Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Quality Design Greenhouse
We have built this greenhouse.
First you need two people to complete it building is easy if you follow the superb instruction.
The greenhouse is made of high quality aluminium with Poly Carbon panels.
The design is first class, take your time putting it together this will save time later having to move pieces about.
When fitting glazing strips use...
Published 8 months ago by Lorraine

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars very difficult to erect.
Arrived promptly when agreed. Very fiddly and difficult to erect. Took 3days. Thought the panels would slot in but they have to be held in by dozens of clips. Then found a piece was missing. Quite a long winded way of getting missing item. Had to wait a week for it to arrive. Now it is functional but wish I had looked further into the actual erection. Having said all that...
Published 8 months ago by gill


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Quality Design Greenhouse, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Summer Garden Buildings 6X8 Greenhouse 01 - Free Base, Green Aluminium, Polycarbonate
We have built this greenhouse.
First you need two people to complete it building is easy if you follow the superb instruction.
The greenhouse is made of high quality aluminium with Poly Carbon panels.
The design is first class, take your time putting it together this will save time later having to move pieces about.
When fitting glazing strips use fairy liquid to slide Polly Carbon onto glazing strips.
The base is top quality and fits effortless to greenhouse with Hook over clips that bolt to the main frame.
We used concrete breeze type blocks that cost about 40p to sit greenhouse on and then Parra bolted to concrete blocks.
This green house is fitted with Ultraviolet Carbon Sheets they fit one way with white indicator sheets removable to show which way round the UV goes.
This greenhouse is very best I have had to use the seeds burst up in a few days it warm when cold outside and well ventilated for summer when erected it will last a life time.
Value for money is outstanding along with the design and build quality.
I rated this project 5 ***** star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait to get growing!!!, 13 May 2014
By 
Me M. Whittaker "Mike :)" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Summer Garden Buildings 6X8 Greenhouse 01 - Free Base, Green Aluminium, Polycarbonate
Finally got it assembled, took me 2 days in between dodging showers and strong gusts of wind, however I'm very pleased with the result, after checking all the parts off against the lists I laid all the parts on the lawn in their respective groups, A's B's C's etc.
you do have to read the instructions carefully, which to be honest are quite good once you get to grips with the fact that all diagrams show the inside, I managed to do it all on my own without much trouble, only part that was a little awkward was fitting the main roof bar.
I fitted the base to a flagged area that was already levelled, just had to drill and plug to secure ( gripe number one, the base bars have pre drilled holes for the corner fittings and have the been repainted, why can't they pre drill the holes for securing the base to the floor and paint? not a big problem but!!) to the flags, make sure it's square!!
Fitted the frame to the base, no problem, when I came to fit the side panels I had to loosen the frame in a couple of places to square the openings, had to do this a few times to get the glazing panel to fit correctly, once I'd done this though every other panel went in with no problem.
I must say that I'm very pleased with this greenhouse and I'm looking forward to many years of growing in it.
BUT!!! my main gripe and the reason I didn't give 5 stars is the bloody awful, cheap, nasty nuts and bolts!! why use alloy bolts on such an important part of the structure, I'm an engineer and so had access to replacement steel nuts and bolts, you could not possibly tighten the bolts securely without stripping the threads or worse, snapping them, and if you had to loosen one off for any reason the bolt had stretched and become thread bound, surely it can't be that much more expensive to supply steel nuts and bolts, that said I'm still pleased with the greenhouse itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars easy to build-or at least not as bad as i was expecting!, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Summer Garden Buildings 6X8 Greenhouse 01 - Free Base, Green Aluminium, Polycarbonate
Good product,arrived on time,good value for money,you could spend a lot more on not a better product
Im expecting 10yrs from this thing and as i live in an exposed location went for polycarb panels
quality is fine for what im growing in it(tomatoes and other veg)

Just be prepared to dig a base to anchor it down to......and concrete the sucker in place!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value, Easy Installation., 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Summer Garden Buildings 6X8 Greenhouse 01 - Free Base, Green Aluminium, Polycarbonate
This is the first greenhouse that my wife and I have owned and built. I was sceptical that, at the price it would be as good a quality that I was expecting. Firstly, the delivery was fast and the the company was excellent in communications, with a courtesy call to arrange and verify purchase. The construction of the greenhouse is of a good quality and the instructions were clear and easy to follow, with a couple of exceptions, which I will clarify later. The greenhouse was delivered by courier and comes in 3 packages, which is surprising as to how small the packages were to contain all the items for assembly, I actually questioned the courier as to whether they were all present.

Having limited space for assembly, but fortunate to not require any levelling of the base unit as it was to be fitted on an existing patio area, the assembly took a little planning as we were unable to lay it out as per the instructions. The base plinth, we spot drilled 12 locations (3 per side) and raw plug anchored the base (after the greenhouse was completed).

The individual parts are clearly identified by coloured stickers and the Item reference on them. (The addition of an extra sticker to indicate orientation would be better - IE Rear/Outward facing, Front/Inward Etc.) as a couple of the parts are orientation specific, mainly the corner uprights. I did however receive one of the 4 corner uprights that had not been drilled off (no holes) which caused some confusion initially. The securing fasteners are literally made of cheese, and will snap if you over tighten. Fortunately there were spare fasteners in the kit to cover the breakages.

The front and sides were a relatively simple task to construct and went together quite quickly. Withe the 4 sides up and resting on the base plinth the roof ridge was a simple addition, if you are 6ft like me, anyone not as tall would require steps tool to complete.

ROOF:-
The roof bars, again were a simple task, the vent was, however a different matter. To enable the vent to fit, I had to trim the lower polycarbonate sheet, as this was 1/2" too long to allow for the vent to close. In addition the vent catch when installed in the location stated did not allow the vent to rest on the weather seal when closed. To overcome this I shimmed out the closest latch holder with 2x10mm nuts and longer self tapping screws. This allowed the vent latch to pull the vent down onto the seal when closed.

WEATHER SEAL: -
The weather seal which has to be applied to all the glazed sections, before you start roll it on to a kitchen roll tube, or something of the like, this will stop it balling up when you are trying to fit it, as it becomes entangled very quickly. When applying do not be tempted to run your finger down it to seat it, pad it down as you feed it in, this will stop the shrink when it is in place, allowing to to glaze immediately after installation of the seal.

SPRING CLIPS -
My thumbs are still in recovery…. There are somewhere in the region of 240 of these to apply and once you get the hang of them are easy to install, with the help of some 90 Degree Snipe Nose Pliers or thumbs of steel. TIP: Hold the clip so that the two prong are uppermost with the retaining tang in between your thumb and forefinger. This way, no mater which piece you are glazing, they will always be in the correct orientation.

DOOR:-
The door seals can be tricky to insert, but soak them in warm water with lots of fairy liquid. Run fairy liquid down the door runners and they will slide in easily. (Ensure that the left hand glazing panel has been spring clipped prior to fitting the door as the seal obscures them)

With the greenhouse assembled on the plinth it was attached and tightened as per instructions, and total construction took 1.5 days with 1 person and a supportive coffee bringer and butty maker. The polycarbonate sheet is not as see through as the picture would have you believe and with just a couple of niggles. All in all an excellent product. Just been at the garden centre and one of similar look and size is retailing at £850!! Save your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Summer Garden Buildings 6X8 Greenhouse 01 - Free Base, Green Aluminium, Polycarbonate
Suprisingly sturdy, after assembly we had a weekend of very high winds for which the met office had issued warnings, I expected to see some of the plastic glazing blown out but it was intact. I had however used additional clips to hold the glazing in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bargain Item, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Summer Garden Buildings 6X8 Greenhouse 01 - Free Base, Green Aluminium, Polycarbonate
Great value for money, easy to assemble, does not seem to overheat too quickley with the type of polycarbonate supplied, plus no worries if you have kids or dogs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greenhouse instructions not always clear but got there in the end, 1 April 2014
By 
greenfingers "arwen" (Gloucestershire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Summer Garden Buildings 6X8 Greenhouse 01 - Free Base, Green Aluminium, Polycarbonate
Delivery was to schedule. Instructions needed some thinking about as most of the views are from inside the greenhouse but not all. Took 2 days. You are supposed to assemble the walls around the base and then construct the greenhouse and raise it on to the base but we don't have that much space so the walls were built indoors - only had one problem with the back wall bowing when we clipped it to the base - so undid nuts and had another go. You have to be careful with the nuts and bolts - do not tighten too much to avoid stripping the thread. Very pleased with result.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I would like to congratulate Guy at Summer Garden buildings for fantastic ..., 30 Oct 2014
This review is from: Summer Garden Buildings 6X8 Greenhouse 01 - Free Base, Green Aluminium, Polycarbonate
I would like to congratulate Guy at Summer Garden buildings for fantastic customer service- it is fair to say we had some difficulty whilst putting up the greenhouse and we rang him a couple of times for advice and guidance and he gave great practical advice and took great trouble to send us some close up pictures of tricky things- for example I had no idea how to put the spring glazing clips in and he sent me a photo.

As quite a novice it is fair to say we found putting it up quite tricky. My main tips would be:

don't forget to put the beading on the framework before you start the glazing- the instruction is the last thing in the guidance on the framework and I was so relieved to finish that and left it for a weekend before doing the glazing and didn't look back a the framework guidance and thencenneglected to put the beading in.

When adding the end strips to the glazing, washing up liquid and sliding did not work for me because you can't slide it over the hook - instead Guy's advice about holding it at 45 degrees and then clamping it down from one end to the next was much better advice,

sometimes I was't sure whether the picture was from the inside or the outside, and I actually found looking at the colour picture of the greenhouse on the outside of the box really useful for having a good look at seeing for example whether the glazing was supposed to fit from the outside in or the inside out (eg: over or under the struts) - so don't throw that picture away!

educated guesswork is occasionally the only way forward and I found the vent quite tricky to fit- but if you accept that every piece is correct and if it doesn't seem right then it means it probably isn't (and you need to go back a stage or think again from another angle) then you will get there eventually. I'm really proud of it now and of the fact that we put it together ourselves
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top quality, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Summer Garden Buildings 6X8 Greenhouse 01 - Free Base, Green Aluminium, Polycarbonate
This greenhouse is finished to the highest quality and well worth the money I paid for it!once constructed it is so robust
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than expected, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Summer Garden Buildings 6X8 Greenhouse 01 - Free Base, Green Aluminium, Polycarbonate
Two leisurely days to erect. Easy to follow instructions. Important to get base level, square and firm, then everything just fits together with no problems. Two people necessary for some exercises. Once erected, greenhoiuse is solid, windproof and warm. Great product for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Summer Garden Buildings 6X8 Greenhouse 01 - Free Base, Green Aluminium, Polycarbonate
£279.00
Usually dispatched within 4 to 5 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews