Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book
This book begins with a very intriguing chapter, which will get you completely hooked. Tessa works very hard for an antiques auction house, and is expecting to get a lucrative promotion. She sees this as a reward for all the hours that she has put in, but on the very day of her interview, she is taken ill with severe stress related symptoms and rushed to hospital. She...
Published 24 months ago by Basement Cat

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars a disappointment
goes on for ever, very predictable, main characters not particularly endearing or plausible. ok to read on the train but will not read it again
Published 15 months ago by anne marie corker


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 27 May 2013
By 
Basement Cat (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This book begins with a very intriguing chapter, which will get you completely hooked. Tessa works very hard for an antiques auction house, and is expecting to get a lucrative promotion. She sees this as a reward for all the hours that she has put in, but on the very day of her interview, she is taken ill with severe stress related symptoms and rushed to hospital. She also has a visit from someone with information about a family that she never knew she had. This is a book which takes place both in the present, and in Europe during the second world war. It's a lovely comforting story, set on a wonderful farm that I really wish was real, and with lots of food and a few recipes too. As Tess gradually relaxes and begins to recover, she learns what's really important in her life, and more especially, who. A great read that I really enjoyed, and was sorry to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Apple Orchard is a yummy book you just won't be a to put down, 14 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Apple Orchard (A Bella Vista novel - Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is one of the nicest books I've read in a long time. It is well written, very descriptive and definitely gives you the feel good factor. The recipes introduced at the beginning of each section are tempting and I will in fact try them, no doubt with Isabel in my thoughts. Even now I have finished the book I just can't stop thinking about the characters and wish I could continue to be in their lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 30 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Apple Orchard (A Bella Vista novel - Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed this book, makes a change not to have unnecessary violence, gratuitous sex to have a good read. Would read any other books by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another good read!, 30 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Apple Orchard (A Bella Vista novel - Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I can't recommend Susan Wiggs enough and this one will not disappoint. Superb stories of characters that draw you into their lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good read, 18 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Apple Orchard (A Bella Vista novel - Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
i am a very big fan of Susan Wiggs any one who reads her books will enjoy this book this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The apple orchard, 27 Sept. 2014
By 
Clare O'Beara - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Apple Orchard (A Bella Vista novel - Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
We skip from present America to past Denmark as a family reunited only through difficulties, has to live in the shadow of the Nazi invasion of Denmark. This is a pleasant tale and romance, slow in the middle as everyone gradually meets everyone else, then more lively at the end.

We start by meeting an elderly gentleman enjoying a morning of apple picking in his orchard in Sonoma County, then we skip to a young lady who finds hidden treasures for an auction house. Part of her job is to persuade people to part with their heirlooms as the auction firm gets commission on the sale. Her work is quite interestingly presented and we actually feel annoyed when she finds out about a relative she never knew existed and hares off to Sonoma - just as annoyed as she feels when the phone rings and she gets asked why she isn't in the office.

The middle is not that interesting apart from the constant baking which is lavishly sprinkled through the book, with recipes for anything from lavender scones to Scottish kettle pie. I am sure some people will buy this just for the sumptuous recipes and well done to the author for making them such a feature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Apple Orchard, 31 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Apple Orchard (A Bella Vista novel - Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I liked the book so much that I ordered another one by the same author. The format of the chapters each introduced by recipes etc was unusual and interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read on a cold day, 28 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Apple Orchard (A Bella Vista novel - Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Great book, with lots of history as well as being an interesting story. Probably more a women's read as a love story intertwined.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking, 28 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Apple Orchard (A Bella Vista novel - Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I have read several of Susan Wiggs books but think I have to say this has been one of the best. I just couldn't put it down.
I got to know the characters the place they loved and the twist and turns as the story unfolded. I really would like to read more about these people. PLEASE how about another chronicals
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely novel offering escapism, 7 Oct. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Apple Orchard (A Bella Vista novel - Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Wonderful book by Susan Wiggs. Enjoyable from start to finish and just as good as all of her previous novels I have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews