Customer Reviews


426 Reviews
5 star:
 (330)
4 star:
 (50)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


197 of 207 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Xbox One Play and Charge Kit Review
I will keep this review short and to the point with everything you need to know to base your decision on.

Firstly this is the Official Battery Pack and cable for the Xbox One Wireless Controller. On the back of the controller is the plastic door, which when you slide it off you will find the battery compartment. You can either use 2x AA Batteries or you can...
Published 17 months ago by MrE

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great potential but requires a small amount of rework
Battery is brilliant but the cable is of poor quality especially the connector.

The micro usb is very easily bent out of shape and will make it very hard to simply plug in and play/charge.
This will suffer consistent drop outs in connection.

You will have to try place it at awkward angles for it to find the connection to play/charge.
I...
Published 4 months ago by Stephen Moles


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

197 of 207 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Xbox One Play and Charge Kit Review, 22 Nov. 2013
By 
MrE (E Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Official Xbox One Play and Charge Kit (Xbox One) (Accessory)
I will keep this review short and to the point with everything you need to know to base your decision on.

Firstly this is the Official Battery Pack and cable for the Xbox One Wireless Controller. On the back of the controller is the plastic door, which when you slide it off you will find the battery compartment. You can either use 2x AA Batteries or you can place this battery pack into the compartment (the pack neatly fits into the battery compartment and doesn't rattle).

Essentially, when you've installed the battery pack you have a built in battery (with the advantage that it can be replaced later down the road as lets be honest, batteries don't last forever). The micro USB cable that comes with the battery pack is a decent length at 2.8m and feels sturdy, both end connectors are of a high quality and fit into the controller and console well. There is an LED charging light which is yellow while charging and then turns white when fully charged, sadly as of yet you can't check the battery charge level through the dashboard as you use to be able to do on the 360.

Now onto some great news, when the controller is plugged into the console using the charging cable it disables the wireless functionality of the controller and it instantly becomes a fully wired controller, sending both data and taking power from the cable, while at the same time disabling the battery while it charges which takes a total of 4 hours. Even better news is when the console is in standby mode the battery pack can still be charged meaning you don't need to leave the console switched on.

On the issue of how long it lasts on a full charge, well I got this with my console last night at a launch party and played through the night, I would say I've gone around 7 hours and the battery is still going strong! I did ask the manager at GAME and he said they are projected to last around 30 hours on a full charge when new, aided by the fact that the new controller uses "WiFi Direct" technology which is quicker than standard wireless but also uses less power at the same time!

Pros: No more disposable batteries * the battery pack fits well into the controller and doesn't rattle * 4 hours to fully charge and it can charge in standby mode * the cable is a decent length and feels like it will last * good value given how much disposable batteries costs * Last a long time on a charge

Cons: other than not being able to check the charge level through the console there are none.

VERDICT: Some people will say it's wrong that you have to buy a battery pack in the first place and that it should be built in, yet I look at it the other way, if it's built in completely and can't be removed then you have to fork out for a new controller when the battery dies and they're not cheap. I love the fact that when it's plugged into the console you effectively have a wired controller and the fact it can be charged while the console is in standby mode is a bonus. This is essential if you're serious about gaming and it will save you loads of money in the long run as disposable batteries are expensive as we all know!

RECOMMENDED!

UPDATE 8th December 2013: I am consistently getting 22+ hours from the battery, one tip i would give is to remove the battery pack when the controller isn't being used or charged as this does seem to help hold its charge!

UPDATE February 2014: There has since been an update to the Xbox One Console which has added a battery level indicator at the home screen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Power to the people..., 23 Nov. 2013
By 
DARKcell - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox One Play and Charge Kit (Xbox One) (Accessory)
This box contains the play and charge wire at 2.8m long, and the play and charge battery pack.
To use the battery pack, slide the plastic door off the rear of the controller and insert, much like you would with 2x AA batteries. Close the door, and you're done.
When the battery is getting low, the Xbox One will inform you. Just plug in the play and charge wire into the mini-USB port on the controller, and the light on the wire will show orange/yellow. When the battery is fully charged, this light will show white.
On the home screen of the Xbox One, you can now see how much battery is remaining in your controller.

This bit of kit will enable you to play non-stop; who wouldn't love that!

----------------------------------------------
OVERVIEW
----------------------------------------------
Would I recommend this product to a friend? Yes
If lost/damaged would I repurchase product? Yes

PROS:
+ Enable you to play all night long...
+ Cable is plenty long enough, even for the largest living rooms
+ Battery pack remains flush with the rear of the controller

CONS:
- None
----------------------------------------------
----------------------------------------------
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great accessory, 8 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox One Play and Charge Kit (Xbox One) (Accessory)
Works perfectly and wire is very long and is very useful especially with a led light to show when the controller is charged
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars :) I approve, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox One Play and Charge Kit (Xbox One) (Accessory)
If you have an Xbox one then you need this product it's a life saver. the amount of times I run out of battery's and have to search the house high and low to get one that has been half used. good value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saves on batteries and you can then also update your firmware., 6 July 2014
By 
D. Morris (Portsmouth U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox One Play and Charge Kit (Xbox One) (Accessory)
Saves on batteries the micro usb like connector is a pain to get in at times but otherwise does what it is meant to - with this cable it also means that you can update the firmware on your controller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It does the thing, 4 Jan. 2015
By 
J. Driscoll (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox One Play and Charge Kit (Xbox One) (Accessory)
You play! It charges! That's it!

Xbox controllers devour AA batteries at a slightly annoying rate, so you will want to get a Play & Charge Kit to avoid keeping having to buy batteries, particularly if they run out and you have no new batteries left in the house. This is a one-piece rechargeable battery and a standardish USB cable. I say "ish" because it's got a little light on it, presumably to indicate when it's charging. You can of course use the controller while it's plugged in - that's where the "play" of "play and charge" comes from - but you might also just leave a second controller charging while you play with another, depending how far away your TV is. The cable length is reasonable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product - Highly recommended and a must need buy!, 6 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox One Play and Charge Kit (Xbox One) (Accessory)
As a PS player and one who tends to buy the Xbox family slightly later - but has both consoles as I enjoy playing on both - I recently bought my Xbox One, and realised it was more economical to get the rechargeable batteries, this is a great addition to the controller, and the battery fits in the opposite way around and has different connector plug, so it only fits one way in, so no risk of errors.
I do agree with comments i have heard, that when you want to buy a new battery, you have to buy the cable also, it would be good if they just sold the battery as an option, for those who already have the cables.
Battery time is good and I can play for a few days (Solidly!) with no recharging, defiantly better than the PS4 which is about a day, also PS4 controllers have the battery built in, so to change it you need to remove the fixing screws and disassemble the controller! [bad design!]

One odd thing I found yesterday, I have two controllers and 2 play and charge kits (one controller came with the charge kit), the battery on my controller was flat, so I swapped the battery, and put the other controller on charge, but it wouldn't charge [?] So I swapped the batteries back, put the controller I had been using with the flat battery on charge [IT WORKED] and used the other controller.
Even though the batteries were identical, it didn't like me swapping the batteries over even though both batteries and controllers are the same [WEIRD!!!]. Slightly annoying, but if I keep each battery in their respective controllers all is good...

Definitely worth getting, and highly recommended, cable is over 2m so can be used as a wired controller also.
Now we need Microsoft to make a separate battery charger, so we can be charging batteries outside the controller - thus keeping some fully charged when needed!

Has anyone else experienced this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must have, 9 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox One Play and Charge Kit (Xbox One) (Accessory)
I made the mistake on the 360 of buying the cheaper versions of the play and charge kits. The cables were good but the rechargeable battery packs didn't last long at all. I've learnt my lesson since then and when buying an accessory like this i always buy genuine now and it pays for itself in a very short time.

The recharge cable is over 2.5m with this so there is plenty of length to reach from your Xbone to wherever you're sitting. The battery pack itself slides into where you would normally place your AA batteries and the the plastic cover you already have for the back slides over the pack giving it a nice looking, smooth finish, so you wouldn't even know theres a battery pack in there.

It charges up very quickly, there is a light on the micro usb end of the cable that changes from yellow (charging) to white when the controller is fully charged. The charge lasts a very long time in my experience, i've had this kit a few months now and i haven't lost any total charge time after numerous recharges so the batteries inside the pack are of excellent quality as you would expect from microsoft. When the battery is low you will get a few warnings on your screen way before the battery will actually run out.

Buying one of these means you don't have to mess around with the hassle and expense of AA batteries anymore, just plug your cable in and carry on playing (funnily enough that's what it's called). Or if you prefer you can take the pack out and keep it plugged in and use it as a wired controller.

Highly recommend this kit. 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Say Goodbye to Batteries!, 28 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox One Play and Charge Kit (Xbox One) (Accessory)
I'm sort of disappointed because this is an optional extra when you purchase your Xbox One console and it isn't supplied as standard. You would think that if you're forking out around £400-£500 on a product, they would at least supply a rechargeable battery, no?

All-in-all, I am very pleased with this product. I have owned this piece of kit for well over five months and the battery pack continues to hold the charge. Saves me a lot of money, considering I no longer have to worry about the costs of purchasing standard batteries every week or so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great potential but requires a small amount of rework, 20 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox One Play and Charge Kit (Xbox One) (Accessory)
Battery is brilliant but the cable is of poor quality especially the connector.

The micro usb is very easily bent out of shape and will make it very hard to simply plug in and play/charge.
This will suffer consistent drop outs in connection.

You will have to try place it at awkward angles for it to find the connection to play/charge.
I reckon mine only lasted 3 weeks tops before I started suffering from this issue.

A more robust micro usb connection for sure would make this the 5* product the XO deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Official Xbox One Play and Charge Kit (Xbox One)
£17.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews