Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Downbeat with some classy touches
This album gives every impression of being a "grower". Having listened to it a couple of times now there are some melodies that are gradually insinuating themselves into the old brain but on the whole I'd have to say you may have to be "in the mood" to get the most out of this album as for me its main shortcoming is that it rarely gets above walking pace. To be fair maybe...
Published 18 months ago by Big Jim

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Trade-mark
Jon Landau one famously wrote of Bob Dylan that he'd buy a recording of Dylan just breathing hard, and Mark Lanegan's voice can have that effect too. Personally, I'd pay to hear him read the weather forecast. Not that he's breathing all that hard on this one. It's a two-hander, featuring Duke Garwood, who played on Blues Funeral, on various instruments; of the 12 tracks,...
Published 14 months ago by Nelson's son


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Downbeat with some classy touches, 13 May 2013
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Black Pudding (Audio CD)
This album gives every impression of being a "grower". Having listened to it a couple of times now there are some melodies that are gradually insinuating themselves into the old brain but on the whole I'd have to say you may have to be "in the mood" to get the most out of this album as for me its main shortcoming is that it rarely gets above walking pace. To be fair maybe it doesn't have to, as the slow, bluesy, back porch feel of most of the tracks on here are beautifully performed and Lanegan has seldom been in better voice. There is a sleazily funky track, "Cold Molly" that breaks the flow just a bit, but not being familiar with Duke Garwood's back catalogue, maybe this is just what he does. If so, he does it darn well and in general this album comes out well into the credit column.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet pudding?, 23 May 2013
By 
Ian Williamson (Aberdeen Scotland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Pudding (Audio CD)
Well after the recently released "Blues Funeral" from Lanegan if you were expecting more of the same then forget it this is very different, very much a vechicle just for Marks voice and Garwoods electic guitar. A great record and as the previous reviewer said a definite "grower", what a great voice the man has. So very slow laid back and southern bluesy. If you like either of these guys get this, or even if you like blues and good guitar get this, you will not be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Trade-mark, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Pudding (Audio CD)
Jon Landau one famously wrote of Bob Dylan that he'd buy a recording of Dylan just breathing hard, and Mark Lanegan's voice can have that effect too. Personally, I'd pay to hear him read the weather forecast. Not that he's breathing all that hard on this one. It's a two-hander, featuring Duke Garwood, who played on Blues Funeral, on various instruments; of the 12 tracks, the first and last are Garwood finger-pickin' solo pieces. This is a 'quiet' Lanegan album, then, though it contains a lot of the motifs familiar to Mark fans everywhere: vocals that shiver the timbers, from the trademark growl to the Jeff Buckleyesque high register, biblical imagery, and the Bubblegum drum machine. If you want to convert someone to the greatest rock singer of his generation, you probably won't use this - there isn't the raw excitement to offset the darker shades - but if you're already a believer, you'll be fine with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting..., 6 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Pudding (Audio CD)
Another great album from Mark Lanegan. Familiar territory I guess, being fairly acoustic based, albeit with a low down bluesy reso flavour, and not the most euphoric of albums. Duke Garwood can certainly lay down some killer accompaniment so may well check out more of his stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars chill out sounding album, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Pudding [VINYL] (Vinyl)
you know when you buy an album with Mark on it you are getting a quality piece of music, it is not a rock album (screaming trees) but more akin to the Soulsavers stuff. some extremely high quality musicianship from duke. will need time to grow.
vinyl came with free cd, and mp3 download shortly after which saves hassle when transferring to phone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As always a great album, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Pudding (Audio CD)
Anithing Mark Lanegan is involved in is always high quality music, and this couldn't be any different. I didn't know Duke Garwood but now that I do, I'll keep an eye on what he does. The songs are intimate but rough, dark but with some hope, deep and yet reachable. A whole lotta soul has been put into this project. Congratulations!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Buy!, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Pudding (Audio CD)
I'm a Mark Lanegan fan & have all his albums.

This is one of his best (even better than last years solo LP).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An apt title as this record is definitely an acquired taste, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Pudding (Audio CD)
I love Mark Lanegan, so I have found this record very disappointing. His voice is still great but the tunes behind him are very poor and rambling. The music doesn't seem to go anywhere and actually distracts from some of the great vocals that Mark performs. An acoustic Lanegan album would be most welcome but unfortunately this isn't it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Pudding
Black Pudding by Mark Lanegan & Duke Garwood
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews