Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quiet Little Redneck Mountain Town
Right so here goes my 1st proper review, by this I mean actually going into detail:

South Park: Stick of Truth, I bought it for PS3 (not from Amazon) and was playing it all last weekend, it's a very well made game with lots of South Park references along with iconic RPG references too. However there haven't been much detail on the actual gameplay in reviews...
Published 15 months ago by Stephen1712

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Gonna trade
With all the hype and good praise of this game I went ahead and bought, oh dear, it is a very mediocre game which although looks like an episode of South Park a good game it is not, the game play is slow an tedious in the battle sequence and I just don't care or feel like I have achieved anything at the end of battle in other words if they had taken the fighting out of...
Published 13 months ago by David Henshaw


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quiet Little Redneck Mountain Town, 14 Mar. 2014
This review is from: South Park: The Stick of Truth (PS3) (Video Game)
Right so here goes my 1st proper review, by this I mean actually going into detail:

South Park: Stick of Truth, I bought it for PS3 (not from Amazon) and was playing it all last weekend, it's a very well made game with lots of South Park references along with iconic RPG references too. However there haven't been much detail on the actual gameplay in reviews I've read so I'm going to focus more on that rather than tell people how much it looks like the show.

So we begin the game as our own designed 'new kid' as with many games getting to create your own character, most stuff can be changed; skin tone, hair, makeup, clothes etc. You remain as 'new kid' until you meet with one of the game/shows main characters where you obtain a title. Your appearance is fully customizable throughout the game (with exception of skin tone)

After this you can pick one of 4 classes Fighter, Mage, Thief or Jew. All have different special abilities, and do obtain unique equipment, I personally selected Thief which does have some cool status inflicting abilities, also I quite liked the hooded top which comes with the class.

Once you've sorted all this it's time to learn about combat, I thought it was a pretty good combat system with the timed attacks keeping you switched on either allowing you to deal more damage or receive less damage. Also you're able to use an item and either attack, use an ability or summon once per turn - this means you don't have to rely on one support/healer character. Battles completely depend on upgrading your characters equipment throughout a new weapon or piece of armour makes all the difference.

Now you've learnt about combat you get your first proper quest and get to start exploring South Park, which is pretty cool as they've managed to fit loads of the show into the game. During exploring you get to search characters houses along with other key locations for equipment, loot and other collectables. In addition to this you get to speak with characters and complete side quests for extra loot, friends, summons and EXP.

The games friend system is quite simple, basically make friends with the residents some by simply talking to them, some by doing quests. Achieve a certain number of friends and receive a 'perk point' to spend on a perk that will assist you in battle. Each time you level up you also get an ability point to upgrade your in battle abilities.

Throughout the game you also get to pair up with one of 6 'buddies' to fight alongside with, all have very unique abilities inside & out of battle.

That is pretty much the game, I don't want to give away any details of the story as it is most definitely an experience that any South Park fan should have. Listed a few pros & cons below.

Pro's
Great graphics, hilarious story, tongue in cheek references, 'celebrity' cameos, good amount of character customisation (could be better however) good battle & 3 different difficulty settings

Con's
Short game, all classes can equip the same equipment (excluding the unique items) low level cap, character strength increases too quickly (making some of the later on bosses really easy) limited number of abilities and upgrades to them.

I've given the review a 4 star, but it's more like a 4.5 really. If you're a fan of the show at all it's a must play, for those of you bothered about the 'censor' screens on the EU version, don't worry about it as it doesn't affect gameplay at all. Hope this is useful, happy gaming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant for South Park fans but not for the easily offended, 14 April 2014
By 
M. Thornton (Swansea, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Park: The Stick of Truth (PS3) (Video Game)
This is a role playing game based on the South Park series which loosely continues the concept of the "Black Friday" trilogy of episodes in S17 i.e. the kids are playing an elaborate role playing game. You play the role of a new kid in town following a series of quests which allow you explore the town and talk to pretty much all the characters from the show.

The game is fairly straightforward: the combat system took a bit of getting used to but once I got the hang of it I had no problems, and the puzzle solutions are never too difficult to find. You can explore the town and go on side quests as well as continue with the main story. The gameplay is pretty much the same throughout and the fighting gets a bit easy towards the end but I enjoyed playing it just to see how the story unfolded. I have the European version so a few small parts of the game were censored but I didn't feel it was a huge loss and the text on the 'censored' screens was quite funny.

What I loved about the game was how true it was to the show. The characters are perfect, from the dialogue to the voices, and there are so many small details and references to episodes of the show. You do not have to be a skilled gamer to enjoy it. It is funny and entertaining throughout.

One word of warning: parts of the game - even with the censorship - are just as extreme as the show can be in terms of being crass and tasteless. I am not easily offended and took it in the spirit in which it was intended but this is NOT a game for kids or for playing when you have anyone remotely sensitive with you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One big episode of South Park, 7 Mar. 2014
By 
J. P. Ellison "jpellison" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: South Park: The Stick of Truth (PS3) (Video Game)
As a South Park fan, this game is exactly what I've been waiting for. It looks and feels EXACTLY like the show, and Parker & Stone have been heavily involved from the get-go, so the writing and voice-acting is very much up to scratch.

You start off by designing your own character, the "new kid", and learning how to battle in typical South Park fashion, with Cartman as your guide. The battle system is straight forward - the game is very much a turn-based RPG, and reminded me of Paper Mario or Costume Quest. It's simple enough, but there's plenty of items to collect, loads of sides-quests and an incredibly detailed town to explore.

The game is incredibly funny, too. South Park has never been just toilet humour. The gross-out, over the top, "shocking" stuff is there, but that's not what makes South Park great. Stick of Truth is overloaded with parody, and I particularly enjoyed the tongue-in-cheek digs at various video-game tropes. In the console version there are certain elements that are censored, but I feel like I might have enjoyed the tongue-in-cheek "censored" screens more than the over-the-top stuff, and certainly don't feel I missed anything important.

If you don't like South Park, you should probably stay away. But if you're a fan, I would urge you to pick this game up, even if you're not normally one for turn-base RPGs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars drugs are bad, alcohol is bad, this game is great ummkay!, 29 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Park: The Stick of Truth (PS3) (Video Game)
How you rate this game will depend on if you liked/watched the tv series but as you can see from my rating I was a big fan of the show and with the creators heavily involved with the game it was sure to be great, the plot is absurd but hilarious and in my opinion it is the funniest video game made to this day, the combat is not very complex but that didn't bother me as I was too busy laughing at the attack names and visuals, the soundtrack includes some classics from the show and some new music all of which had me in stitches, my only complaint was the material they didn't include in the game such as towelie, saddam Hussein and the paris Hilton song but maybe they will put it in the upcoming game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Epic! but with missing and censored scenes, 12 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Park: The Stick of Truth (PS3) (Video Game)
The game is hilarious. The only issue I had was that a few scenes in the game have been censored for some reason. The game has an 18 certificate and screams south park and we all know what their style of comedy is like, but apparently that is not enough, this game is brilliant but that shocking moment where you are actually have a giant page appear again and again blocking the content is just annoying and once you have finished the game you will find that the parts of the game censored weren't the most offensive or disturbing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what i wanted, 11 Mar. 2014
By 
Mr. William J. Richardson "Will" (Alnwick, N'Land, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Park: The Stick of Truth (PS3) (Video Game)
Fan since it first aired and also a fan of RPG games. Love it, detail is incredible. Carries on from the boys' quest which begins season 17 ep 7
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great feel of South Park, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Park: The Stick of Truth (PS3) (Video Game)
Manages to perfectly represent the great fun of South Park in a game with fun and exciting combat and class systems. The only reason I don't think of this as a five star game is because it is far too short and the level cap is a bit too low. The good thing about this game is that each class is so different that it is worth replaying this game a few times just to experience each class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BUY BUY BUY BUY ITTTTTT, 7 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Park: The Stick of Truth (PS3) (Video Game)
ABSOLUTELY AMAZING game! Feels like you're playing through an episode of South Park! Voices all the same, lines are epic! Backing music is what you'd expect of a South Park rpg! One of the most enjoyable games I've played all year. Only problems id say this game has is that it ended too soon and that the level cap came on before I expected! Otherwise, a fantastic purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Interactive Episode!, 5 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Park: The Stick of Truth (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is brilliant m'kay. Short but sweet with a brilliant and absolutely funny story making you genuinely laugh. The combat is fun but easy so turn the difficulty to the highest. The graphics look like an episode, all of the characters are there with acknowledgement to characters that aren't, collectibles such as Chinpokomon. And just so much more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great game let down by building boredom, 10 May 2014
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Park: The Stick of Truth (PS3) (Video Game)
The Stick of Truth is so good in many ways, but is ultimately bogged down by very repetitive gameplay and longs spells between excitement. I hate to complain about a game so imaginative and cute, but it did become an issue with me the more and more I played through it.

You play as a new kid in town, customizable to your discretion, who makes friends with the South Park gang and becomes involved in their fantasy role-playing games when the precious Stick of Truth is stolen from Cartman. A terrifying plot involving aliens, anal probes, zombie Nazis, abortion clinics, and ManBearPig himself, plus many side-quests make up the lengthy adventure which is a hilarious parody of fantasy RPGs, while being a decent RPG in its own right at the same time (but also retaining many of the flaws of the genre).

The voice acting by Trey Parker and Matt Stone is, as expected, brilliant, as well as their cute animation style, and their humor which alternates between satirical and grotesque permeates every scene. You really will feel like you are controlling an actual episode of South Park. Nods to 16-bit RPGs during the Canada scenes will appeal to older gamers too.

The downside is that there is not enough variation during the short campaign in regards to weapons, armor, and power-ups. The battles eventually become redundant as the XP levels are capped at level 15. Many of the trophies will require multiple play-throughs, and some are even locked-out once the main campaign is over. Bad choices there from the developers.

It's worth playing through once, and will appeal to all fans of the show, but boredom will set in at around the halfway mark and you'll probably be somewhat disappointed with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

South Park: The Stick of Truth (PS3)
South Park: The Stick of Truth (PS3) by Ubisoft (PlayStation 3)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews