Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best GPS Sports Watch
Having tried the Garmin Forerunners (220 and 620) and Edge 510, Suunto is in a league of its own. Whereas Garmin make their products in China, this watch is made in Europe. Whereas Garmin cripples their firmware so you can't use and navigation functions, the Suunto let's you route, track back, add POIs etc. I could go on.

Top 5 reasons I love this watch...
Published 13 months ago by J. Crosby

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect. Pace readings inaccurate. Disappointed, for the price.
In terms of value for money I was far happier with my old Garmin Forerunner 110 (at approx. half the price). You can play around no end with the settings on the Suunto, but in my experience the accuracy of pace readings is terrible. The Garmin showed single digit speeds (mins and secs/km) accurately. The Suunto only shows 5 second intervals, and, despite running at a...
Published 7 months ago by pandl


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best GPS Sports Watch, 28 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Suunto Ambit2 S Sports Watch (Sports)
Having tried the Garmin Forerunners (220 and 620) and Edge 510, Suunto is in a league of its own. Whereas Garmin make their products in China, this watch is made in Europe. Whereas Garmin cripples their firmware so you can't use and navigation functions, the Suunto let's you route, track back, add POIs etc. I could go on.

Top 5 reasons I love this watch

1. Recovery time, vO2, Peak training effect all included (try doing that on a garmin 220)
2. You can add apps for free and the Suunto made Apps are great. Ghost runners, orthostatic tests, increasing speed intervals, cooper tests, bespoke training.
3. The backlight is amazing, like a torch and is is user configurable.
4. Every single screen, option, recording interval user configurable. It's like having an open source watch. You set it up how you like. I have added sleep modes, orthostatic test modes, increasing speed modes, ghost modes, VO2 tests. If you like your devices dumbed down with limited options this isn't for you.
5. The watch has that Suunto cool that you don't get with polar, garmin, nike. It's just a level of quality build and design the other guys can't match.

Thr next firmware upgrade will add all the new features from the new Ambit2 R. This watch really is a bargain considering all it can do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect. Pace readings inaccurate. Disappointed, for the price., 13 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Suunto Ambit2 S Sports Watch (Sports)
In terms of value for money I was far happier with my old Garmin Forerunner 110 (at approx. half the price). You can play around no end with the settings on the Suunto, but in my experience the accuracy of pace readings is terrible. The Garmin showed single digit speeds (mins and secs/km) accurately. The Suunto only shows 5 second intervals, and, despite running at a constant speeds, it shows huge variations - from under 5 min to nearly 7 min/km in the space of a few hundred meters! Despite several trials, and changing settings, I could not avoid this unreliable feedback. Needless to say, I generally ignore the pace readings now.

Internet connection is also not 100% reliable, but once connected and downloaded, the site is OK to navigate and quite fun. Annoyingly, changing the settings is not straight forward. I modified and saved new views before going on holiday, but it was not recognised until I returned from holiday and reconnected the watch. Therefore, I had to run without knowing exact distances, since this was one view I wanted to re-add.

In summary, on the plus side:

++ picks up GPS quick (in comparison to the Garmin, which seemed to take an eternity in comparison).
+ good battery life
+ tons of settings to play around with

and the negatives:

- expensive for standard running functions
- unreliable pace readings
- modifying and saving settings not really intuitive/reliable

There are those who will defend the watch as being just too advanced for most. But at the end of the day I feel its a shame such an "advanced watch" does not live up to expectations given the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best sport watches, 16 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Suunto Ambit2 S Sports Watch (Sports)
Got the Ambit to replace my Garmin 310xt. I was worried that the ambit would no reach my expectations compared to the 310xt but it did. More or less both watches have the same features but the ambit is also an everyday watch which the garmin isnt. The apps are not very useful but you mind find the odd one that suits your needs. Display is large and clear. Satellite reception is amazing....a couple of second are enough to lock signal. Beats the garmin by far....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suunto succeed again, 16 Jun. 2013
Suunto at the forefront of sports technology produce the Ambit then exceed it with the Ambit 2s !! Multi sports function ideal for triathletes or single sports users ! Great looks with built in GPS !! Never get lost again !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant multisport GPS watch that is definitely worth the money, 15 April 2015
By 
I bought this after returning the Garmin Forerunner 15 due to a GPS accuracy fault. The difference in the watches is amazing. The Suunto has greater GPS accuracy, far better software, great displays and connects to the satellites in under 3 seconds. I'm also addicted to Strava and this uploads to it automatically after I upload my activity. The quality is great and feels comfortable. I use it for both running and cycling. It is the best watch I've ever used and is definitely worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Watch, 14 Aug. 2014
Love it, such a great watch for outdoor workouts whether it be fun or serious. Awesome solid built and made in Finland. Beautiful designed watch and worthwhile purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 17 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
looked at everything out there and this is by far the best product - navigation included which makes it worth the price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Suunto watch, 9 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Suunto made great job again.

I use this watch for running and cycling.

All i can say is I LOVE IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My new suunto ambit2, 24 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Suunto Ambit2 S Sports Watch (Sports)
have used the watch in arduous circumstances not extreme and has worked very well compass seems accurate as does gps. information. alarm is great as is the light.only problem is when gps is on uses the battery quickly a problem on weekend activities without access to charge could do with solar charger inbuilt.All together very enjoyable i have quickly become to rely on it and trust
it vital in certain situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good service Arrivedpromptly and safely, 10 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Watch is a birthday present and has not yet been given to recipient but it seems fine.Good service Well packed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Suunto Ambit2 S Sports Watch, Color- Red
£247.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews