Customer Reviews


344 Reviews
5 star:
 (184)
4 star:
 (72)
3 star:
 (40)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 74 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The game Gran Turismo 5 should have been!
The Gran Turismo game series has always been a favourite of mine. Gran Turismo 5, whilst graphically accomplished, was fussy at times, bogged down by long loading times and a poor interface. To my surprise and utmost delight, Gran Turismo 6 has been released on the PS3. Gran Turismo 6 is a vast improvement on it's predecessor, but it is still bogged down by a number of...
Published 12 months ago by SJB747

versus
28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Gran Turismo 6: An extremely disappointing, bugged/glitchy addition to an once great franchise
Just got this for my birthday and was excited to jump into another GT game. After the disappointment of GT5, and the high praise GT6 has received last year from gaming websites, I was expecting a fantastic game.

It's very mediocre. The game has loads of annoying design decisions, bad glitches and game breaking bugs, which have ruined the overall experience...
Published 8 months ago by M Thompson


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

67 of 74 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The game Gran Turismo 5 should have been!, 11 Dec 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gran Turismo 6 (PS3) (Video Game)
The Gran Turismo game series has always been a favourite of mine. Gran Turismo 5, whilst graphically accomplished, was fussy at times, bogged down by long loading times and a poor interface. To my surprise and utmost delight, Gran Turismo 6 has been released on the PS3. Gran Turismo 6 is a vast improvement on it's predecessor, but it is still bogged down by a number of niggles.

To start with, the graphics are unbelievably stunning. The attention to detail has vastly improved over GT5 and the cars are spot on. The handling physics have also had a major reworking, making the game more realistic and more fun. Throwing cars around corners at high speed has never been this fun and once you've mastered the cars you buy and get to really 'know' the cars, you can become the perfect driver... almost. The selection of cars is extensive. Many reviews have highlighted and criticised the fact that GT6 still contains 800 or so cars which are merely Gran Turismo 4 cars from the PS2 that have been graphically upgraded a little. I don't think this is a key issue. The more cars the better. The main problem which has bugged GT5 and GT6 is that the new catalogue of cars that are added each time are relatively small, essentially only 120 new cars for GT6. I hope they keep adding the old cars to each new Gran Turismo but they really need to increase the number of new cars with each release. However, GT6 really excels in the variety of tracks that it offers. There are a lot of new tracks with this game, each of which is masterfully re-created for the game. Gran Turismo 6 really is the king of racing games when it comes the number of tracks provided and how entertaining they are, both on the real world tracks and 'original' tracks that have created for Gran Turismo.

Gran Turismo 6 does get a lot right. However, there are a number of issues that do affect the overall enjoyment of this game. I'll point out the standard issues most reviews have pointed out regarding sound quality and collision damage. To be fair, those issues have plagued the GT series for 15 years, but they are small oversights in a game as masterful as GT6. My biggest gripe however, is the unbelievably appalling A.I. in the Career Mode. I have never known the A.I. to be as bad in any other Gran Turismo game. Case in point, racing in a Dodge Charger SRT8 and somehow I managed to beat a Ford GT, Dodge Viper and Chevrolet Corvette on the Laguna Seca raceway. Whilst I'd like to think it was my skilled driving that made me win, it is a scenario that in the real racing world would just never happen. The game is not challenging enough, and that is a let down.

So overall, no game on the PS3 is as beautiful as this in terms of graphics, nor as realistic in terms of the driving physics. Putting to one side the A.I. cars that you seem to pass with ease no matter what car you drive, there are few games that are as fun as GT6 when you flinging cars around corners at ridiculous speeds and pulling it off perfectly. The online section does resolve the A.I. issues and perhaps that is the way games are going. However, the career mode is an important element of Gran Turismo and it is not challenging enough in the races. On balance though, GT6 is still a cracking game and is unmatched in the quality of graphics, racing physics and the number of cars and tracks it offers gamers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grand Prix, 17 Nov 2014
This review is from: Gran Turismo 6 (PS3) (Video Game)
This is my first Gran Turismo game, so I am not going to compare it with the previous games in the series. Gran Turismo 6 is quite exciting by itself. The graphics is awesome and the racing mechanics is as close to fast driving as I can tell. I was especially impressed by the playback after each race, which is presented as a well-edited video, with constant changing camera angles and cut-in/cut-out effect.

The player is first given a Honda Fit at the beginning of the game. He earns credits as he wins or completes races, which he can use to upgrade the various components of the car, or to purchase a more powerful car.

Many types of races are offered: Online Mode in which players race each other, Arcade Mode in which the player races AI drivers or his buddy in the same room, and the single player Career Mode in which the player progresses from Novice through the Nationals and the Internationals to the Red Bull X Challenge, as he earns his racing licenses through a series of driving tests. As the player becomes more experienced, special racing events are offered.

To do the game justice, the player needs a decent racing wheel. The standard PS3 controller simply doesn't cut it. There is the Logitech G27. It is an excellent wheel for the PS3. Unfortunately, it is NOT compatible with the PS4, which offers exciting new racing games like DriveClub and Project CARS. For wheels compatible with both PS3 and PS4, there are the entry-level Thrustmaster T80RS and the high-end T300RS (See Note). Many players are disappointed with the T80RS because it doesn't have force feed-back, but the price is reasonable.

One additional thing I like to mention is the background music of the game - I hate it. But fortunately, the game offers the player option to replace it, which I did with the soundtrack of the 1966 film Grand Prix. What is more fitting for an auto-racing game like Gran Turismo 6 than that?

Note: According to what I read, the T500RS, released for PS3 over three years ago, is supported in DriveClub and will be in Project CARS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Gran Turismo 6: An extremely disappointing, bugged/glitchy addition to an once great franchise, 20 April 2014
By 
M Thompson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gran Turismo 6 (PS3) (Video Game)
Just got this for my birthday and was excited to jump into another GT game. After the disappointment of GT5, and the high praise GT6 has received last year from gaming websites, I was expecting a fantastic game.

It's very mediocre. The game has loads of annoying design decisions, bad glitches and game breaking bugs, which have ruined the overall experience for me.

On the surface, GT6 has everything that you'd want from a racing game. There are 1,207 cars and 29 circuits. The vast majority of cars in GT6 date back to its PS2 days, cars like the Subaru 22B. There is no interior, you can't flash your headlights, reverse lights don't work, edges are rough. It doesn't even look good for a PS2. That also means that even though there are 1,207 cars, a lot of them are derivatives, and some key cars are still missing. No Ferrari, Lamborghini's etc. In a weird twist, GT6 no longer separates standard and premium cars on the dealership screens. This can lead to spending your hard-earned credits on a new ride, only to get onto the circuit and find that it looks jagged and blurry next to the other pristine 'premium' cars. If you didn't like the gulf in standards between the cars on GT5, and play exclusively in cockpit mode, then you won't be impressed with GT6. The switching to a standard car destroys the immersion first and foremost, and just makes the game feel very inconsistent and jarring to play.

If you want to build up a big car collection, you're going to need either a lot of spare time or a lot of spare cash. GT6 is designed to reward its most dedicated fans by keeping the very best cars exclusive. Classic racing cars have high credit price tags, meaning that you're going to have to grind out a lot of career events to afford them. In GT5, you could get around this by taking part in the weekly updated seasonal events, which differed little from Career races but offered massive payouts, sometimes upward of half a million credits. In GT6, the first batch of seasonal events offer a top prize of only 12,500 credits. This leaves the newly introduced micro transactions as the only option for busy players to acquire the best cars. Which is ridiculous.

One million credits cost £7.99, but the most expensive cars in the game are worth around 20 million credits, costing upward of £100 in real money. Spending real money is entirely optional, and you have to actively go looking for the store to do so, but the choice to add micro transactions instead of addressing the grind is extremely infuriating.

Thankfully, one of the few things GT6 does right is in it's tracks. Some of the new course models are gorgeous. Willow Springs, for example when caught in the right light and angle, looks like a live film of the track. From West Sussex to the Moon, and seemingly everywhere in-between. Gran Turismo 6's tracklist is staggering in its scope, and quite possibly the most complete ever seen in a driving game.

But in some areas the game seems to have trouble rendering everything on screen at once, with some graphical pop in issues and really bad screen tearing on some tracks. I have noticed spectators and textures on things suddenly appearing, and the shadows on the environment seem to have this weird flickering issue especially on stages where there are day-night cycles. Rain effects are disappointing too, with water falling from the sky in jagged lines, and spray from cars looking like a decal glued to the back of each vehicle.

Night racing, on the other hand, is spectacular, with gorgeous lighting and detailed star-filled skies. There is, however, an unfortunate side effect to the entire simulation: the frame rate. It's stable most of the time, but it suffers on some of the more detailed courses, and load times are inconsistent too. All of this takes away from the driving experience as it's a constant distraction. But that's Gran Turismo 6, an intermittent gorgeous game that can simultaneously excite and infuriate you.

GT6 takes another bizarre turn in the game's Special Events. These side missions place you in specific cars and locations with unique tasks. My favorite of these is the Goodwood Hill Climb, which puts you behind the wheel of a variety of classic cars at this famous British motorsport festival, and is a neat bit of nostalgic fun. At the other end of the spectrum is the very gimmicky lunar exploration task. In this event, you drive supposedly accurate lunar rover missions from the 1970s. These are slow, tedious events that are only remarkable for the setting and the fleeting novelty of driving in low gravity.

Menus seem to have taken a step back. In license tests (yes, they still exist), you can't go from one event to another in that menu. You have to go back a layer and then select the next step. It's the same in other challenges too. Add in additional loading times (which aren't particularly fast), and a mistaken press of a button can make you mad enough to turn the game right off. Loading times do decrease as you play on, but at the beginning, when you're retrying things over and over, that's when it gets the most infuriating.

Physics are distinctly different from car to car, with a different driving style required to get the best out of each one. But the engine audio is pretty poor as powerful super-cars still sound like lawnmowers and hairdryers.

A.I drivers are better than GT5 but still way off from perfect, and nowhere near to making you feel immersed as a competing racing driver. Opponents adhere to a rigid racing line, behaving more like slot cars than real racers. They show almost no awareness of either you or the other AI drivers, clumsily turning into other cars, stamping on the brakes way too early, and failing to power out of corners. And the persistent rubber-banding is quite bad too, almost comical. On too many occasions you'll enter the last lap six or seven seconds adrift of the leader, only to miraculously catch up and claim the position on the last corner. It just feels very boring and lifeless.

If you want some competitive racing, you need to head into the online lobbies. Multiplayer racing can be a minefield at the best of times, and GT6 similarly makes getting into a race an awkward process. The 'Quick Match' option barely works, meaning that the only way to race is to scour pages and pages of custom lobbies until you find one that you like.

Users can flag events as racing for fun, for realism, or for drifting, but that's about as helpful as it gets. Icons show you whether a lobby restricts assists or car performance, but there's nothing to tell you which assists will be locked out, or exactly how car performance is restricted. You're left with no choice but to connect to a game and hope for the best. This is yet another area where Polyphony Digital promised big changes from GT5 but has failed to deliver.

The rest of the presentation is pure Gran Turismo, for better and for worse. The music is the usual mixture of lounge jazz and heavy metal, and none of the game is voiced, so you read a lot of text tutorials in the early going. Other areas have been given a bit more attention. Races are introduced with some cool TV-style graphics with details about weather conditions, temperatures, and starting grids, which creates a nice sense of atmosphere that has been missing from previous GT games.

Damage, on the other hand, has not been changed at all since GT5. The vast majority of cars show barely any damage. Even 100mph head-on collisions cause only tiny dents and scrapes, and they have no impact on car handling or performance.

Car engines and impact sounds are disappointingly weak for a game which pride's it's self on being a "Real Driving Simulator". You would swear that your high powered Lancia Integrale was being powered by an ASDA electric hairdryer. When you have a 3rd party 2007 PS3 game like Colin Mcrae Dirt, which has amazing throaty car engine sounds, why can't a high profile 1st party 2013 release, like GT6 do the same? Some cars sound better than others, but the same can't be said for all of the the collision sound effects. They're awful. It sounds like they recorded somebody banging on some plasterboard for when you crash into another car, or smash into a wall at high speed. It's just painfully bland and ruins the immersion in an already lackluster game.

And finally the game breaking bugs and glitches:

*While playing the International B Historic Car Race Cup, on race 2 the Nurburgring wouldn't load after crashing my console a few times.

*Engine sounds that keep cutting out for no reason.

*The audio output track is off, I'm currently using 2-channel since the 5.1 and 7.1 outputs have ALL the car sounds coming out of my rear 2 speakers regardless of camera position. I expect the exhaust sound to come from the rear speakers when on most views but not the third-person view. I'm also getting no Engine sounds from the front speakers like I should when the motor is in from of the driver.

*On the last endurance race, Le Mans. I started the race on RS tires and can do the first three laps and my tires do NOT wear at all, perfect 10's all the way around. The only reason why I have to pit is to fuel my car on lap 3, but once I come back out of the pits, supposedly a fresh set of RS's, the car skates all over the place, it feels like I've got SS tires on. I lost the first race I tried because I had to pit an extra time due to the tire wear, the second race I did I put RH's on after the first pit stop and it was even worse. I could hear my tires screeching the ENTIRE length of the long back stretches.

*The screen froze when "Congratulations" message popped up after completing all National B licenses. Had to restart game.

*1995, 1998 and 1999 Honda Integra Type-R dashboard, steering wheel, hands are black / not displaying in dashboard view.

*Playing with a Logitech Driving Force GT wheel, and the L1/R1 paddle shifters do not seem to work as L1 or R1. In a race they shift gears fine, but in menus that say that L1 or R1 are supposed to do something, clicking the paddles does nothing.

*When racing at Daytona, Rolling Starts & Double File Rolling Starts both start me out in the middle of the Infield (center of Daytona Logo out in the grass).

*I was playing the Night races on Matterhorn track. It is a 3 lap race. I was driving the 15th Anniversary 86 GT. I was winning from the lap 2 in the 1st place. At the end of Lap 3, I crossed the finishing line, the race continued and I'm back at 10th position, having to do 3rd lap again.

*Having crashes/lockups. Usually exiting photo travel and photo mode. Have to shut down, restart twice then re-insert disc afterwards for ps3 to read disc. This has happened multiple times.

*The flashing gear indicator is incorrect it tells me to be in a gear lower then I should be. Example: The gear adviser suggests 2nd however if I was to be in second gear I need to immediately up shift due to being out of my power band.

*I played for 4+ hours finished Novice, and National B, inc Licenses, and moon and Goodwood, and the 3 seasonal Events,
But when I reloaded GT6, the My Home screen said my current car was last car I drove, but was unable to open garage and I did not have any cars. I opened the license events, no stars. *MY ONLY OPTION IS TO GO BACK TO THE BEGINNING* No awards, but, I have 23 races logged, 2 wins, all my money, 350 miles logged, 4.1 hours of driving in the Stats Section. Again, can't do anything without unlocking. But everything was unlocked. And shown as such. But the stars are just not there.

Overall Gran Turismo 6 is a barely competent racing game bogged down with many issues and micro transactions that ruin this latest entry. It feels incredibly dated and infuriating to play at times. It's largely the same game that it has been for years, with the added benefit that most of the really interesting new features will come at some indeterminate time in the future via patches. The series has fallen a long way, or perhaps it's more that it hasn't really moved that much and the rest of the world has passed it by. And the fact that it still uses assets from GT4, a 2004 released game just goes to strengthen my point even further. It's really only saved by the sheer volume of content that it provides and the fact that there's no serious competition on the same console.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of the Same, 30 Aug 2014
This review is from: Gran Turismo 6 (PS3) (Video Game)
If you've played earlier versions of the GranTurismo franchise then don't expect any real surprises here. It's basically just more of the same with minor improvements to graphics, car handling, etc. and a new interface to make you feel less annoyed that you just shelled out more cash for essentially the same game.

Nevertheless this is a good version of the game in it's own right, and let's not forget it is a classic franchise so if you've not experienced Gran Turismo before, then I'd definitely recommend it. The one thing that does niggle me about this update though is that the need to use a wheel seems to have become more pronounced in this update. I've been playing the series for years and can usually run through all the licences getting golds with a normal controller. This time I needed to get the wheel out to get gold in some of the challenges which personally I found annoying... and if you're only a casual racer and don't own a steering wheel controller, this is probably a big minus.

Overall though, still a great game, just another evolution though, nothing to set the world on fire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for under £20, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gran Turismo 6 (PS3) (Video Game)
I have a copy of GT5 and would give it 5 Starts. I wasn't sure whether to buy GT6 as there were a lot of negative comments about it being unfinished.

Well, I decided to buy the game when the price had been reduced and got my copy for around £20. I prefer the new physics and game play compared to GT5 and the cars don't seem permanently fixed to the track, and it looks realistic when cornering.

On the down side, the overall presentation isn't on the same level as GT5. I miss a few features such as buying used cars (even though some people hated this). Also a simple feature when you would see your current car in a picturesque screen as a sort of screen saver seems to have been taken out.

I think that there are more changes from this game than FIFA 13 to FIFA 14 for example. I don't regret my purchase, and if you see this for under £20, I think it is worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's great but...., 3 April 2014
By 
Hodge (Darlington, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gran Turismo 6 (PS3) (Video Game)
I've bought every GT since the original, and i've enjoyed every one, but this was the first time i've really hesitated.
The 1st Gran Turismo was ground-breaking. The 2nd, brilliant. As it's moved up through the generations, the sounds and handling, and especially graphics have all greatly improved.
However, it's the same, and thats the tricky bit.
I love the games, but aside from some fairly minor new mini-games, this is GT1, but with a massive makeover.
The car list is huge, but is still heavily geared towards Japanese manufacturers, and with a few exceptions and updates, it's all the same cars. Though they look fantastic!
The tracks, again, look amazing, but they're basically the same as last time.
The gameplay is identical. Right down to my biggest bugbear. Every single race is the same. You start last, in a rolling start, and the other cars follow an exact racing-line in perfect formation, waiting for you to overtake them. Every race is basically a time-trial, with a few rolling roadblocks.

Conclusion very much depends on whether you bought GT5.
If you keep skipping a generation, these will be great games, but to someone thats had them all, i can't help but being slightly disappointed. If GT7 was only released on PS3, i think i'd give it a miss, but as it'll be on PS4, perhaps i should have given GT6 a miss....?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The upgrade process always fails. after two days im ..., 19 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gran Turismo 6 (PS3) (Video Game)
The upgrade process always fails. after two days im still unable to play it unless i play with the ps3 disconnected from the network so it cannot even find the patches.
It's time to buy an Xbox one and Forza motorsport.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The fans deserved this!, 31 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gran Turismo 6 (PS3) (Video Game)
I was very impressed with the game when I first tried it. I knew they messed a little bit with the driving engine and the suspension physics and although when reading or watching videos about it it looked just like GT5, when you first get a hold of the wheel/controller you feel like it's a totally new game. And it should be, because... it is.

I feel like it's the game GT fans deserved after some disappointment caused by GT5. Ok, the "standard" cars are still here, but they are a lot better to look at (still a black cockpit view) and don't get different treatment when buying one. The premium cars are as good looking as reality and they are even more this time.

The quantity of tracks is uncanny. I don't remember seeing so many in a racing game. You have a lot of things to do in career mode, not like GT5, and every week there are new races to complete, which basically means the game lasts forever (at least until GT7 comes out, which is going to take a while).

Also, it's a bargain. I bought it cheap, but now is even cheaper. Totally recommend it! It's the best GT in this generation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Game, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gran Turismo 6 (PS3) (Video Game)
Just got this game a few days ago, quite a good game; a lot of new features have been implemented in Gran Turismo 6 and it has been vastly improved when it's compared to it's predecessor. The damage models and sound effects might be a bit of a let down, but the cars look great and the UI has been vastly improved. I highly recommend it for anyone who's a fan of the Gran Turismo series and/or enjoys racing games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why did they bother,GT5 was spot on!, 18 May 2014
By 
Mr. Robert H. E. Hare (Nottingham ,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gran Turismo 6 (PS3) (Video Game)
The whole format is poor,you may have more premium cars but you are not in control of your own path, Logic GT wheel does not work fully,Polyphony why,why,why, (MONEY MONEY MONEY)??!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gran Turismo 6 (PS3)
Gran Turismo 6 (PS3) by Sony (PlayStation 3)
£17.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews