Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Girl with the Iron Touch
Ever since coming back from America, Griffin has been distant from the group and seems to be tormented by something to do with the Aether and this is starting to worry the group of misfits, especially Finley who is worried that he does not tell her because he does not care about her as much as she does. However, they have to put their worry aside when Emily is kidnapped...
Published 15 months ago by Amethyst Bookwyrm

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Girl with iron touch
This young adult steampunk book starts in 1897 with a submersible under the river Thames being attacked by a Kraken. The tentacled creature smashes the vessel and tries to eat the crew, but Griffin manages to produce an aether bubble to capture it until the Royal Society can arrive. Emily, captain of the submersible, is none too pleased, but she's alive. Familiar with...
Published 14 months ago by Clare O'Beara


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Girl with the Iron Touch, 22 May 2013
Ever since coming back from America, Griffin has been distant from the group and seems to be tormented by something to do with the Aether and this is starting to worry the group of misfits, especially Finley who is worried that he does not tell her because he does not care about her as much as she does. However, they have to put their worry aside when Emily is kidnapped by automatons and find out how to save her before she is harmed. Emily finds out that she was kidnapped to resurrect their thought dead enemy into a unique automaton who is more human than machine.

The Girl with the Iron Touch is an enjoyable third book in the steampunk chronicles and is the standard of book you have come to expect from Kady Cross, although it did seem to be missing something compared to the other books. I found the blurb a bit misleading but it has non-stop action and also a good romance plot. One thing I found annoying is that the characters do not speak like turn of the century people from London, one example is a characters refers to "p*ssed off" as meaning angry but I am fairly sure this is a resent usage of this word which comes from America.

The characters are the same people we have grown to love from the first 2 books in the series who are totally different from each other but you can relate to each of them. I did miss Griffin's point of view in this book as I missed knowing what he was thinking, however, I did like that Jack was back in this book unlike the last.

I really liked this book and I can't wait to see what happens next to Finley and the group of misfits. I would recommend The Girl with the Iron Touch to people who enjoyed the first 2 books in this series or YA steampunk novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very action-packed; a genuinely interesting plot with even more interesting characters. Rein in the fanfic romance though please, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl with the Iron Touch (The Steampunk Chronicles - Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Pros: Cross has a very creative mind with a focus on character development, and all the main characters have their own unique skills and personalities. You may have your preferences, but you wont get bored at all reading about the others. All are strong and likeable in their own ways.
Theres an interesting ongoing plot, and the books are action-packed. Cross writes well and concisely. You can tell the books are Young Adult, but for a reader who enjoys a bit of 'easy' in which something actually happens - Cross delivers.

Cons: The romance is forced and massively overdone. I mean layered on the shovel and then with a few shovels more for good measure, to the point that it actually interferes with the plot. Because of it, despite Cross's clear competency as a writer, it does in places read a bit like fanfiction.
On the subject of romance, don't go looking for the Jack Dandy/Finley Jayne kiss... It doesn't happen, irrespective of this being in the blurb of the book. This does not harm the story in any way, in fact for the characters to retain their integrity I felt it needed to NOT happen. Its just a little confusing that theres so much that can be used to promote these books, when something so low priority that didn't happen is used as a selling point. Ive docked a star because of this and the fanfic romance style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Garibaldi plans to continue his reign of crime one body at a time or should I say one brain..., 28 May 2013
By 
Cheryl M-M (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The combination of science, technology, robotics and the futuristic melding with a bit of transcendental Aether manipulation is what makes this book worth a second glance. Unfortunately that spark of brilliance by Cross is let down by her need to make everything a teenage angsty romance like read.
In the middle of a rescue scene characters will suddenly halt and discuss their amorous intentions. Two if their comrades are missing and instead of looking for them Finley and Griffin decide to explore each other. Priorities need to be reevaluated big time.
Talking about priorities I think Cross needs to concentrate more on the steampunk and less on the steam between the couples.ce
Finley has this completely self-obsessed notion that everyone should fancy her and her man should be jealous of all other men, because according to her that is healthy and makes her feel good. Who thinks like that?
One of the things that grated on me the most, like a cheese grater rubbing against my cells, was Jack. To be precise Jack of all trades and his unusual accent affliction. What on earth was the point of making him sound like Fagin from Oliver Twist, actually he sounded more like a London gangster from Lock, Stck and Two Smokin Barrels, despite the fact he really talks like a well-spoken gentleman? To make a clearer separation of class distinction between Jack and Griffin? .
The whole set in the period after Jack the Ripper does not gel well with the futuristic technology or some of the statements made.
Mila was the highlight of this book and I look forward to seeing where both the author and the technology will take her.
Overall I enjoyed the book for the nuance of Steampunk creativity that Cross harbours within her tales, but think the author would be better off letting that creativity flow more and locking up the romance bot in nice shiny metal box.
I received a free copy of this book via NetGalley
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars perfect steampunk, 23 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like steampunk and Cross set a perfect Steam London and perfect characters. Love Finley Jane...want more...next purchase the fourth book. Can't wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book 4 - best so far., 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl with the Iron Touch (The Steampunk Chronicles - Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
This series keeps getting better. The characters grow, change become more, with each book. The bad guy is a rotter! The automatons are creepy. Except for one! The good guys are getting it together. Don't miss this series. You can read them as stand alone but Turkey better in order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another girl, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl with the Iron Touch (The Steampunk Chronicles - Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Well I read this one because I enjoyed the previous three books in the series. It's a good yarn and told well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl with the Iron Touch (The Steampunk Chronicles - Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Been waiting for this to come out what seem like forever!! Love this set of books, the writing is so imaginative and the story so engaging. Hope she does more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Girl with iron touch, 8 Jun 2013
By 
Clare O'Beara - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This young adult steampunk book starts in 1897 with a submersible under the river Thames being attacked by a Kraken. The tentacled creature smashes the vessel and tries to eat the crew, but Griffin manages to produce an aether bubble to capture it until the Royal Society can arrive. Emily, captain of the submersible, is none too pleased, but she's alive. Familiar with automaton horses and machines, the watchers are convinced that Griffin's ability to produce the aether bubble is mechanical in origin, when it is produced by mental control.

Girls properly wear corsets in this intriguing tale, where characters from America, Ireland and the English aristocracy mingle with Cockneys from Whitechapel. An automaton girl is made, human and metal, and young Emily is kidnapped because of her talents with metal. Previously, we are told, a character called the Machinist created an automaton of Queen Victoria. What skullduggery is under way?

I liked the contrast between Mayfair, where well-dressed residents drive steam-carriages down the clean streets, and Whitechapel, grey and smoky, where residents wear dark colours and drive thin horses and carts to carry fruit they cannot afford to eat. The word 'robot' having been introduced later from a Czech word meaning worker, mechanical beings are referred to generally as 'metals'. The young people have to balance not only their own abilities and their enemies' plots, but also their attractions to each other. I felt that this was something of a 'Fantastic Four' set in a steampunk era, because of the mingling of paranormal abilities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl with the Iron Touch (The Steampunk Chronicles - Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
This series is just brilliant, Kady Cross is a genius. I hope there will be more books, I definitely want more of Griffin, Finlay and the rest of the gang. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews