Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful, Almost Flawless Game
It's rare that I fall so in love with a game as I have with 3D World. Nintendo have proven once again that they make some of the most fun games on the market, and with that I'll get on with this review!

Gameplay:

A 3D platformer in the vein of 3D Land on the 3DS, Mario 3D World is much closer in spirit to the New Super Mario Bros. series than to...
Published 18 months ago by HyakuShiki1234

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
Another cash grab piece of boringness from Nintendo. My biggest regret is wasting money on the Wii U
Published 1 month ago by Lee


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful, Almost Flawless Game, 19 Jan. 2014
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Mario 3D World (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
It's rare that I fall so in love with a game as I have with 3D World. Nintendo have proven once again that they make some of the most fun games on the market, and with that I'll get on with this review!

Gameplay:

A 3D platformer in the vein of 3D Land on the 3DS, Mario 3D World is much closer in spirit to the New Super Mario Bros. series than to something like Mario 64. All of the levels are timed, and are fairly linear in structure with interesting and inventive platforming puzzles and challenges. Like other Mario games there are also a bevy of collectable items - in this case, Green Stars and Stamps. This is where much of the real challenge lies in the game - especially in the later levels, when the Stars can get really tricky! Nintendo get a lot of criticism for making games too easy these days but that certainly isn't the case in the later stages of 3D World.

Each world is very unique and imaginative - having a different theme and different gameplay elements associated with it. As such, there is a huge amount of variety which keeps the game fresh even into all of the secret extra Worlds.

Graphics:

3D World is beautiful on every level - it's pin-sharp, bright, colourful, and it runs at a smooth, silky 60fps. As I said before, each world has a distinct and unique visual theme and all of them have obviously been crafted with great care and attention. This is as good as Wii U graphics currently get. There's a clean look to everything and it makes the game look very polished.

Story and Presentation:

If I'm going to make any criticisms, then they'll be here. The story is as barebones as they come, but you're unlikely to be buying it for that anyway so that criticism would be unfair. One minor nitpick is that on the World Map, you move quite slowly. But I'm struggling here. And on the plus side, the load times in this game are basically nonexistent.

Sound:

The soundtrack is delightful - very whimsical and easy on the ears. There isn't much more to say, really. Everything fits perfectly and is beautifully orchestrated, to boot.

Overall:

If I sound like I was gushing, then I apologize. 3D World really is a fantastic game, and you're doing your Wii U a disservice by not owning it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nintendo showing us again who is the king of making video games, 29 Nov. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario 3D World (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
I went for the so called 'Limited edition' game offered. Would have got it here but for £3 extra you couldn't go wrong, this game is a gem, and GOTY in my eyes, that's someone who has played The Last of Us, if you have a Wii U, you HAVE to get this, perfect game for Xmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 1 Jan. 2015
By 
MB (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Super Mario 3D World (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Wow, just wow. I put off getting this, then i crumbled and bought it. Ive been playing Bayonetta (which is amazing) and building my Wii U games library up again in the process with Nintendo games as ive now played all the Third party games. Decided to test drive this game on New Years day and its great, not childish as I read in another review, just plain old simply great looking game, very colorful and user friendly. The game-play is great and you can collect green stars and stamps which adds to the replay factor. It is not an easy game either, it challenges you. Just great, this is why in my opinion Nintendo and the Wii U is the Number 1 next gen console.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Daddy!, 4 Jun. 2015
This review is from: Super Mario 3D World (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
I have played Mario games since the beginning.

This is simply FANTASTIC and what gaming is about - you can actually play this as four or five players too if that tickles your fancy (and you have remotes, but if you want a good Mario Kart or Smash with your mates you should have these!) the fifth player can control the environment with the Gamepad - uncovering coins, halting enemies and moving platforms and switches.

I played solo player and completed it 100% - this did not take 5 minutes and on the last level or two, you really are put through extreme tests - I've played Mario since the beginning and consider myself an expert but even I had to play the last level about 100 times to complete it!

The games graphics are phenomenal, the gameplay is perfectly synchronised with the controls and the game is challenging yet will have you smiling all the way through with its charm.

This game trumps any game out there for me, this along with Mario Bros Wii U and Luigi Wii U is the Led Zeppelin, Deep Purple and Uriah Heep of the gaming world!

If you want original games, come to the company who makes them - Nintendo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Italian plumber rides again!, 27 Feb. 2015
By 
Max (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Mario 3D World (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Unlike the wii-mote controlled Super Mario Galaxy this feels like a more traditional style with the Wii U gamepad. It's got all the great innovations, humour, challenges and design we've come to expect and feels like retro-Mario with a modern look. The level designs are just brilliant with each world and levels there-in offering unique challenges. Each level is timed, and unlike older Mario games the timer really does force you to get a move on. It encourages you to replay levels as it's hard on a lot of levels to collect all three stars and stamps. Thankfully the game doesn't punish you if you get a 'game over' by forcing you to start all over again, from experience of early Mario's this could have been a little too frustrating. Co-op is great and can be a real challenge working togther on some of the faster levels, with all four players it's a real laugh.

Mario games always have a lot to live up to in terms of music. The bar is set very high. Thankfully Super Mario 3D World achieves that greatness with some excellent original songs and remixes of classic Mario music. You will be humming them long after you've stopped playing.

Super Mario 3D World offers everything you've come to expect. It's faithful to it's roots but modernises to give new and old audiences plenty to cheer about. The addition of the cat suits are just as fun as when they introduced the racoon flying suit in Super Mario 3. In fact having the 'cat-power' is crucial to complete some levels. The game is certainly a console-seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Super Mario 3D World, 7 Dec. 2013
By 
Jim's Thoughts (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Mario 3D World (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
New Super Mario Bros. = NSMB

Many people have hailed this game as the greatest Mario game since Mario 64. Whilst I think they might be exaggerating somewhat, the game does give you that level of 'excitement' that you may have come to expect from premium Mario games. Here's a brief summary of the game's highs and lows:

0) What makes it different?

Probably the cat power-up enabling you to climb walls and reach those hard to get places.

1) Its in 3-D.

Its hard to imagine any modern Mario game still existing in the 2nd dimension, although NSMB has given some temporary fun until this game's release. Being in 3D is nothing new though, don't forget that Mario sunshine on the gamecube was also in 3D (equally as good as Mario 64 IMO) as well as the Mario 3D Land on the DS, not to mention the successful super Mario galaxies on the Wii.

2) Innovative level design

The designers never fail to surprise me with their creativity. Some of the level designs are pure genius and non repetitive. Every level is different and all the worlds have their own theme which brings the game to life. However, I have also found some courses which are very basic, short and unchallenging...but thankfully they are few.

3) Great music scores

Its quite clever how they change the music as you progress through as level. For example, on some levels, as you approach the end the music starts to enter the last phrase and becomes accented as you reach the exit for a dramatic end. A small point to make, I admit, but its just something that made me smile.

4) Multiplayer fun

Probably one of the selling points for the game. Whilst it is great fun to play four players on the same screen and share the adventure, it also becomes harder to play as too many players creates chaos. You will find that you will bump and push each other off a lot which can be frustrating. This was equally as frustrating for NSMB. Making the players pass through each other would have made things easier. Still, it was great fun.

5) Lastability and depth

The game offers players an incentive to revisit levels by hiding stars and stamps on each course. However, some courses are just so easy and basic that you might not find much of a challenge until you reach world 7. I have to say that whilst the courses are well designed I didn't really feel that they were 'deep' enough. Exploration seems limited and therefore makes the game slightly more linear than say, Mario galaxy, but many might disagree with me.

6) use of the wii u gamepad

The quick answer here is that the game doesn't really seem to utilise the gamepad in any special way (or at least I haven't found a use) - unlike NSMB.

7) online features

This can be fun if you're into this sort of stuff. The stamps you collect can be used to help post illustrations online for others to see and comment, expressing your frustration about a particular course, giving pointers towards the location of hidden stars/stamps or, if you're like me, just post random nonsense.

final thought....

Its taken 1st place in game rankings for wii u and rightly so if you were to compare it against other titles currently available on this console, but I would say that its not quite the standard of super Mario galaxy (although not that far behind).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent Mario game, 17 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Super Mario 3D World (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Have to say how much i've enjoyed it. Every time i play it, i have q big smile on my face. Getting some of the green stars is very challenging but it's so much fun i don't mind going back.
The graphics are loevly and the sound track (which i had months before i owned the gake from club Nintendo) is just wonderful. So much diversity and unique tracks which seems to capture each stage perfectly. Some are repeated but it doesn't matter because the music is fantastic. The final boss fight is great and one of the best Mario finale's ina long while.
A few downsides- you can only change character before a level and not after you die, some of it can be a little too difficult and Plessie is very hard to control. However, it has made me want Captain Toad's Treasure tracker as those stages in this game are really well done!
Highly recommended and while not perfect, is an excellent title, not only one the Wii U but on any console.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mario in HD!, 10 Oct. 2014
By 
MikeH (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Mario 3D World (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
This had a lot to live up to after Mario Galaxy which is possibly one of the best games ever. This is not quite on that level but had Mario Galaxy never been released this would still be considered a classic. The levels are great and the it is great fun to play. The only niggle I have with it it is that they have basically cut any storyline so it is just a bunch of Mario levels. This is still well worth it though and the graphics are amazing.

Many hours of game play here and enough to keep you coming back. If you have ever played Mario before you will already have this. If not then this is a great game but also check out Mario Galaxy from the Wii which is brilliant.

Along with Mario Kart and Pikmin 3 this is one of the titles every Wii U owner must buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Mario 3D World: The Middle-of-the-Road Gamers Opinion, 29 Nov. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Mario 3D World (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Let's cut to the chase...this game is brilliant.

Over the years, the major Mario titles have always drawn me in and in a few cases I've purchased hardware just to play Mario and Zelda.

Don't compare this with the Galaxy games, treat it as another wonderfully executed platformer from Nintendo. You'll be on this for hours, the multi-player is much better than how it was with New Super Mario Bros. Wii and more accessible for players not as experienced as you.

It's very colourful and sounds great. I've been playing it with the pro controller as opposed to a Wii remote, I'm more accustomed to using a stick now instead of a d-pad (especially for 3D)

If you own a Wii U then I highly recommend this, you won't be disappointed. Slowly but surely, Nintendo are dragging themselves back up and if you don't get an opportunity to get on a PS4 or Xbox One this winter, worry not as this will suffice.

Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic! A must have!, 3 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Mario 3D World (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Super Mario 3D World really is a single reason to own a Wii U. The Wii U gets a lot of stick, but it has possibly the best games on the market out of all the consoles, and this is the cream of the crop.

Super Mario 3D World has so many different things going for it. It has a huge amount of levels, each one boasting a different theme, gimmick or puzzle. The game cleverly uses one for one level and dispatches it for a new theme, gimmick or puzzle for the next level. Not only does this keep the game fresh, but it keeps things exciting, and makes you want to continue playing to find out just what is going to happen next. Add on 4 collectibles each level (excluding boss levels, which in them selves are creative and challenging), 4 (?) playable characters each with different abilities, and multiplayer, and you have a game that suits the single player or mutli player gamer. The game is easy to pick up, and easy to master, but finding all the collectibles will really push your platforming skills. If you like speed running, the game even gives you the option to record best times on levels (this is completely optional I'll add, it is no way required). You'll have fun finding out which character can excel and get the best time on each level. You can even race other players via ghosts sent on Nintendo's Miiverse.

The controls are also easy to pick up, and as mentioned before, easy to master. You'll be performing back flips, spin jumps, climbing up walls in no time! Speaking of climbing up walls, this game has loads of intuitive power ups, from the wall climbing Cat Suit, the classic Fire Flower and Star, and the new Double Cherry that can duplicate your character!

The graphics are bright, colorful and vivid. The frame rate if silky smooth. And don't even get me started on the soundtrack... Fully orchestrated, each track is catchy and memorable (my personal favorites are the castle levels and the desert levels).

You don't need to be an intense gamer to enjoy Super Mario 3D World. You also don't need to be a casual gamer to enjoy it either. This game has something for everybody, and offers so much replay ability. You just like exploring levels and getting to the end? Maybe you like collecting things? Or maybe you like to set records and challenge yourself. This game has it all. You are committing a sin for not buying it. 5 stars, brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Super Mario 3D World (Nintendo Wii U)
Super Mario 3D World (Nintendo Wii U) by Nintendo (Nintendo Wii U)
£37.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews