry that after the awesome 'In this light . . .' there was a risk they would get stuck in a doom laden rut, but no; in an album of love songs they still touch on death and the complexities of life in an intelligent and melodious manner. Standout tracks include 'What is this thing called love' where the lead singer Tom Smith proves that he really can sing, the foot-tappingly addictive 'Formaldehyde' and the wonderful album closer 'Bird of Prey'.
I can recommend this to anyone who is looking for an excellently produced, well crafted and intelligent indie rock album by musicians at the top of their craft. And hey, a little change is not always a bad thing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their best album yet., 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Weight Of Your Love (Audio CD)
This album takes a few listens and then it really sticks in your mind. Initially it is hard to get past the first three tracks which are excellent but then you discover the rest of the tracks. Favourites are Sugar, Formaldehyde and Bird of Prey. I have all of their albums and have seen them live in their early days and I am compelled to go and see them again on the strength of this album. One of my favourite releases of this year along with Frightened Rabbit and Daughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great new album - a real 'grower', 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Weight Of Your Love (Audio CD)
Great to see a new album from this band - we loved The Back Room and their other albums, and this one is a real 'grower'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well worth the weight., 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Weight Of Your Love (Audio CD)
First off i have to say, i was worried this album was going to a disaster.However iam pleased to say its fantastic.One poor track, track four.What is going on there?.Without doubt every other track provides pleasure to the ear buds.Strings horns trumpets all adds to a polished body of work.Invest in the deluxe addition,worth the extra couple of pennys.Looking forward to see which direction editors take next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have!, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Weight Of Your Love (Audio CD)
This has been on non stop since I got it! Really good album from Editors and can't wat to hear it live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another fantastic listen from a truly outstanding band!, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Weight Of Your Love (Audio CD)
Best album since an end has a start from these boys.. How they don't sell out stadiums is beyond me..!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top stuff, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A truly superb album from one of the UK's
Most under rated artists. Buy it you will not be disappointed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent,,.., 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Weight Of Your Love (Audio CD)
Great tp have them back... well worth the wait.. new clsssier feel. lots of love and angst... go buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Weight Of Your Love
The Weight Of Your Love by Editors (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews