Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars28
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon 14 December 2013
This is the tenth in the series of gay short films released by Peccadillo. And as all collections go the quality and content varies. The first is a French / Belgian ballet, based short drama that was ok. The second `A stable for disabled horses' is a British tale in black and white and was quite enjoyable. The third was for me the most interesting and that is `Little Boy Gay Christ has died'. This is about a young lad who does stuff mainly around `s and m' fetishes and I am not at all sure if he is getting paid. It was the most intriguing of the collection and is in French with some English.

The fourth is a Welsh tale about a haunting at a disused Welsh youth centre, which sadly lacked any grain of originality albeit that it was very well made and acted. The fifth was an American offering which seemed absolutely pointless, too much `mood' lighting and nothing much happening. `Teens like Phil' saved the American front by being a ruddy excellent tale of homophobia in High School that doesn't pull its' punches and has enough going on to be developed into a feature length offering.

`Inflatable Swamp' is pure art house with a hustler who keeps a record of his conquests on balloons that he releases in his bathroom. I know it sounds a bit - `so what?' But actually it really works, there is virtually no dialogue either so everything is told in the visuals and as such was a very good effort. The final film `Yeah Kowalski' was a lovely little American film about a young boy who is obsessed with growing up and growing pubic hair. It was an absolute delight and a great way to end this collection. This is not an excellent offering but it is quite good, there was not that much sex in this lot as some previous ones but that is more than fine by me as it explored a much wider vein of gay cinema and the World is better with more variety so I hope they continue with this fascinating series.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2014
Every year Boys on Film seems to getter better, with a superb collection of short films from around the world. It never ceases to amaze me how some directors are able to convey in a few minutes, what some films take hours to do. Not all these attempts are successful, and in some cases these can be crass, stereotyped and poorly executed.

Boys on Film 10 transcends this, with a cutting exploration of themes which are both jarring and difficult. Each short story explores a different aspect of sexuality, and by doing so opens ones eyes to a sexual fluidity that goes beyond mere labels.

Whilst I enjoyed all 8 short films, I must say that "Blinders", "Inflatable Swamp" and "Little Gay Boy. Christ is Dead" stand out for me. I can't wait for Boys on Film 11.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 4 December 2013
This tenth collection of short gay films gets off to a brilliant start with Jelle Florizoone from North Sea Texas and another actor from the same film in a touching , ambiguous encounter that remains unpredictable and affecting. Florizoone plays a 16-year-old ballet dancer, who meets a twenty-something man on the run from the police who has a yobbish aspect but takes a shine to the young hero. Their chemistry is very good. It is followed by A Stable for Disabled Horses, which is the funniest of the set, quite brilliantly so, and a tribute to someone who died who was presumably a little like the main character. The acting of this odd evening is spot-on.

The others seem less good: a 30-minute French film is too schematic in its analysis of sex and too deliberately dark; Inflatable Swamp is also a bit mono-thematic but quite nicely shot in terms of the nude main character who looks particularly pneumatic seen from the back in his kitchen, an interesting contrast with his slender facial features. Alongside this are various household objects seen in close-up. It works visually, certainly. Boys' Village takes us into ghostly territory, not without some success, a large-nosed teenager having a particular appeal in the eerie lighting. It is a bit slow to get going, possibly assuming its unusual setting of an abandoned historical holiday camp would be more interesting than it really is. Teens like Phil is a familiar type of tale and a bit overwrought given how often we have seen adolescents insecure in their sexuality and being abused by brothers, resorting to beating people up etc. However it is enjoyable to see in spite of this, with frequent shots of two different 18-year-old boys in bed on waking in the morning, which are undeniably appealing. All the films are worth seeing except the last: the ten-minute Yeah Kowalski! This ends the set with a complete fiasco of a film that isn't funny at all, a sort of sub-John Waters that manages to be quite tasteless and uninteresting. Which leaves Blinders, halfway through, which has an intriguing central performance by an angelic platinum blond apparition and gives a good sense of riding in a car in the summer with the wind blowing in your face, to a Philip Glass-like soundtrack, and in New York. However it is the opening 2 films that prove to be the most enjoyable in a respectable addition to the series.
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2014
...because directors of gay-themed films have become very sure-footed in what they present.

The casting alone is to die for. Tight scripts and top-drawer production values. A lovely collection of films with notably strong casting.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2013
Not as strong as some of the previous Boys [ there are less world cinema shorts]. Still I do always enjoy these brief encounters to entertain at the end of the day. Worth purchasing for the marvellous [ okay there is nudity] Inflatable swamp and also Little gay boy [ where life forms our fetish] a disturbing and very brave short. However there are also some duds here; the teenage Kowalski was just feeble . If its your first pick at a Boy I would recommend the Britania one so much more.
0Comment8 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
I love the Boys on film short stories series and this has a very good selection! (although I think Bug Crush on BOF3 will never be beaten) well worth a look
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
I have seen pretty much all of the Boys On Film series, and this isn't one of the best, a couple of the short films I have seen elsewhere (Are they starting to run out and are having to repeat themselves?), maybe the themes are becoming to familiar, but I did not enjoy one of these short stories, and felt rather underwhelmed at the end.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
I threw out my vids of numbers 1to4 recently if this is supposed to be the best of the genre I would hate to see the rest I think there was only one which was mildly interesting and it was towards the end in the welsh camp village quite a good idea.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2015
Varied and interesting shorts which dealt with subjective matter simpathetically.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2015
++++ fast send out **** a pleasure ++++
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.