Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flapper Raj. Great plot, great setting
This book wins for me on two scores. Firstly the fantastic evocation of 1920's India and secondly as a murder mystery. An excellent read thoroughly recommended
Published on 9 Nov 2007 by P. Masters

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as others in this series
Not as good as others in the series. For me the first in the series is far and away the best and somehow none of the others live up to it.
Published 12 months ago by Mrs. Kathleen A. Johnson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flapper Raj. Great plot, great setting, 9 Nov 2007
By 
P. Masters (Staffordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ragtime in Simla (Paperback)
This book wins for me on two scores. Firstly the fantastic evocation of 1920's India and secondly as a murder mystery. An excellent read thoroughly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like Agatha Christie, you'll sure like this..., 13 Nov 2007
By 
T. Ljubic-Brown (Cambridgeshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ragtime in Simla (Paperback)
Finally a great series of murder mysteries, this one set in colonial India in the 1920s. Great illustration of colonial and British army life with a likeable protagonist, Joe Sandilands, and all the right ingredients for a juicy murder mystery. If you enjoy Agatha Christie books, I am sure you'll like this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great read!, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ragtime in Simla (Kindle Edition)
Very evocative book set in 1920s India at the time of the Raj. The attention to detail is amazing. You can see that the author has done a lot research which has gone into making these books such a great read. The twists and turns of the plot make for a very exciting story which leaves you guessing right to the end. Will be reading all the books in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crush on Joe sandilands, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ragtime in Simla (Kindle Edition)
This is the third Barbara Cleverly novel I have read and I am enjoying every minute, I have been transported to far away lands with beautiful writing and I think that I am developing a crush on our British Bobby Joe Sandilands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loving this series., 28 Jun 2013
By 
opal (Uddingston, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ragtime in Simla (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoying this series of books set around India in the early 1900's. The characters are very well written and the descriptions what life would have been like in those days are enjoyable, although only if you had money! I an now reading the 3rd book in the series and have downloaded the next 2!. Yes, I think you can say I'm liking them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing and entertaining, 24 Jun 2013
This review is from: Ragtime in Simla (Kindle Edition)
Well written, good plot, convincing characterisation. I have read earlier novels by this author with this protagonist, and enjoyed them. This one is the best yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good detective story, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ragtime in Simla (Kindle Edition)
A great detective story from start to finish in the style of the old colonial period giving you an insight to the lifestyle in India
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Masterpiece by Barbara Cleverly, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ragtime in Simla (Kindle Edition)
A brilliant exciting book, why has it taken so long to be in kindle form. Hero Joe Sandilands is in top form and the plots are well worked out. Totally unexpected ending too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally engrossing, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ragtime in Simla (Kindle Edition)
The characters are enchanting, the plot exquisitely twisting and turning and the language beautifully descriptive. Utterly engaging, as Cleverly's stories always are.
Ragtime in Simla is a tale of murder, mystery, love and betrayal. Commander Joe Sandilands proves yet again to be a worthy match for the intriguing criminals he encounters and you feel as though you are almost there solving the mystery with him.
Loved it, can't wait to start the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joe Sandilands at his very best., 3 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ragtime in Simla (Kindle Edition)
Stand alone stories, full of atmosphere and mystery, a delightful and not too heavy read. Although this book two was late being offered and I had read other later ones, the story did not suffer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ragtime in Simla
Ragtime in Simla by Barbara Cleverly
£5.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews