Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good game, not without its annoyances
I had been looking forward to Puppeteer since it was announced. When it finally arrived I was overjoyed; upon playing the first thirty minutes I was distraught - it seemed so clunky! But don't worry, once you get used to the controls and mechanics it is a grower.

You control Kutaro, a boy stolen from sleep and transported to the moon by the wicked Moon Bear...
Published 11 months ago by Honest Chap's Reviews

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Graphics although frustrating
This game has some good graphics and some fun storyline, although it can be frustrating whenever you die in the game as the save points are lacking so you end up quite far back from where you died and they have to play some levels multiple times. Worth a play, although I cant recommend it.
Published 2 months ago by Stewie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good game, not without its annoyances, 1 Oct 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puppeteer (PS3) (Video Game)
I had been looking forward to Puppeteer since it was announced. When it finally arrived I was overjoyed; upon playing the first thirty minutes I was distraught - it seemed so clunky! But don't worry, once you get used to the controls and mechanics it is a grower.

You control Kutaro, a boy stolen from sleep and transported to the moon by the wicked Moon Bear King. Upon arrival, his head is devoured and his body discarded! But fear not, a witch and her pet cat take pity on you and find you a substitute head - one of a hundred or so in the game. With your new noggin securely attached you must traverse the moon in search of Moonshards that are guarded by a medley of huge, animal-themed bosses. Once these are collected, you can piece the Moonstone back together and return the moon to normal by dethroning the Moon Bear King.

Graphically the game is breathtaking. The whole idea for the game is that you are watching a pantomime unravel through a theatre setting; each level starts and finishes with the curtains opening or drawing closed. The theatre theme allows for some unique enemy designs and attacks - cutting a snake apart via the seams that hold it together internally is certainly intuitive and cleverly conceived. The game harks back to many titles of yesteryear - remember Ghouls and Ghosts where you'd traverse every landscape imaginable? Deserts, a stormy sea, an icy landscape, a spooky forest? Expect to see all of these settings and more in Puppeteer, each as lovingly sculpted as the last. The game sounds great, too; rousing orchestral tunes that fit the settings of each stage perfectly - the pirate-themed level stands out for me the most; it has a perfect sea-shanty-style ditty that fits the theme brilliantly. The watching crowd will cheer when you do something worthy, boo the bad guys and oooh-and-ahhh as you leap or fly fearlessly through the stages.

One thing that I didn't enjoy (others will surely disagree with me here) was the constant voice-overs from the commentator and secondary characters - Pikarina is particularly annoying, with her whining, pseudo-American accent. During the levels they can prove useful, pointing out areas of interest or giving hints, but they quickly become irritating during cut scenes as the monologues go on far too long and become steadily more incomprehensible. The cut scenes are, for the most part, overly long as well and just as unintelligible - there is one battle scene between the pirate captain Gaff and the two bovine enemies he faces that I thought would never end. Things do pick up near the end, when the story is drawing to a close but I honestly enjoyed my second playthrough a great deal more as I was able to skip through the drawn-out cut scenes.

The game is an old-school 2D platformer with full 3D graphics. You leap across chasms, collect Moonsparkles (similar to Mario's coins or Sonic's rings) in order to gain extra lives and rescue souls by killing enemies. The controls are simple enough (jump, attack, duck, etc) but take some getting used to initially. Within the first few levels of the game I was mistiming jumps and falling to my death quite regularly - Kutaro has quite a small leap when compared to other 2D platformers of this ilk. Given a little time, though, you will master them, even if certain jumps within the game remain difficult to judge. You can also control your secondary characters (Ying-Yang the cat or Pikarina the sun princess) with the right analogue stick. Searching the background and scenery of each stage with these characters will yield Moonsparkles and other rewards such as new heads and humorous interactions between characters.

As you progress through the game you will unlock a weapon - a pair of scissors called Calibrus - and five special abilities - a hookshot, a bomb, a body-slam, a flying scissor boost and a shield. We have most of the special abilities before (in Zelda games, for example) but the scissors offer a unique twist. With them, Kutaro can cut through fabrics and enemies allowing him to fly - as long as there is more material for him to cut through. Mastering this skill is essential for progressing the game's latter stages and defeating the game's many bosses. The scissors also offer a myriad of unique ways to dismember your enemies - the way you take apart the final boss is especially creative.

There are about 100 heads to collect throughout the game. Each one has a unique special ability that can be used in certain stages to either make the level marginally easier or to unlock bonus stages. Some of the heads are rather imaginative, but their skills are used sparingly - you could make it through the game with only the very first head you receive without any problems. The only reason to go and collect them all is if you are a completionist or want to mop up a few additional trophies (like I did). Be warned, however, that there are certain trophies that require you to use a second joypad; you can unlock these by playing with both yourself but it can get a bit complicated at times!

My first playthrough lasted around the 10 hour mark - this is substantially shortened if you skip the cut scenes. A second playthrough is required in order to unlock all of the games secrets and find heads that you were unable to collect first time through. A second playthrough is highly recommended; as I've already stated I enjoyed the game more the second time through. You'll get more than enough play time out of the game if you aim to collect all collectables and trophies.

For the price Puppeteer is available for it is definitely worth taking a chance on. If you like 2D platform games you can't really go wrong. Every aspect of the game has been lovingly created and there are plenty of nods to classic titles such as the aforementioned Ghouls and Ghosts and more modern releases such as Rayman Origins/Legends. If you go in prepared for some mind-boggling cut scenes and some nonsensical set pieces, I'm confident you will find a lot to like in this game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars opens the curtains to your childhood, 17 Sep 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puppeteer (PS3) (Video Game)
Adventure games how I have seated myself for so LONG waiting for one on the playstation 3 that would rekindle my love with them. I grew up on the playstation one so I played and adored adventure games such as medieval, spyro the dragon and crash bandicoot and this game recaptures that love of those times playing these games.
The controls feel tight and gameplay is always changing itself up!! its not simply go left to right to finish the level no no no that would not be justice to the name puppeteer! the game is set in a theatre with sets always changing you never know what is going to happen next that I can guarantee.
So many waves of emotions came crashing in my face playing this game, good ones at that!! it really plays on the fact that the game is set in a theatre so there is lots of fourth wall breaking between the narrator, badguys and goodguys almost all the time.
The game is just so entertaining please try it, please if you are a fan of adventure games, platformers or just want to be entertained regularly and thoroughly in your gaming sessions then please try puppeteer!!! relight the flame you grew when your first touched gaming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BB's review of Puppeteer, 22 Oct 2013
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puppeteer (PS3) (Video Game)
The Puppeteer

Every once in a while, a game comes along that totally re adjusts your perspective on the entire gaming horizon. These games just seem to tick every box, do everything right, and in short knock our socks off. The Puppeteer does that, and not only does it well, it could even be considered the best this generation of consoles can offer.

The Puppeteer. Heard of it? No you probably haven't as in the current gaming climate all the talk is about GTA, COD, Battlefield and what the next generation of consoles will do to make the same crap look just a bit prettier and try to convince us all " its new ". But, if you pause, just for a minute, bring your head down from the future and just enjoy what can be had now, you may miss one of the most magical, exciting, FUN and stunning piece of art on a digital screen ever!

You see the Puppeteer is like an award winning Disney film. It transcends all ages so everyone can come away with a light heart and a smile on their face after spending time with it. It's basic enough for young children to be fascinated with, with the castles, witches, pixies and so forth, but highbrow enough that adults can laugh at the humour also.

So what exactly IS the Puppeteer? Well, to say it's a "plat former" is a disservice. You play as a character called Kutaro who is a wooden puppet with interchangeable heads. Your quest is to save the children's of the world souls from the evil Moon Bear King who wants to rule the universe. To defeat the Moon Bear King you have to collect each of the moonstone shards from the Moon Bear Kings general's.

And so starts your journey. To help you do this you have a pair of scissors named "calibrus". Calibrus, can chop down enemies, and cut through objects, but also can help you get from a to b even if those points are off the ground by chopping your way up to them. Other powers are bestowed upon Kutaro as your epic adventure unfolds, like a shield, hook and slam. You use all these powers in various ways to traverse the environment.

And what an environment it is! The scene is literally set as you play as though you're in the theatre watching the most fantastic puppet show you will ever witness. The voice acting and narration is utterly brilliant. The screen even has the outline of the stage, lights and curtains to give you a thespian; you're at the theatre feel.

But the backdrops! Oh the backdrops are stunning. The game doesn't hide the fact it's a puppet show with the backdrops all being propped up on sticks, but what's amazing about it all is it's all just achingly beautiful to look at with such clarity and detail. Bright, colourful, detailed, varied. The adventure will have you on pirate ships sailing the vast sea, a desert, a Mexican town, mountainous snowy peaks, jungles, castles, and of course, the final frontier, space! Each set piece is lavish in its design and artwork, and sometimes is only on screen for a scant few seconds before it's all replaced with yet another stunning beauty!

The game is for this day of age, pretty long too. It's divided into 7 chapters (called acts) and each Act is split into three chapters (called Curtains). Each curtain is at minimum 20 minutes worth of gameplay, or for some of the longer curtains, up to a whopping 45 minutes. During that 45 minutes the backdrops and sets will change many many times, so it's not just a case of the same theme, same look for all that time, OH no. Oh yes it is, Oh no it isn't! In fact one curtain could have up to around 25 to 30 beautifully crafted and thought out scenes.

The gameplay is also fantastic. It's a custom built engine for this game by Japan studio. Everything from the lighting to the physics is made for this game only and it shows. It's superbly smooth, works brilliantly, is fun to be part of and looks utterly fantastic. The lighting is especially standout as it manages to capture emotion and feel. The audio is also superb, down to the tiny details. There is even perfectly timed "ohhs" and "ahhhs" from the virtual audience you are supposed to be with, with rapturous applause at the games end. Even the end credits are entertaining and interactive!

On this journey, Kutaro is flung around the screen with reckless abandon. Massive set pieces to negotiate, huge boss fights, exciting chase sequences, stunning on rails sections, quick time events, puzzles, battles and timing, it's ALL here and paced to perfection.

Even when playing in 3D, the design of the game is set up perfectly. Not too garish to be a distraction and in fact designed to simply enhance the depth of the screen rather than shock you. There are moments where things pop out at the screen towards the player but it works wonderfully well. Even without 3D it's still gorgeous and perfect.

The story is a little trite, and possibly the weakest link to the whole game. It's sometimes difficult to follow who's actually speaking on screen as the animations for characters talking is a bit iffy at best. The movement for who is supposed to be talking is far too OTT. However if you turn the subtitles on, all soon becomes clear and then easy to follow.

Be that as it may, it's still an enjoyable plot with twists, turns, gasps of horror, laughter, love, and even time for some proper west end musical numbers, which all in all makes it utterly unique and joyous to behold and listen too from start to finish.
In short, every aspect of the game is breath taking and perfectly designed for maximum enjoyment.

Conclusion

The nearest game you could compare the Puppeteer to is Little Big Planet, but that's at a stretch and even if you do so, it's still putting the Puppeteer into a metaphorical box it doesn't deserve to be in. Although it's a platformer it does everything it can to not be exactly that. You'll be amazed at what places you'll end up for something you think is meant to be on a flat screen!

It kind of makes me sad, that games like this are so few and far between. We're inundated with the same boring commercially successful crap these days, from developers who have to play it safe due to pressures from the almighty publishers. How refreshing it is to play a game that brazenly stands up with an identity all of its own at the worst possible commercial time and says in a tiny voice, "This is what I am and I'm proud of it." The gaming industry would be better off with ten versions of the Puppeteer than ten versions of the same boring FPS, driving, or cover based 3rd person shooter.

This game is not just good, it's jaw droopingly stunning. It's not just game of the year good, its game of the entire generation epic! Move over Uncharted 2. Put the champagne on ice, The Last of Us. Park it back in the garage Gran Turismo.

The Puppeteer is game of the generation and when we all look back on the PS3 age, this will be the game that I think is worthy of the title of the PlayStation 3's finest hour.

Rating 10/10
Quite simply faultless entertainment for all the family. What this generation of gaming should have been like from the beginning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be a bestseller, 17 Sep 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puppeteer (PS3) (Video Game)
I am too lazy to write reviews; even for products I absolutely love or hate. However, I felt an intervention is required in this case as the game in question is spectacular and yet doing poorly in sales. I am half way through and playing it with my girlfriend who hates video games, but this one captured her imagination.

It is a shame the sales do not reflect how good and original the game is. The only way to ensure that franchises survive and original content is developed is to vote with one's wallet. Publishers are profit maximizing corporations. Why would anyone risk their money and investm in an untested idea where an n-th iteration of a generic action game which recycles already available material generates better returns and is a safe bet?

The only way to encourage creation of more gems like this one is to buy them when they come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kutaro the wimp needs you, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puppeteer (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is a decent platformer that is pretty unique in the genre thanks to the weapon that you use and the way the game is presented. It has a lovely atmosphere, characters with actual personalities, nice soundtrack and solid controls. Don't miss this game if you like playing original games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for kids, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puppeteer (PS3) (Video Game)
Beautiful and sparkly of a platformer game, highly recommend for children and hardcore gamers who gets bored playing FFS games
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars YOU HAVE TO GET IT!!!, 3 July 2014
This review is from: Puppeteer (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is one of my favourites!! It's made me laugh more than any other game and it's just amazing fun!!!

I got this game not really expecting much. I thought it would be another ok platformer, but as I was playing I found myself constantly chuckling at the characters amd thoroughly enjoying the appearance of the game! Within half an hour of the game I had already fallen in live with it!!! It's a good length game with tons of extra game objectives to play with as well.

I would HIGHLY recommend Puppeteer, please get it!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good Graphics although frustrating, 29 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puppeteer (PS3) (Video Game)
This game has some good graphics and some fun storyline, although it can be frustrating whenever you die in the game as the save points are lacking so you end up quite far back from where you died and they have to play some levels multiple times. Worth a play, although I cant recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Puppeteer ps3, 27 April 2014
By 
David Liggins (Lutterworth, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puppeteer (PS3) (Video Game)
Love style of this game in a puppet theatre, most enjoyable to play, great for young and older alike. Love the narration and sound of this. A overall good game and would recommend this highly. Game play and controls are easy and fun to play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars unique, 20 April 2014
By 
M. Perkins "maroballistic" (Leicestershire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puppeteer (PS3) (Video Game)
great game, very individual and different, highly recommended to all, especially those seeking new challenge from a game. Reaaly great story too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Puppeteer (PS3)
Puppeteer (PS3) by Sony (PlayStation 3)
11.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews