Customer Reviews


271 Reviews
5 star:
 (206)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


158 of 167 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Xbox One Play and Charge Kit Review
I will keep this review short and to the point with everything you need to know to base your decision on.

Firstly this is the Official Battery Pack and cable for the Xbox One Wireless Controller. On the back of the controller is the plastic door, which when you slide it off you will find the battery compartment. You can either use 2x AA Batteries or you can...
Published 13 months ago by MrE

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great potential but requires a small amount of rework
Battery is brilliant but the cable is of poor quality especially the connector.

The micro usb is very easily bent out of shape and will make it very hard to simply plug in and play/charge.
This will suffer consistent drop outs in connection.

You will have to try place it at awkward angles for it to find the connection to play/charge.
I...
Published 2 days ago by Stephen Moles


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

158 of 167 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Xbox One Play and Charge Kit Review, 22 Nov 2013
By 
MrE (E Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Official Xbox One Play and Charge Kit (Xbox One) (Accessory)
I will keep this review short and to the point with everything you need to know to base your decision on.

Firstly this is the Official Battery Pack and cable for the Xbox One Wireless Controller. On the back of the controller is the plastic door, which when you slide it off you will find the battery compartment. You can either use 2x AA Batteries or you can place this battery pack into the compartment (the pack neatly fits into the battery compartment and doesn't rattle).

Essentially, when you've installed the battery pack you have a built in battery (with the advantage that it can be replaced later down the road as lets be honest, batteries don't last forever). The micro USB cable that comes with the battery pack is a decent length at 2.8m and feels sturdy, both end connectors are of a high quality and fit into the controller and console well. There is an LED charging light which is yellow while charging and then turns white when fully charged, sadly as of yet you can't check the battery charge level through the dashboard as you use to be able to do on the 360.

Now onto some great news, when the controller is plugged into the console using the charging cable it disables the wireless functionality of the controller and it instantly becomes a fully wired controller, sending both data and taking power from the cable, while at the same time disabling the battery while it charges which takes a total of 4 hours. Even better news is when the console is in standby mode the battery pack can still be charged meaning you don't need to leave the console switched on.

On the issue of how long it lasts on a full charge, well I got this with my console last night at a launch party and played through the night, I would say I've gone around 7 hours and the battery is still going strong! I did ask the manager at GAME and he said they are projected to last around 30 hours on a full charge when new, aided by the fact that the new controller uses "WiFi Direct" technology which is quicker than standard wireless but also uses less power at the same time!

Pros: No more disposable batteries * the battery pack fits well into the controller and doesn't rattle * 4 hours to fully charge and it can charge in standby mode * the cable is a decent length and feels like it will last * good value given how much disposable batteries costs * Last a long time on a charge

Cons: other than not being able to check the charge level through the console there are none.

VERDICT: Some people will say it's wrong that you have to buy a battery pack in the first place and that it should be built in, yet I look at it the other way, if it's built in completely and can't be removed then you have to fork out for a new controller when the battery dies and they're not cheap. I love the fact that when it's plugged into the console you effectively have a wired controller and the fact it can be charged while the console is in standby mode is a bonus. This is essential if you're serious about gaming and it will save you loads of money in the long run as disposable batteries are expensive as we all know!

RECOMMENDED!

UPDATE 8th December 2013: I am consistently getting 22+ hours from the battery, one tip i would give is to remove the battery pack when the controller isn't being used or charged as this does seem to help hold its charge!

UPDATE February 2014: There has since been an update to the Xbox One Console which has added a battery level indicator at the home screen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Power to the people..., 23 Nov 2013
By 
DARKcell - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox One Play and Charge Kit (Xbox One) (Accessory)
This box contains the play and charge wire at 2.8m long, and the play and charge battery pack.
To use the battery pack, slide the plastic door off the rear of the controller and insert, much like you would with 2x AA batteries. Close the door, and you're done.
When the battery is getting low, the Xbox One will inform you. Just plug in the play and charge wire into the mini-USB port on the controller, and the light on the wire will show orange/yellow. When the battery is fully charged, this light will show white.
On the home screen of the Xbox One, you can now see how much battery is remaining in your controller.

This bit of kit will enable you to play non-stop; who wouldn't love that!

----------------------------------------------
OVERVIEW
----------------------------------------------
Would I recommend this product to a friend? Yes
If lost/damaged would I repurchase product? Yes

PROS:
+ Enable you to play all night long...
+ Cable is plenty long enough, even for the largest living rooms
+ Battery pack remains flush with the rear of the controller

CONS:
- None
----------------------------------------------
----------------------------------------------
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great accessory, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox One Play and Charge Kit (Xbox One) (Accessory)
Works perfectly and wire is very long and is very useful especially with a led light to show when the controller is charged
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars :) I approve, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox One Play and Charge Kit (Xbox One) (Accessory)
If you have an Xbox one then you need this product it's a life saver. the amount of times I run out of battery's and have to search the house high and low to get one that has been half used. good value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saves on batteries and you can then also update your firmware., 6 July 2014
By 
D. Morris (Portsmouth U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox One Play and Charge Kit (Xbox One) (Accessory)
Saves on batteries the micro usb like connector is a pain to get in at times but otherwise does what it is meant to - with this cable it also means that you can update the firmware on your controller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox One Play and Charge Kit (Xbox One) (Accessory)
Fantastic cable is brilliant, the charge last ages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great potential but requires a small amount of rework, 20 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox One Play and Charge Kit (Xbox One) (Accessory)
Battery is brilliant but the cable is of poor quality especially the connector.

The micro usb is very easily bent out of shape and will make it very hard to simply plug in and play/charge.
This will suffer consistent drop outs in connection.

You will have to try place it at awkward angles for it to find the connection to play/charge.
I reckon mine only lasted 3 weeks tops before I started suffering from this issue.

A more robust micro usb connection for sure would make this the 5* product the XO deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful, should really be default build !!, 22 Oct 2014
This review is from: Official Xbox One Play and Charge Kit (Xbox One) (Accessory)
I would have hated to keep changing batteries and have battery chargers just for my controllers. This battery pack replaces the batteries and the cover goes back in perfectly.For me, it stayed good for 5-6 days of 4hourly daily.
The provided cable has a little LED that will tell you the charging status of the controller. You don't have to plug it into the console itself to charge, just use the USB charger brick that you probably already have for your smart phone and play simultaneously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Solid product, 5 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox One Play and Charge Kit (Xbox One) (Accessory)
Very good product - does what you want it to. You can either use it to charge the controller, or if you are desperate to play and don't want to wait for the controller to charge, you can simply put it in the controller and it will charge as you play

Overall, fantastic product, worth buying rather than just buying batteries time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Should come with controller without extra charge!, 23 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox One Play and Charge Kit (Xbox One) (Accessory)
I didn't want to deal with the faff of changing batteries. This simplified it and allows me to recharge the controller. The battery has a long life. I have played for a number of days without needing to charge it at all. A must have for controllers. However, I don't understand why this isn't standard!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Official Xbox One Play and Charge Kit (Xbox One)
£19.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews