Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing
There is only one word for this game amazing.
Beautiful graphics lovely characters.
It will take you a while to complete this game Which is great well worth the money.
Published 9 months ago by woodenabs

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new, why the hype?
It is a good game but having played Donkey Kong Returns on the Wii this seems like nothing more than an HD follow-on, with a lack of notable new features - you can swim and play as/with two characters that were not in DKR with slightly different abilities. Most notable is the difficulty level, which is not for casual gamers.
Published 5 months ago by Mr. G. J. Hiett


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
There is only one word for this game amazing.
Beautiful graphics lovely characters.
It will take you a while to complete this game Which is great well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Great game,will also give 5 stars both for gameplay and the fantastic soundtrack,very frustrating at times,that boss in world 4 will give me nightmares,recommend to all,well worth buying the wii u just for this game alone,which i did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia trip, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
I'm a 31 year old male and this brings my childhood flooding back. It's resurrected my wii u which is great. The graphics and music are good not sure about the story so far. Oh and it's hard, I'm up to the first boss a sea lion and I've died a hundred times but always smiling at the tv. Great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nintendo does it again!, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
This game is fantastic! Visuals are lush and the soundtrack is infectious. Just played the first island and moved onto the second. There is a great deal of replayability trying to find all the hidden areas/ items and the love/quality shines through - such great polish to this game......

It can be tricky - but there is a great deal of satisfaction when you manage it! Gameplay can be addictive( played the first minecart level for bout 30 minutes - such fun)

Why people are buying a PS4 or Xbone when there is a dearth of must have games on the consoles and the Wii U has built up a quality library of games beggars belief!

BUY IT NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A joy to play, 1 Mar 2014
By 
Rod Law (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
I waited to see what customer reviews this got and when all the five star reviews started stacking up I couldn't resist ordering the game.

This is a joy to play, especially with my six year old son playing as Diddy. It's a nice touch that I can carry him through the hard parts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing game., 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Everything about this game is fantastic. The visuals are lush, the soundtrack is outstanding, the gameplay is finely tuned perfection, and the comedy is priceless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing game stuff the ps4 and xbox one, 22 Feb 2014
By 
m nagle (cali usa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
i have had so much of all this rubbish that little kiddies spout on about that the ps4 and Xbox one are the greatest and the wii u is a waste of space, etc etc etc yawns yawns..............the ps4 and Xbox one are pcs in a box and if you want to play games like call of duty 2000 and fifa 400 till your 90 years old then by all means go ahead. i have been gaming for 30 years since the zx81 in 1979. Nintendo has always got things right with its software. gaming is about having fun for gods sake!!!! no one makes games like Nintendo, no one. you see that's the difference between a console that plays original,well designed games and a console that keeps playing mass market crap all the time.
and to all those developers that have ruined today's games like: tomb raider 2013,resident evil 6,ridge racer unbounded,toca,hitman and many others i say to you this. you have destroyed the gaming industry!!! games aren't games anymore!!! games died in 2005 completely. the last great games on the ps1 and ps2 like resident evil 1,2,3,tomb raider 1,2,3,4,5 and all the brilliant original games, became stagnated arcade rubbish on the 360 and ps3. NINTENDO HOWEVER HAVE REMAINED STRONG TO THERE WORD ON ORIGINAL,FUN AND BRILLIANTLY DESIGNED GAMES FOR LIFE.
in 2014 its so dam well nice to see games produced as they should be made.amazing game 5 stars and a joy to behold.

graphics 10/10 brilliant visuals that sets the donkey kong world alight once again.donkey kongs fur looks amazing.
sounds 10/10 the theme tune is soooo addictive and it fits the game so well.
gameplay 10/10 fun fun fun
lifespan 10/10 pretty dam hard but never stagnates.

if you haven't got a Wii u then go and buy one!!! even if its just to play donkey Kong and Mario 3d land on.you wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece, 12 Aug 2014
By 
G. Davies (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
A beautiful game full of charm, humour and exceptionally crafted gameplay - not to mention the artful, funky and catchy music and expertly animated and colourful graphics.

The attention to detail in the animation and graphics is superb - Donkey Kong's hair, blowing in the wind, uses the graphic processing power of the Wii U in a way that adds character and charm to the game.

The music is a rare example of excellence and only Bunjie's Halo score comes close to the quality and depth of the music score. In Donkey Kong Country the music is perfectly matched with the levels (my favourite music score is on the Swiss cuckoo clock level!) Wonderful stuff.

This game, along with Zelda, Mario Kart 8 and Super Mario 3d World, really is a "must buy" that demonstrates the genius of Nintendo when it comes to game design.

The game is challenging and can be really challenging in terms of lost lives but it is *never* frustrating to play. This is the mark of a great game - neither easy nor frustratingly difficult but rather challenging in a way that asks you to play "just one more time" and rewards your patience with progression and plenty of secret areas.

There's a secret "world", a secret "island" and locked levels that can only be accessed through progressively more challenging achievements being completed.

I've played this with my six year old and then played some more when he's gone to bed. It really does appeal to all age groups and, somehow, the difficulty level whilst being challenging doesn't alienate the player.

I prefer to play with the nunchuk and Wii U remote - the motion control is great (beating the ground) and the feedback is perfectly balanced.

Parts of the game remind me of Donkey Kong Junior (an arcade game released in the 1980s) in terms of perfectly designed gameplay but with graphics and a game engine that are truly next generation.

A masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new, why the hype?, 30 May 2014
By 
Mr. G. J. Hiett "MutantMonkey" (Essex , UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
It is a good game but having played Donkey Kong Returns on the Wii this seems like nothing more than an HD follow-on, with a lack of notable new features - you can swim and play as/with two characters that were not in DKR with slightly different abilities. Most notable is the difficulty level, which is not for casual gamers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard as nails, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
This game is very challenging and can become frustrating.

It is very rewarding though, and beating a level after trying on it for sometime feels so good.

The game is visually brilliant with loads of charm and character.

I dare you not to hum the theme music after a gaming session

There are lots of extras to find in each level and getting 100% on each stage is a fun pastime.

A very worthy purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze (Nintendo Wii U)
£37.77
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews