Customer Reviews


250 Reviews
5 star:
 (126)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (42)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Actually quite moving
I should not be watching this stuff, or reading it for that matter, since it really is intended for teenagers. But I liked Twilight's capacity to imagine living in another kind of body - it was clever and well paced. But the characters, especially Bella, were undeveloped; Bella segued from being a prom queen to a Mormon housewife in five.

In contrast, I found...
Published 4 months ago by Anna McMillan

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow paced Sci-Fi romance
Earth has been taken over by an alien species of sentient parasites that take over the body of humans, essentially shutting the person inside their own body & the parasite being able to access the memories of the host body. These inhabited bodies exhibit odd glowing eyes, lack of emotion & aggressiveness. Following one of a few survivors, Melanie Stryder (Ronan), she is...
Published 21 months ago by Jules


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Actually quite moving, 11 Dec. 2014
This review is from: The Host [DVD] (DVD)
I should not be watching this stuff, or reading it for that matter, since it really is intended for teenagers. But I liked Twilight's capacity to imagine living in another kind of body - it was clever and well paced. But the characters, especially Bella, were undeveloped; Bella segued from being a prom queen to a Mormon housewife in five.

In contrast, I found the book and the film really moving - once again Meyer imagines a different way of being embodied - and of love between two different "species". I found the main characters (Wanda/Melanie) to be well developed and oddly convincing. Wanda's slow awareness that in her heart she is falling in love with another character is also convincing, because love is often deepest when it grows slowly.

My one - or two difficulties with the book are around the way it portrayes violence between a couple who claims to be in love. Melanie hits Jared several times; Jared is violent too. In that she is writing for teenagers (and much domestic violence begins as dating violence) I think the author needs to problematise that in some way, without being too directive. The other issue is about Wanda being tiny, the Seeker being tiny, Sunny being tiny - why? it just seemed odd.

The book does raise an odd question: bad as we are, destructive as we are, do humans deserve to be colonised?

I hope we see a sequel - they were characters I would like to meet again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'CAN HUMAN-KIND ESCAPED THE 'SEEKERS' ?, 29 Aug. 2013
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Host [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Mankind are under threat from an unseen enemy who are taking-over the
very being of their human Hosts.
One victim who who has reluctantly succumbed the to switch, Host-'Melanie Stryder' (Saoirse Ronan) fights to keep the memories the 'Seekers' normally take from their victims human-form.
'Melanie' wants to protect those who had mattered to her from becoming
one of the unwelcome visitors.
'Melanie' escapes however the 'Seekers' will not give up the search for her any time soon.
A terrific concept asking the age-old question......What If ?
certainly not a fast moving plot, however the story-line is certainly
worth a viewing.
( the author of the 'Host' and 'Twilight' 'Stephenie Meyer' has created
some interesting story-lines.....'Twilight' was watered down to capture
a wider audience base, I'm guessing not having read the book 'The Host'
has almost certainly been subjected a similar fate ? )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Soul looks for her host's soulmate. A Soul finds him, her own soulmate and their mates. Then Soul, host and soulmates all mate, 19 Dec. 2014
By 
Darth Maciek "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Host [DVD] (DVD)
I found this SF/romance movie surprisingly good and interesting, not a masterpiece, but a very honest thing indeed. It came as a surprise, as I didn't like the book AT ALL. Below, more of my impressions, with some limited SPOILERS.

Earth, near future. Our world have been conquered by very advanced alien race, who call themselves Souls. Those invaders are small parasites, unable to survive for extended periods of time outside the bodies of their hosts (if removed they must be quickly placed in special survival containers - or die). With time Souls evolved in such a way, that their hosts must be sapient creatures themselves (at least, if I correctly understood this).

Having acquired the technology of starflight they started to expand, conquering more and more worlds - Earth is just their last prize. However, on our planet they meet for the first time an unexpected challenge, as some hosts minds remain alive and active even after Souls invaded and took control of their bodies. This creates a very uncomfortable situation, for both the host mind and the Soul...

This film tells the story and tribulations of one such unhappy "couple" - a young human girl, Melanie Stryder (Saoirse Ronan) and an ancient, experienced Soul known as "Wanderer". All this covers like the first 5 minutes of the film and I will say no more about the rest.

Before reviewing the film, I must state here loud and clear that I read and HATED the book, as it was much, much too long (656 frigging pages!) with definitely not enough story to justify its length. Not only it was long winded and boring but it was also rather poorly written - which is a surprise as the "Twilight" books were actually rather good and I liked them (yes, I am THE ONE heterosexual grown up married man on the whole planet who liked both "Twilight" books and movies). I managed to finish this 656 pages long tedious brick but it was really an ordeal...

The film is MUCH BETTER. The book was long winded - the film is, quite obviously, much shorter. The book made unending spirals, circles and other (not always Euclidean) figures around every development - the film action is quite to the point. The story in the book took every possible and imaginable detour and bifurcation and also drove into every possible pothole - in the film it was smoothed and streamlined, for the greatest benefit of the viewer. In fact the scenarist removed all the blah, when preserving all the main story intact - and that did to this film a lot of good. Kudos to Andrew Niccol for the scenario.

Actors were selected VERY well! Saoirse Ronan was an excellent choice for the main role and she completely ACED it. I saw this young Irish actress in "City of Ember", "The way back" and "Byzantium" and she always impressed me. Her character, exactly as Bella in "Twilight", is a deceptively average gal who finds herself the object of attention of... well, more than one rather not average young gentlemen... And exactly as with Bella in "Twilight" we come ultimately to realise that she is definitely NOT average - AT ALL! It takes a special kind of beauty to play such a character and indeed, nobody would ever mistake Saoirse Ronan for a Victoria's Secret mannequin. However the power of her "smart+talented=sexy" appeal is such that she can easily outstage most of Hollywood lookers - and match the others...

Max Irons (already good in "Red Riding Hood") and Jake Abel (whom I never saw in anything before) play respectively Jared and Ian, who are the Edward/Jacob team (sorry, I couldn't resist) of this film. They also do a good job, but their roles are ultimately not so hard...

William Hurt is absolutely excellent in his role of wise, aged, shotgun carrying uncle Jebediah Stryder who is the benevolent, reasonable, paternalistic, pretty deadly and quite scary ancestor ruling an underground (in all possible meanings of this term) kingdom...

Diane Kruger ("Ich bin Helen von Droy, und I vound Vreemazons Dreazure, ja?") shines absolutely (in every possible meaning of this term) as a high ranking officer of special police of Souls, the Seekers. Known simply as The Seeker (although I couldn't stop thinking of her as "Ve Zeeker, ja?") she quickly develops a special interest in The Wanderer/Melanie Stryder case - and she actually has her own very good reasons for that... In the book, the body The Seeker occupied was a petite brunette, here quite obviously the director made the choice of a whole different enchilada - and it did this film a lot of good, especially considering that Seekers for some reason wear always immaculately white, top fashion clothes...

Emily Browning appears briefly towards the end (I am not saying anything about her character) bringing to this film her talent and her unique, unconventional kind of beauty. Kudos to Andrew Niccol for the choice of actors and wardrobe.

The film is well made, with relatively few obvious plot holes which appear mostly in the one, short action scene. The stupidity of this scene resides in long, persistent shooting against a target that is OBVIOUSLY bullet proof, to the point of running out of bullets when a softer hostile target appears... But this scene is ultimately not so important and can be easily disregarded. The rest of the story actually more or less makes sense, it is skilfully narrated and illustrated and contains also a couple of very quotable lines ("kiss me like you wanna to get slapped!"). Kudos to Andrew Niccol for directing.

Bottom line this is a good, very honest SF film combined, like in "Twilight", with an obviously unusual interspecies romance. It's just that here, unlike the "Twilight" triangle ("should I go for dead guy groove or doggy style?") we have a slightly more complex figure... To my surprise, I liked it and I spend a good moment watching it. Recommended to all SF amateurs and all those who like somehow unusual romances... ENJOY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow paced Sci-Fi romance, 1 Aug. 2013
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Host [DVD] (DVD)
Earth has been taken over by an alien species of sentient parasites that take over the body of humans, essentially shutting the person inside their own body & the parasite being able to access the memories of the host body. These inhabited bodies exhibit odd glowing eyes, lack of emotion & aggressiveness. Following one of a few survivors, Melanie Stryder (Ronan), she is captured & implanted with a parasite or soul, and interrogated by a Seeker to find the whereabouts of other humans. But she isn't going to go quietly & fights back from within, making a connection with the soul inside her, Wanda. Rebelling, they set off to find Melanie's family. Can they convince them Melanie is still alive ? & can they avoid capture ?!

Overall, The Host isn't a Sci-Fi action movie or anything, it's a slow paced Sci-Fi romantic drama. Which i guess should had been expected, coming from a novel by Twilight author Stephenie Meyer. The story itself is very good & heartfelt as we follow the experiences of Wanda & Melanie, but getting there over it's 2 hours was quite a task with such a slow, drawn out mundane pace & an abundance of dialogue which isn't always that riveting, while the odd bit of tension & excitement was too far apart. Surprising then when you consider the talent of Andrew Niccol, who has brought us some good fantasy/Sci-Fi films such as The Truman Show, In Time & Gatacca, was behind the camera & helped with the transition to film here.

Saoirse Ronan (Hanna) was very good as the lead, playing the part of Melanie & Wanda, coming across on screen really well when combining her fluidity of physical control as well as voice over as her thoughts when she becomes Wanda. The supporting cast was good, albeit not used to fruition. Of note, Diane Kruger (National Treasure) as the under pressure Seeker, William Hurt (Broadcast News) as Melanie's uncle, now leader of the rebels & impressive youngster Chandler Canterbury (Knowing) as Melanie's little brother. While love interests Max Irons (The White Queen) & Jake Abel (Percy Jackson) were on hand for plenty of smooching.

In conclusion, The Host has a good romantic Sci-Fi story in here, but it's so drawn out that it's hard to enjoy. It will certainly suit a select target audience who can happily overlook these flaws. Worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Makes me want to read the book, 13 April 2013
This review is from: The Host [DVD] (DVD)
The Host is set in the future where the world is no longer our own. Human bodies are overtaken by parasitic aliens against their will. Not all humans have been overtaken though and some run for their lives, determined to keep control of their own bodies and minds. I absolutely loved the idea behind this film. Very early on, we are introduced to the alien species of `Souls' in human form. Although a species believing in calm and trust, they go to great lengths to find any remaining humans and do anything possible to capture the bodies. The thing that distinguishes the `Souls' from humans is their metallic silver looking eyes, which was both beautiful and creepy at the same time.

Playing protagonist Melanie/ Wanderer is Saoirse Ronan, an unknown actress to me. I thoroughly enjoyed Ronan's performance throughout this film and I thought she did a wonderful job considering it being quite a tricky role to play. Throughout the film, Wanderer has to deal with Melanie's voice in her head, which obviously wouldn't have really been there. Never did it look like Ronan was thinking too much about who or what she was replying to and it all looked as natural as it should have. Ronan also plays both characters with conviction and she was very believable as each. What I really enjoyed about her performance was that she was able to make both characters very different.

The plot isn't really all that exciting apart from a couple of moments so secondary characters are what help to make this film good. Other `Souls' such as the Seeker played by Diane Kruger give the plot a good chase, with her trying to track down Wanderer and more humans. The Seeker was an interesting character because you can tell something is not quite right with her. She isn't the same as the other `Souls' and has a lot more fire inside of her. While others say to let Wanderer be, she cannot let it go and goes to great lengths to find her again.

Then there are the love interests. Melanie has a boyfriend called Jared but Wanderer becomes attracted to another boy, Ian. While I think love triangles are somewhat overdone now, I loved this one although I'm not sure it is technically a triangle. Melanie gets mad at Wanderer for liking someone else other than her own boyfriend but Wanderer wants to treat the body as her own while respecting Melanie's wishes at the same time. Explaining it is a little confusing but not when you are watching the film. The romance aspect of this film was completely new, unique and different and definitely better than other romance stories out there at the minute.

Overall, I really enjoyed The Host as it was different from everything else out there at the minute. It also made me want to pick up the copy of the book that I have had sitting on the shelf for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant interpretation of Stephanie Meyer's book!, 7 Feb. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Host [DVD] (DVD)
Wonderful movie!

As bad a film interpretation as the Twilight series are, this is the complete opposite!

The actress/actors match the books descriptions better, but much more importantly they can ACT. The cinematography is as good as the casting, the direction is measured and all the better for it. The music deserves special mention, just perfect!

In fact there is only one thing that wasn't quite perfect. The choice of actress for Wanderer's second life, spectacular eyes but utterly failed to capture the characterisation so brilliantly established by Saoirse Ronin who for me should have been considered for Best Actress Oscar alongside Jennifer Lawrence.

Very Highly Recommended in bluray!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love, love, love it!!!!!!, 5 July 2013
This review is from: The Host [DVD] (DVD)
I would recommend this to adults and tenagers it is simply amazing i have read the book and love it some things they miss out or slightly change but some they keep the same it is an absolutely brilliant film i couldnt recommend it more alsoread the book as well i watched the film before i read the book but it was still amazing melanie stryder thinks she is the only one along with her brother Jamie alive as the souls have taken over then they find Jared Howe they fall in love and then the seekers come melanie tries to lead them away and jumps out a high window as there is no escape so she can die andthey cant put a soul inside her however although causing serious damage toher body she just aboutlives they heal her and put a soul called wanderer inside her however melanie resists she fights back talks to wanderer inside her head and shows her memories of Jared she forces wanderer to find Jared and Jamie on the brink of death her uncle jeb finds her and takes her inside the humans hate her espe iallyjared as they had taken melanie watch how they prove to jared that melanie is still alive inside and he growsto believe and how another romance blossoms and friendships areformed watch melanie and wanda as uncle jeb nicknamss her become like sisters it is a great and a great film i hope you thoroughly enjoy it as much as I did i only wish it would never end and have more of jared and melanies romance scenes absolutely amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the host, 17 Sept. 2013
This review is from: The Host [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Brilliant film me and hubby have watched it couple of times its a film i will not get bored of
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... interpretation of an old tale but again I thoroughly enjoyed it and would highly recommend another keeper for my ..., 10 July 2014
By 
Thelma L. Workman (thelma workman) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Host [DVD] (DVD)
Another interpretation of an old tale but again I thoroughly enjoyed it and would highly recommend another keeper for my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faithful to the Book, 6 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Host [DVD] (DVD)
I have to admit, I'm a grown up reader who likes Stephenie Meyer's stuff. I thought the film was faithful to the book and well cast. Although I have to admit, my husband thinks he was shortchanged as I promised he was sitting down to watch an alien invasion film - well I didn't lie, but maybe I got more out of it because I'd already read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Host [Blu-ray]
The Host [Blu-ray] by Andrew Niccol (Blu-ray - 2013)
£3.42
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews