Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A definite purchase for fans but not for for the faint-hearted unbeliever
I'll start this review with a warning - if you're a parent looking to see if this game is suitable for a young child or a sensitive and easily offended soul unfamiliar with the TV show then this is one to avoid. People who approach the game unprepared will likely find themselves offended by the crude humour and coarse language Matt Stone and Trey Parker have made the...
Published 8 months ago by Honest Chap's Reviews

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars hideeyho everyone
it is an ok game. lots of injokes so if you don't watch the show most of it will go over your head. warning for parents, this is not a game for kids. the language is sometimes shocking and situations a very adult.
Published 4 months ago by Martin Loughlin


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A definite purchase for fans but not for for the faint-hearted unbeliever, 20 Mar 2014
This review is from: South Park: The Stick of Truth (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I'll start this review with a warning - if you're a parent looking to see if this game is suitable for a young child or a sensitive and easily offended soul unfamiliar with the TV show then this is one to avoid. People who approach the game unprepared will likely find themselves offended by the crude humour and coarse language Matt Stone and Trey Parker have made the cornerstone of their franchise. There are a multitude of adult themes and many groups are discriminated against including Jews, diabetics and gingers.

If you do follow the TV show then this information won't come as a shock to you. South Park fans will love The Stick of Truth as it follows closely to what makes the TV series so popular. The graphics are a perfect representation of how the TV show looks and you'll feel as if you have dropped right into the middle of an actual episode. All of the characters you've come to know and love have a part in the game somewhere, be it as playable characters, enemies or powerful summons. The amount of additional fan service is incredible - the entire town is here to explore and you can transform your character using a multitude of accessories (such as my favourite, chinballs) that have all appeared in the show itself at some point.

You control 'the new kid' - a recently arrived resident of South Park - as he familiarises himself with his new hometown. Soon you are drawn into an epic battle involving Cartman's human faction and Kyle's Elven band. Both groups vie for the Stick of Truth, a powerful item that bestows upon the wielder incredible (imaginary) powers. Soon the story escalates and the factions have some difficult choices to make in order to save the world from (imagined) destruction.

The Stick of Truth is a turn-based RPG. The player encounters enemies across the map and has the opportunity to engage in battle or run away if they so choose. Hitting an enemy on the map enables the player's team to attack first, being hit forces you to wait a turn before making a move. Each side then takes turns to attack one another until one team remains - much like the older Final Fantasy titles only more simplistic. Battles are fun, with some humorous sound bites and unusual options to choose from (magic is replaced by farts, for example) but they are very easy. Often your attacks are way over-powered and at the beginning of the game, if you discover certain weapons and enhancement patches, enemies can routinely be killed with one hit. As you progress, powerful summons with hilarious attack animations can also be unlocked which enable you to destroy all enemies on screen with a simple click of the mouse. This does nothing to make the game any more challenging.

The game allows the player to take two weapons into battle - one melee and one ranged. Enemies often enter riposte or reflect stances which nullify either ranged or melee attacks which adds a simple strategic element to the game. Once you select an attack you are given the chance to click the mouse or press a keyboard button at a specific time in order to increase the damage or efficiency of your attack. Conversely, when being attacked you are given a small window of time in order to click to block enemy attacks. Failure to do so will leave you open to higher damage and under the effects of numerous status ailments.

You can equip a number of clothing items in order to strengthen your character's defence and attack. Further buffs can be attached to these weapons and items that improve your character or inflict massively powerful negative status effects on your foes (gross out, bleeding, burning, etc). You are also accompanied by a sidekick who has their own unique set of attacks, magic and benefits. Butters has a Professor Chaos attack, Kenny has an option to sacrifice himself in order to inflict great damage upon his enemies. Memorable summon characters can also be utilised which clear away all enemies in one fell swoop. These include Mr Hankey drowning baddies in a wave of poo, Jesus mowing down enemies with an automatic weapon and Mr Slave, erm... well, forcing foes where the sun don't shine.

The player can power themselves up even further by gaining experience and levelling up. This experience is gained from winning battles and completing certain sidequests for the residents of the town. Once the quests are complete, the person who set them for you will become your friend on Facebook and collecting more friends allows you to unlock additional perks which again boost your character's stats.

As well as being a very easy game the PC version does have a few other negatives that need to be mentioned. The controls are set as W, A, S and D to navigate and there is no option available to change them. I'm no huge fan of this control method and I often found myself frustrated and hitting the wrong direction key near the beginning of the game. Plug-and-play joypads can be used to counteract this, but as I don't have a plug-and-play PC joypad in order to circumvent the problem I had to resort to installing my PS3 pad (with much hassle) to the computer and using a program called xPadder to map my keyboard and mouse buttons to the pad. This hassle would have been avoided if the programmers had just implemented an option screen that allowed the user to set the controls to their own preference - something which most PC developers do include. At one point, in a 'dance' section with some goth kids, a different control method is briefly implemented (using the arrow keys) without any indication of the change. This poor implementation led to massive frustration on my part and I only figured out why I was failing by searching a Stick of Truth help forum online.

Game length is another issue. For an RPG the game is really rather short. I clocked in a finished save file at around 11 hours with all (or most) sidequests completed. I'm not sure if DLC is planned to lengthen the game, but I felt there could have been a little more game here regardless.

Despite the aforementioned problems The Stick of Truth is still a worthwhile purchase - for any ardent South Park fan the choice is a no brainer. The trademark near-the-knuckle humour of the TV show is fully evident here and the story is engaging and fun. If you play a lot of games you'll also be tickled by the constant mockery of and reference to archetypal gaming clichés and famous catchphrases. Should you plump for it and get the game your time in South Park will be an enjoyable but brief laughfest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I wanted, the truly uncut version, 22 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Park: The Stick of Truth (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Since I am from a german speaking country in the center of the European Union, I somehow had to tackle that censorship issue with "The Stick of Truth". Given that you seemingly need to use a US VPN gateway to activate the game on Steam if it's imported from the USA, I didn't wanna go down that road. Too much hassle.

Now, all German versions are cut, no matter if you buy it on Steam with a corresponding "tainted" IP address or in the store to activate it on Steam later.

The solution comes in the form of the UK version. Steam doesn't complain about activation at all, and downloads the correct data files for the game, obviously from some UK servers or whatever. All without VPN or SSHing into some remote UK box!

Note that this only works for the PC naturally. But if you want the uncut version on PC, go UK! Just like with "The Witcher", that got cut for boobies in the US, and for violence pretty much everywhere else. I really hope the UK stays liberal like that for a little while longer, cause the news seem to suggest otherwise these days...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 9 Mar 2014
By 
S. A. Rutter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: South Park: The Stick of Truth (PC DVD) (Video Game)
South Park The Stick Of Truth, is everything I hoped for when anticipating this game many months ago. Never have I smiled and laughed so much while playing a game since 'Conkers Bad Fur Day'

You're literally playing a long episode of the cartoon. The look and feel of it is excellent, the humor is.. Well south park, not for the tender hearted but utterly hilarious for those who enjoy it.

But aside from humor, even the gameplay is rewarding. With a genuinely successful battle system that is not too complex (It takes a few goes to get used to the blocking aspect, but simple) a wide range of abilities and moves, make it a thinking game of which attacks are going to effect certain opponents.

You don't even need to have watched south park religiously. I hadn't watched south park since the movie, and i have been in hysterics since. You may obviously get some of the inside jokes, or perhaps the pictures in different characters houses that relate to a particular episode, other than that, newcomers will find this just as funny.

So just buy it! Mmkay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good game, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Park: The Stick of Truth (PC DVD) (Video Game)
game is fun but activating it in germany was hard to do .

every sp fan will love this game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best games ever, 16 Mar 2014
By 
Christopher Purce "Rittzy" (Belfast, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: South Park: The Stick of Truth (PC DVD) (Video Game)
This is one of the best games ever created. It was so funny every bit of the way through and actually turned out to be a really good game aswell!! Anyone who loves south park seriously needs to buy this game. Its just like one big long episode!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Park: The Stick of Truth (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Great Item, Great Price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Park: The Stick of Truth (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Smutty and brilliant, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Park: The Stick of Truth (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I have difficulty playing this game without giggling, it uses smutty schoolboy humour and I love it. The only downside is you have to mash keys occasionally and it gets a bit formulaic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Park: The Stick of Truth (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Package received in good time, item as described, very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Avoid if you're easily offended, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Park: The Stick of Truth (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I can't remember the last time a game made me laugh as much as South Park: The Stick of Truth. In fact, I'm pretty certain that no game has ever made me laugh so much.

You are basically buying a 16 hour long interactive episode of South Park, mixed in with some surprisingly deep RPG features. Customisation levels are fairly deep, there is a great deal of freedom to explore, and there are plenty of distractions and collectibles set aside from the main plot. It isn't the best RPG ever made, but it is the best comedy game ever made, bar none.

All this considered, it's still worth including the disclaimer that you really shouldn't play this if you're easily offended. If there are any particular issues or taboos that get your back up, there's a pretty good chance that you'll find them all somewhere within the journey you take through this magnificent game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

South Park: The Stick of Truth (PC DVD)
£11.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews