Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN EXUBERANT STOMPING PIANO STYLE
Two of the albums in this compilation were recorded in Paris during Sammy Price's 1955 visit. Before that, he recorded with his Kaycee Stompers (Vic Dickenson on trombone, Jonah Jones on trumpet, Pete Brown on alto, Milt Hilton on bass and Cozy Cole on drums) in March 1955, and the album's title "Barrelhouse, Boogie Woogie and the Blues" is a very accurate description of...
Published 22 months ago by Barry McCanna

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but not what it says on the box. Be careful !
I ordered this album from Amazon Sarl in November 2013 and didn't have a chance to play until now. Disc 2 is as described but Disc 1 is from another Sammy Price album altogether, "Barrelhouse & the Blues", although both the packaging (including the contents list)and the label on the disc both profess to be that described in the Amazon display. How Amazon have managed this...
Published 11 months ago by E M Oge


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN EXUBERANT STOMPING PIANO STYLE, 4 Mar 2013
By 
Barry McCanna (Normandy, France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Two of the albums in this compilation were recorded in Paris during Sammy Price's 1955 visit. Before that, he recorded with his Kaycee Stompers (Vic Dickenson on trombone, Jonah Jones on trumpet, Pete Brown on alto, Milt Hilton on bass and Cozy Cole on drums) in March 1955, and the album's title "Barrelhouse, Boogie Woogie and the Blues" is a very accurate description of the contents. "A Real Jam Session" was recorded in Paris at the end of December 1955, and six of the eight tracks are included, split across the two CDs. Emmett Berry was on trumpet, George Stevenson on trombone, Herbie Hall on clarinet, Pops Foster on bass and Fred Moore on drums. "Sidney Bechet with Sammy Price & his Bluesicians" was recorded in Paris in May 1956, with Bechet on soprano saxophone added to the Jam Session line-up. Finally, "After Hours" dates from March 1959, and includes Mickey Baker and Al Casey on guitar, Al Lucas on bass and Panama Francis on drums.

The boogie-woogie piano style needs no explanation, but whereas that tended to be based on eight beats to the bar, barrelhouse piano was played in regular 4-4 meter. Sammy Price could play in both styles, and his exuberant stomping piano is heard to advantage in the larger groups. Vic Dickenson was the master of the blues trombone, and contributes his subtle blend of playing to the Kaycee Stompers album. Subtle was not something Bechet could ever be accused of, and his banshee wail dominates the Vogue album. This is a splendid compilation, but if I were pressed to choose just one album it would have to be "After Hours", which is when it would make the perfect accompaniment to a night-cap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pianist with two hands, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is my 3rd purchase in this series and you Always get a lot of Music for your Money but not always the best of quality if we mean sound restoration.
After the initial issues in the 50's the Bechet-session as well as "Real Jam Session" were reissued on Vogue(F)Legacy and the last one had all 8 tracks plus alt. takes. This doubleCD has as mentioned on the cover 6 of those for time limit reasons I guess.

The Jazztone-session was reissued at least twice on vinyl in Jonah Jones'(!) name on Baronet and later also Hall Of Fame Jazz Greats. A 10"LP and a 7"LP had 1 track each not on the 12"LP and AVID has alertly included those two.

The "After Hours"-session is all new to me and it's Worth the whole price(funny!) on this CD-double. I have no other issue to compare with so this is my favourite in this collection so far.

The Jazztone and Vogue-sessions are OK but a little thin in sound compared with the vinyl originals. My own transfers from LP to CDR via a Thorens TD126 MKII to Philips CD796 Audio Recorder have a more clear juicy sound.

What about the Music? Well, it is the very best in this world with an always marvelous, driving Sammy Price inspiring masters like Vic Dickenson, Emmett Berry, Jonah Jones, Sidney Bechet etc. in their prime. In a world with crowds of pitiable pianists who forgotten to use both hands Sammy Price is gift from heaven. He sings nice too from time to time. This is an essential issue, I really love it but if the sound engineers could just improve the sound just a little bit more I would be even more happy. The goal ought to be almost Fresh Sound class! Leif Hallin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but not what it says on the box. Be careful !, 15 Jan 2014
By 
E M Oge (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I ordered this album from Amazon Sarl in November 2013 and didn't have a chance to play until now. Disc 2 is as described but Disc 1 is from another Sammy Price album altogether, "Barrelhouse & the Blues", although both the packaging (including the contents list)and the label on the disc both profess to be that described in the Amazon display. How Amazon have managed this I cannot imagine unless it's "grey". Even the "free" download from the Cloud is of the wrong title.

Check it as soon as it arrives and,if it's wrong, send it back. I'm too late.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sammy Proce and Sidney Bechet, 18 Mar 2013
By 
Eroica Ludwig (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lovely old fashioned fruity jazz, with growling trumpets and trombones, rhythmic piano solos, and Sidney Bechet doing his stuff on the soprano sax - a little shrill but he improvised some wonderful music. I recommend Tin Roof Blues and Memphis Blues especially on the Sidney Bechet disc.

Arkey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sammy Price is an underated jazz pianist., 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sammy Price has always been in the background of jazz, but has been a consistent player of various styles of piano, especially the blues. At last, I have been able to afford a beautiful collection of his music, and included are some great fellow jazz players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Oct 2014
fantastic music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews