Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars94
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
on 8 March 2000
Before the new version of Thomas Crown was released I thought I ought to see how it should have been, so I bought this. What a gem of a movie - did you know the original bank heist sceen was filmed with only five actors - everyone else there were members of the public who actually thought it was real ! This shows sixties cult filming at it's highest, well shot and excellent editing make this a film to own for all the right reasons.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
All the kudos usually goes to Bullit, released the same year, yet with this movie, McQueen, the King of Cool, comes of age as an actor, at the height of his power as the No.1 Box office Hollywood star. Commonly regarded by critics as a triumph of style over substance, Jewison crafted a movie for the age and drew from McQueen the kind of performance of which few thought him capable. True, Dunaway's outfits (and Burke's hats) do cement the movie pretty firmly into its time period but anyone coming new to this movie who wasn't around at the time it was made has ample compensation in the luminosity of the stars, the fabulous jazz inspired Michel Legrand soundtrack, a gem of a performance from Jack Weston, as Erwin, and the famous chess game scene.

Through the filter of McQueen's performance in the movie, picturing Brosnan as Crown in the recent remake is even more ludicrous than trying to picture Alec Baldwin as Doc McCoy: watch out for the scene in which Crown sets the 'ball rolling' by phoning up the members of the 'gang' he's hired to carry out the heist and then reflect on the observational skills of his detractors. His acting in this movie was matched only by that of his performances later in Papillon and the Getaway. Ultimately, the movie has stood the test of time and will continue to be watched long after DVDs of the Brosnan remake are gathering dust, deservedly, on the shelves of charity shops up and down the country.

Incidently, in direct contrast to The Cincinatti Kid and Bullitt, the Blu Ray transfer is not worth the upgrade: stick with the DVD and save the cash.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
on 11 April 2008
A wonderful performance. I loved first watching it 20 years ago. McQueen's charisma is unbeatable. They should never have bothered with the Brosnan remake.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
on 26 May 2001
A change of direction for Steve McQueen in this film playing a millionaire businessman who likes to plan bank robberies in his spare time.Shot in a unique way for its time Norman Jewison(In The Heat Of The Night) has made a remarkable film.McQueen and Dunaway are both great!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
Shot forty odd years ago, Steve McQueen and Faye Dunaway give us timeless performances in a dreamy film that is unique. I also have the much later remake with Pierce Brosnan and Rene Russo, which is also excellent, but so different as to almost (but not really) be a different story.

Comparing the two I think the first film just wins; it is more 'cool', the acting more restrained and yet more intense, and the direction more subtle. It is one of those films that one wants to restart and watch again!

The picture quality on my DVD copy is excellent apart from some grain and film dirt at the beginning especially in the aerial sequences. The Mono sound is OK considering the age, but I've heard much better from considerably older films and on the remake. The additional commentary by the director Normal Jewison is surprisingly interesting, and after selecting it by accident one wet afternoon we enjoyed his insight as well as the film.

This is an essential component in any movie buff's collection.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2014
For those of you who like sixties (1968) movies then this is one of the greatest. Obviously has the attire ,decor and surroundings of that era but a wonderful film. McQueen at his best. Coolest guy there was in films. This film epitomises how cool he was. Everbody wants to be Tommy Crown. There is no doubt. Fay Dunaway is brilliant also creating the cat and mouse game that they play. The theme song is one of the best to come from that era. One of my top 5.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 16 July 2014
The song The windmills of your mind on its own means 5 star The thrilling story is the cherry on top of the cake
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 23 April 2010
Having seen original film in 1968, wonderful to get DvD
version in good condition. I wanted music and colour to bring alive my old recollection and was very happy on all counts
From mail order despatch & follow-up tracking and receipt of product delivery I must commend Amazon on it's excellent service
Thank you so much!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 12 August 2009
Just having re watched it I can understand those who might think it is a little slow and lacking in action. These days all films have to be sped up and interspersed with plenty of action so as to satisfy the MTV generation. This was Steve Mc Queen at his coolest. The millionaire banker who plans and executes the prefect crime.

Bankers have a bad name at the moment but I notice that Fay Dunaway in 1968 had never ever heard of arbitrage and she mispronounced it even for an American.

Perhaps more women would have gone in to insurance if they thought it was exciting and you get to sleep with Steve McQueen.

Interestingly we know he dun it and she knows he dun it but he never cracks even though she is on to him. He does it because he can even though he knows he cannot spend the money .He doesn't care because he has plenty all ready. He just wants to prove how good he is.

The long seduction scene is great because in those days there was a lot less gratuitous sex so we had plenty of innuendo and great theme music.

The chess scene, the riding the dunes in the dune buggy and the gliding were all to show what a cool sexy bloke he was.

He offers a deal but you don't know if he is serious.

He tells her openly that he is planning another heist but she doesn't know about it until afterwards. He tells her where the money is going to be dumped.

I wont give away the ending.

A classic sixties film and a great performance by Steve McQueen as Kevin Costner said once he is just the bloke who knows. He doesn't need to have loads of dialogue. He tells it all in his look and by using as few words as possible.

We don't want to watch Steve Mc Queen we want to be him.

Cant recommend it highly enough.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 11 January 2011
A McQueen classic, and what a film! The epitome of Hollywood cool breezes thru this caper movie, persued by a delicious Faye Dunaway, in his own inimitable style! Great camera work, fantastic 60's suits, Barracuta G9's, desert boots and Noel Harrison's haunting theme song! cool baby!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

Le Mans [Blu-ray] [1971]
Le Mans [Blu-ray] [1971] by Steve McQueen (Blu-ray - 2011)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.