Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars194
3.9 out of 5 stars
Platform: PC|Edition: Includes Real Tone cable|Change
Price:£9.00 - £119.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 February 2014
This is a brilliant game that does teach you some great techniques for playing the guitar, however it does have a number of faults in not picking up what you are playing and not always tuning correctly
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2014
hey there!!!

the game is amazing is a shame that the real tone cable only work for a short period of time, like 2 days which i thing is not long enough to enjoy a game like Rocksmith!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2015
Did not work on my Windows 8 i7 laptop.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2015
Hard to get used to. My wife has played guitar for 30 yrs and found it really strange. Now, I can't get her off it. Give yourself time with this one, and you won't regret it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2014
This was a gift from my dad to my mum and she says its good but shes struggling to play it as she hasnt gotten near as fast as it has but she still has a laugh trying
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
This software is astonishing. I can't recommend it enough, for the novice and expert alike. If you play guitar or want to learn get this. It's the Mutt's nut's.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2015
Amazing game. Fun enough to keep your fingers on the guitar and constantly encouraging you to go one better means you'll be learning quickly. Really works.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2014
Excellent 'game'... This is really a great tuition program, if you are a budding guitarist then this is a must and a whole lot of fun at the same time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
Bought this with high hopes from all the rave supposed reviews but found the reality of the software to be way less than fun or adictive.

The hardware worked fine, I bought an extra cable to allow two user play mode and can easily record multi-track high def sound from both cables and stereo mic and sound card with no nasty artifacts.

I was not happy to have to create two extra accounts one for steam and the other for ubisoft uplay, as well as have to leave the computer downloading rocksmith 2014 from steam for ages... why bother shipping a dvd if it has to be downloaded in the end anyway?
On initial run it announced it is best to use only one real tone cable to avoid confusing the software!!!!

The pass-through audio from the real-tone cable was nasty and distorted much of the time with the defualt settings, I realise now that is because the software can only utilise a single CPU core so no matter how powerfull your cpu is rocksmith 2014 treats it as a single core pentium 3 or non-hyperthreaded pentium 4... ugh! This makes it far more sensative to CPU clock speed since one core has to do everything, including run steam and uplay in the background! In addition the software is incapable of benchmarking the installed hardware and detecting buffer over run and under run states with the direct-x buffers, and it does not offer an optimised experience based on the current systems ability to render the graphics and audio cleanly.

In its default state, with incorectly configured sound buffers, the so called precision tuner is completely useless and the program fails to spot the obvious lack of clean sine wave from the real-tone cable due to the bad settings and poor coding...

To add insult to injury they include by default a background sound track that constantly plays what sounds like the sound coming through an open window of a basement at a busy intersection... with no option to disable the pointless waste of resources, just a mixer slider to turn it down but not actually cease the stream altogether!

It claims to be a game, then it should be able to optimise its level of detail and usuage of resources including the use of multiple cpu cores and GPU core usage to provide the best experience. It is 2013, single threaded games especially ones heavily reliant on multi-media are a thing of last century windows 98 not multi core enabled NT based systems.

So many articles claim how RS 2014 is so quick at getting into playing.... well i must have missed something as there is what seems to be a laboriously long splash video that has no obvious way of being skipped that has to be endured every single time we start the program in addition to logging into steam and uplay... oh and so far ever time I have run the program it reports ubisoft servers are unavailable, which I have toacknowledge before it procedes to load.

I sincerely hope this so called pre-order version is merely a pre-release that will be significantly recoded and the underlying engine draged upto state of the art multi-processor coding and not an overloaded Y2K single threaded app.

I have spoken to ubisoft tech support and they were unaware of the cause of the distortion or the mystery roadside soundtrack..., they asked for dxdiag and msinfo32 exports and days later have still not pointed me towards how to manually tune the game for my system etc...

It is wrong to dismiss negative reviews and blame them on end users hardwre especially when the software is forced by defualt to be set for 3G+ CPU clock speed but incapable of using more than a single CPU core! The current edition is poorly designed and needs a greater level of skill at tweaking software settings to get it to work than playing a guitar!

I bought this for my sister to use, but because of the bad design and poor performance there is no way she could use it! It would have had to be able to just work out of the box and it clearly does not.
55 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2015
Really good fun for upstarting guitarists and people who have been playing for a while. Like guitar hero but for people who dont need to pretend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 15 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)