Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kelli Dayton's voice just melts my heart!
The beat, the subtle additions of one note sounds, the saucy way Kelli hits those highs, the "downtown" lyrics, combined with the guitar that make a statement of it's own backed by a bass that will rock your soul. All this mixed together that will definitely get you out on the dance floor.
Published on 11 Sept. 2001 by J.R. Sanford

versus
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Different than the one i use to own!
I use to own the original version back when it came out and loved it! Recently i wanted to own it again and read some reviews on the amazon page! One reviewer warned to get the original "circuit Board" '96 version (the one i had) as the new '99 release had remixed tracks. Well, i went and bought the circuit board covered version only to find out that this, too, has the...
Published on 11 May 2007 by J. O'neill


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Different than the one i use to own!, 11 May 2007
By 
J. O'neill "Music worm" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Becoming X (Audio CD)
I use to own the original version back when it came out and loved it! Recently i wanted to own it again and read some reviews on the amazon page! One reviewer warned to get the original "circuit Board" '96 version (the one i had) as the new '99 release had remixed tracks. Well, i went and bought the circuit board covered version only to find out that this, too, has the remixes on it! They're not bad, but not comparable to the original, and the track spin spin suga has been completely butchered with none of the samples that made the original so memorable!

Why has this happened?! I don't know! But i want the original!:(

So be warned, if you are looking for the original, don't just go with the circuit board cover!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kelli Dayton's voice just melts my heart!, 11 Sept. 2001
By 
J.R. Sanford (Portland, OR USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Becoming X (Audio CD)
The beat, the subtle additions of one note sounds, the saucy way Kelli hits those highs, the "downtown" lyrics, combined with the guitar that make a statement of it's own backed by a bass that will rock your soul. All this mixed together that will definitely get you out on the dance floor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Narcotic indolence and sweet chills!, 25 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Becoming X (Audio CD)
"Becoming X" is sweetly nasty,sexy,brutal but so utterly chilled you just fall into it`s arms."Spin Spin Sugar" is like some dark narcotic wave,"Post Modern Sleaze" is all babygirl breathy,"Wasted Early Sunday Morning" is sharp and clean as diamonds,"Tesko Suicide" has a cynical pout that I love and "Waterbaby" is soaked in whisky and crying at the kitchen table.This is a fine album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Inferior re-release, 22 Aug. 2006
By 
E. J. Dark "Beedark" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Becoming X (Audio CD)
The album 'Becoming X' is excellent, but this 1999 version is a re-release with different versions of '6 underground' and other tracks. Not sure if they were the single release versions, but it's the old, tired and unnecessary practise of adding 'rap vocals' and a different bass line to a superb original... Get the 1996/7 version with 'circuitboard' cover for the original and best sneaker pimps album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing quality, 29 July 2011
This review is from: Becoming X [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Far superior sound to my CD version of this album. High quality vinyl, just dissapointed that there are no pictures of the band on the inlay, I prefer the CD artwork. Great album, good to hear it in true form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars teenage dreams, 3 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Becoming X (MP3 Download)
Have loved this album since it first came out, brilliant sound and beautiful vocals. Happy memories of my teenage years:-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Becoming X (Audio CD)
very happy with this purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb mix of upbeat depression, 15 Feb. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Becoming X (Audio CD)
Not quite dance, not quite rock, this album is very hard to place in the music store. But whatever category it falls under, you have to bow down to its pure genius. Most people listen to it to get the sweet sweet vocals of "6 Underground", but there is so much more on there. I dont want to tell you too much about it, you should hear it for yourself...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clever Album - Great Chill Out Music, 8 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Becoming X (Audio CD)
Fantastic Album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True brilliance on a stick..., 19 Dec. 1999
This review is from: Becoming X (Audio CD)
...one of those albums you simply can't put down once it's in your player. From the deep bass of low place like home, to the happy trip hop of roll on, this is a tour de force of what could only be called "home made music", with the distortions only adding to the effect!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Becoming X
Becoming X by Sneaker Pimps
Buy MP3 Album£6.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews