Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much better than expected
I really wasn't sure if I wanted to see this film or not t be honest. The original is ok, but nothing special and the thought of a remake with Elijah Wood just seemed like an odd pairing, but I'm pleased to say that it works pretty well! Pretty much the whole film is shot from Franks POV and I think it works surprisingly well. The story chugs along at a decent pace and...
Published 10 months ago by BermondseyBob

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars On the Dancefloor
The 70s was a decade of low budget innovative horror, whilst the 2010s appears to be a decade of innovative free horror remakes. Why not combine the two in `Maniac', a remake of one of those innovative 70s horrors. Elijah Wood plays Frank, a lonely man who loved his mother. He loved her so much that he brings women back to his house to meet her, but not before drugging...
Published 8 months ago by Sam Tyler


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much better than expected, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maniac [DVD] (DVD)
I really wasn't sure if I wanted to see this film or not t be honest. The original is ok, but nothing special and the thought of a remake with Elijah Wood just seemed like an odd pairing, but I'm pleased to say that it works pretty well! Pretty much the whole film is shot from Franks POV and I think it works surprisingly well. The story chugs along at a decent pace and the special effects are pretty good in general, but in at least one scene, you can see the makeup effect even before he gets to that bit.

The acting is ok throughout, but nothing too special. But I must say that I was quite impressed with Elijah's performance. You really get the feel for him as a troubled man and he shows a sie to his acting that I didn't think he had.

To be honest, I've only seen the original once, but I do remember it's most iconic scene. The shotgun kill through the windscreen of a car! It's totally missing from this remake and there isn't even anything like it here. I was disappointed with that at first, but thinking about it, as the killer uses a knife and razor, the sudden appearance of a gun would have been out of place here! There are some homages to the original though, including a copy of it's infamous cover in a reflection on a car after a kill.

i think it's well worth 85 minutes of your time and I can see me watching this again, unlike the original that I've owned for years, but only watched once!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A genuine surprise, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maniac [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A remake that becomes almost immediately it's own film - an arthouse horror film that should please hardcore horror fans and arthouse cineastes alike. Beautifully shot, amazing use of POV and a fragile central performance will keep you watching even when you want to look away. This is not for the squeamish, but it is for those who want the horror film to return to a more daring age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 23 July 2013
This review is from: Maniac [DVD] (DVD)
i watch alot of movies especially horror/thriller this is an excellent movie atmospheric music great acting gory everything you could want from a horror/thriller one of the best ive seen this year and in my top 20 ever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MANIAC: no cookie cutter,, 24 May 2013
This review is from: Maniac [DVD] (DVD)
Frank is scalping the women he picks up and puts his trophies on the mannequins he makes for a living.
Maniac is a stylishly done POV horror movie/character study. Elijah Wood is very committed in the title role and the production has a lot of class.

The original Maniac was famous for its extreme violence and this version is , for a film driven by a big star, still pretty nasty, though a lot less full on than Lustig's film. On the other hand, the POV takes an often criticised element from slasher films and runs with it. The way the camera moves is brilliantly fluid, more like Black Swan than a standard horror. For me at least, the colour is too digitised and seems a little monochrome. The ending is almost identical to the earlier film.

Maniac is no cookie cutter remake. Elijah Wood is not bad at all and the POV is an interesting touch. There are a few effective scenes, notably some dissolves between Frank's external reality and his internal world. However, Maniac 2013 suffers from the same intrinsically alienating idea as the original. Frank is a repellent character doing repellent things and he is focus of the story. For me, this version lacks the visceral punch of the original and Wood can't quite match Joe Spinell's scuzzy depths. Then again the shift from grimy 1980s New York to upmarket present day LA requires a different sort of character. Over all and in the context of Hollywood churning out remakes, Maniac stands out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Solid horror in a modern age., 22 July 2014
This review is from: Maniac [DVD] (DVD)
Bloody Disgusting probably got a little too excited by hailing this remake as 'a modern horror classic', but Maniac is certainly a very good film, in a hit and miss genre.

Elijah Wood took big risks here playing a psychopath, who beds beautiful women before scalping them as prized victims. Based on the superior gritty and sleazy 1980 original, Maniac is not for the squeamish.

We see Wood's point of view which is a nice touch but won't be for all viewers. Whilst it could be argued that Wood is a better actor than Joe Spinell who played the original maniac, Wood cannot come anywhere close to how terrifying Spinell was. The problem is Wood is a very handsome man and Spinell just looked freaking scary in real life. Also the New York sleaze is replaced by the gloss of LA.

There are some neat kill scenes, and no annoying characters. It's all done very well in the end, and it's fair to say that this remake is a minor success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An underrated, serious slasher movie, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maniac [DVD] (DVD)
Maniac has an unusual vibe, and not just because it's all shot from a first-person perspective. The synthy soundtrack and indulgent cinematography give it the feel of an art-house movie which is not something you often see in the horror genre. It is also character-based, so plays out almost like a drama but with scenes of extreme violence.

It reeks of pretentiousness that a film like Under The Skin can receive so much critical acclaim, while a film like Maniac is completely overlooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique and different, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maniac [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I had no idea what to expect when i saw this as it was bought simply for the fact i wanted a new horror movie and thats it.

But i am so so glad i got this i don't want to ruin it for those wishing to see it but it has all the right horror elements in here!!!!! it has gore and lots of it and the way its shot is simply incredible!!!!!

I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys horror films
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Horror fans this is the one for you!, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maniac [DVD] (DVD)
Love Elijah's role in this! he plays a utter mad man! very gory and is great for Horror fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 25 Jun 2014
This review is from: Maniac [DVD] (DVD)
birthday presnt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Flacky, 4 Jun 2014
This review is from: Maniac [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A bit too arty house pretentious for me. The 'experimental' POV decision was ineffective in whatever desired choosing the film makers intended. Works much better in a tried and trusted, from the victims point of view..much more disturbing and spine-chilling.

Unless the original version hasn't been viewed you may find this a bit pointless and dull. I found this to be the case even though I've watched both. Original wasn't great, but for its time did have an effective nastiness and quite a grim feel surrounding it. Also a pretty convincing pyscho (Joe Spinnell) and 'old school' make up effects, overseen by the 'legend' Tom Savini.

Whenever they feel the need to remake a film I think its a good call to focus on a particular film that weren't so good and could actually benefit from that and make a success, so was intrigued. Unfortunate decisions to take away the grim style, lead actor choice, watered down and sporadic gore/kills (apart from one kill, which could of been visually nastier but shied away from).

And the POV effect made this a rather luke warm and boring slasher. Elijah Wood is an ok acter, always trying and did so here. I wouldn't state that he was miscast but I think he tried too hard and missed the mark. Spinell had it but didn't have to do much just like Arnold in the Terminater. Was just natural to them because of their acting limitations and persona.

So that being said' a big disappointment. Some neat scenes but not nasty enough for me and very few of them and unlike original, a pretty dire ending, laugh out load cringe worthy. A generous two star then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Maniac [DVD]
Maniac [DVD] by Franck Khalfoun (DVD - 2013)
3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews