Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A touching tale of sibling relationships
Our Idiot Brother features Paul Rudd (I Love You, Man) as the hapless Ned, a biodynamic farmer who gets duped into selling a bag of pot to a police officer and resultantly goes to jail. On his release, he has lost his place at the biodynamic farm and has to crash with one of his sisters, either high-flying-reporter, career-woman Miranda (Elizabeth Banks - Zack and Miri...
Published on 21 Nov 2011 by J. Morris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A good rom-com which isn't really one
`Our Idiot Brother' is basically a romantic comedy, only it isn't. It sort of utilises all elements of the format which make up your usual rom-com, only the story doesn't centre around a man and a woman coming together. It's about a man who just says and does the wrong thing most of the time. Then, when he comes out of prison, he's forced upon his three sisters and he...
Published 7 months ago by Albatross


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A touching tale of sibling relationships, 21 Nov 2011
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Our Idiot Brother features Paul Rudd (I Love You, Man) as the hapless Ned, a biodynamic farmer who gets duped into selling a bag of pot to a police officer and resultantly goes to jail. On his release, he has lost his place at the biodynamic farm and has to crash with one of his sisters, either high-flying-reporter, career-woman Miranda (Elizabeth Banks - Zack and Miri Make a Porno), commune-living, lesbian free-spirit Natalie (Zooey Deschaniel - 500 Days of Summer) or the eldest, mother-of-two Liz (played by Emily Mortimer - Shutter Island).

However Ned's hopelessness unemployability & naļveté gets him in to trouble with his hosting sisters as he has no capacity for lying, even if they are little white lies. His innocuous indiscretions get him handed from sister to sister at a reasonable pace, all the while Ned strives to raise the cash to get back to his farm and most importantly, his dog Willie Nelson. Will he ever get it together?

Our Idiot Brother stars a densely facial-haired Rudd as a heavily Dude-inspired hippy farmer stoner guy. Rudd plays this character with great aplomb and ensures that his mannerisms never become annoying. His character is honest to a fault, even admitting to his parole officer that he 'broke down' and smoked a doob with the kid across the street. The sisters are the protagonists here though; Ned is more of a tool to further the character growth in his sisters who have become frozen, trapped & unloved by their lives. As Ned's candid manner and attitude towards Liz's children begins to inspire the girls, despite them trying to use Ned to their own ends we really see the family unit become closer.

Extras: There's an audio commentary from director Jesse Peretzc that discusses the characters in a little more depth. There's the standard "Making of" Our Idiot Brother on set with the cast & crew and also there is a stack of deleted-scenes (Ned Takes the Subway, Ned Waits for John, Ned in Prison) and also an alternate-ending. Honestly, I don't know why the scenes were deleted, the movie is a little light at just 90 minutes including credits and the deleted scenes are screen-ready and funny in their own right.

All-in-all, a funny feel-good drama about family and what is truly important to you. Rudd's best performance in ages, supported by a more than capable cast and made me laugh out-loud more than a couple of times. Recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YOU KNOW YOU'LL ALWAYS HAVE A PLACE HERE WITH ME.,, 25 Aug 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Ned (Paul Rudd) is considered an idiot for selling pot to a uniformed policeman. He is a friendly easy going person who is overly trusting and honest. Upon getting out of prison, he ends up living with his sisters. Zooey Deschanel is Natalie who prefers female companionship to males... sometimes. Liz (Emily Mortimer) is married to a documentary film producer. They have a 7 year old son who Ned gets along with quite well. Their marriage is not perfect. Miranda (Elizabeth Banks) is the third sister. She is single and lives a boring life working for Vanity Fair.

Strangers take a liking to Ned when they first meet. His honesty is refreshing to watch, but it raises havoc in his sisters' lives...all three of them. Zooey was excellent. I fell in love with her in "The Hitch Hikers Guide to the Galaxy." The supporting cast was great. Funny and a bit heart warming. Great Indie.

F-bomb, sex, nudity
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not Such An Idiot..., 12 July 2014
This review is from: Our Idiot Brother [DVD] (DVD)
Great storyline, great casting. Very please with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good gentle laugh and the feel-good factor, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Our Idiot Brother [DVD] (DVD)
I love this film for its portrayal of innocence and ingenuousness amid betrayal and hypocrisy. Paul Rudd is very good as the honest but hapless innocent. His three sisters and their partners are well played too. I especially love the scene when they try to get his dog, Willy Nelson, back from the hippy ex-girlfriend. The writing is clever and the acting is superb. I recommend this for a good, gentle laugh and and its feel-good factor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars my idoit brother, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Our Idiot Brother [DVD] (DVD)
Love this film very funny loved the ending even though he messed up they still loved him in the end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars :(, 31 Mar 2014
This review is from: Our Idiot Brother [DVD] (DVD)
I love Paul Rudd, I love everything I've seen him in - except this film. None of the ideas are original, it's not funny and it was held together by very little. Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Our Idiot Brother (2011), 24 Jan 2014
This review is from: Our Idiot Brother [DVD] (DVD)
There seems to be some issues with the release of this movie over here in the UK, but now that it was finally released to dvd over here I had to make sure to check it out & im so glad I did!

It begins with Ned (Paul Rudd) selling drugs to a police officer, resulting in him going to jail for 8 months but upon his release his girlfriend has now moved on and kicked him out of their house so he must return back to his family, his mum and 3 sisters! I really liked getting to know the different lives of the 3 sisters, Zooey Deschanel played a laid back lesbian who has loads of roommates, she was sweet and funny and probably my favourite sister. Elizabeth Banks was a workaholic journalist trying to work out the relationship with her neighbor, just friends or more? and Emily Mortimer was a wife of a movie director and mother of a young boy who Ned makes a great connection with making for some really sweet funny scenes throughout the movie.

The strongest thing about this movie was the great character developments you really felt like you got to know all the characters really well and there wasn't many that you didn't instantly like. Focusing mainly on Ned and his troubles and trying to build the relationships with his sisters but then also showing all the side plots of each sister and what they are going through was really great and kept the story interesting but it also did a great job at joining them together.

I highly enjoyed this and would recommend it to anybody, don't let this one slip by you unnoticed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good rom-com which isn't really one, 19 Dec 2013
This review is from: Our Idiot Brother [DVD] (DVD)
`Our Idiot Brother' is basically a romantic comedy, only it isn't. It sort of utilises all elements of the format which make up your usual rom-com, only the story doesn't centre around a man and a woman coming together. It's about a man who just says and does the wrong thing most of the time. Then, when he comes out of prison, he's forced upon his three sisters and he goes about - albeit accidentally - destroying their lives.

Luckily, the situations are just about plausible and there are a few good laughs to be gained from them. However, the major drawback is that none of the characters are that likable. The main character constantly says the wrong thing. Now, all of us have done that once in a while, but he manages it every time in every situation. And his sisters all seem to be completely self-absorbed and shallow, who, in some way, have created their negative situations which their brother has then exposed.

If you like any of the major actors then it's a bonus and, like I say, there are some laughs to be had. Keep your expectations low and you should get more out of it. At least it's short, so it doesn't drag on.

Probably a 3.5 out of 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good film, 21 Sep 2013
This review is from: Our Idiot Brother [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Good film not very funny but good little story and Paul Rudd as good as ever with great cast .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Our Idiot Brother [Blu-ray]
Our Idiot Brother [Blu-ray] by Yaron Orbach (Blu-ray - 2013)
£6.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews