Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars first one failed as part of the xbox 1 package ...
first one failed as part of the xbox 1 package, but amazon replaced foc with no quibble, so xbox 4 star amazon 5 star
Published 12 months ago by Gary Homer

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 2 official headsets stopped working in 6-7 months!
I got the same headset as part of my Xbox One package I purchased just after Christmas and after 2-3 months it broke. My mic would no longer pick up noise and with no visible damage, I had no clue.

I then purchased the same headset from Amazon in April, and as of today (29th July) it has broke. So, from my experience these headsets last 2-3 months for me, and I...
Published 12 months ago by Scott L


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 2 official headsets stopped working in 6-7 months!, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox One Chat Headset (Xbox One) (Accessory)
I got the same headset as part of my Xbox One package I purchased just after Christmas and after 2-3 months it broke. My mic would no longer pick up noise and with no visible damage, I had no clue.

I then purchased the same headset from Amazon in April, and as of today (29th July) it has broke. So, from my experience these headsets last 2-3 months for me, and I took care of it so its not a case of it breaking because of standing on it or anything, it just seems to stop working.

I have purchased another headset which I hope will be much more reliable, but I would not recommend buying this headset, and if you can, I would purchase something a bit more expensive. I have heard good things about the other Xbox One headset which is like a Turtle Beach headset.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor., 5 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Official Xbox One Chat Headset (Xbox One) (Accessory)
I bought this for my son for his Xbox 1. Unfortunately this is the second set of headphones that have not lasted very long. There seems to be a problem with this product, so be careful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars TERRIBLE- DO NOT BUY, 5 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Official Xbox One Chat Headset (Xbox One) (Accessory)
What even is the point in this thing? Microsoft might aswell give me a pigeon and train it to deliver my messages by mail as it would be more effective. This thing is too breakable, will snap easily. The microphone is taccy. Also the size is horrific for an anything bigger than a small head. I literally have to be eating the microphone to talk to my mates, no adjustment on length on that front! When your wearing it It feels like my ear is being mounted by some uncomfortable alien device. You feel like a complete melt wearing this thing. Only made worse by hearing your mate talking through what sounds like some 80's retro phone line. Considering they have millions to spend to spend and this is the best they come up with is laughable! You might aswell chuck your £30 on your phone contract and just ring your friends, would be better spent. Or invest in a pigeon, which ever you see fit. Wouldn't have this piece of garbage if Microsoft didn't stop the turtlebeach plug in. All one big scam really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars £20? ... jog on, 6 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Official Xbox One Chat Headset (Xbox One) (Accessory)
Love the xbox one so far, big fan. However, upon purchasing an Xbox one I received a device which closely resembled a moderately adequate communication device that I purchased for my xbox 360, the standard mic. Yes it was flimsy, it had its flaws, but did the job - for me anyway. How Microsoft can promote such a communication-friendly product and produce an even worse piece of crap headset than the last one is beyond frustrating.

After finally working out how to get the bloody thing to fit on my head with tolerable comfort, without the desire to launch it across the room (after which I'm sure it will have disintegrated entirely), i then hoped to be able to communicate clearly with my pal. But could I f***. Literally ... Are Microsoft studying the Nokia 3210 for performance tips or something? Don't even get me started on the price, we're talking about the guys that initially wanted to take away being able to second hand sell your games, will be here for hours, so will steer clear of that.

Seriously though, don't waste your money, find a better valued device, I certainly will be. The fact that I got this for free with the Xbox one and still feel strongly enough to write a review about it should be enough for you.

I will stress again though that I am thoroughly enjoying the Console itself, they've done a good job there, loads of fun and once you get the hang of the layout, really easy to move around. Just don't understand how they can invest so much money into this product and make a worse headset
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I think a string and cup would be better..., 3 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Official Xbox One Chat Headset (Xbox One) (Accessory)
Let me start by saying I am a huge Xbox fan. Had the original up to the Xbox One and there have been ups and downs. I look after all my purchases. I keep my receipts in every game box I own since 2003. I think I have an OCD. I look after my valuables.

This head set is not good at all. It is my second one and it did not last one month.

I believe their idea with the new piece at the bottom of the controller was so it wouldn't come off by accident during use. It is a NIGHTMARE to get off now. I feel I may do damage when I take it off.

The wiring at the bottom of the controller is extremely flimsy. If your console came with a headset, cherish those moments you have together, if not, same yourself some frustration and DO NOT BUY THIS HEADSET.

The audio is clear though :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disgraceful!!, 18 July 2015
This review is from: Official Xbox One Chat Headset (Xbox One) (Accessory)
The first headset I had died because when you connect it to your controller it sticks as best as it possibly can so if you were to constantly just yank it out as i did the wiring is eventually going to get all messed up and your mic will just die and only work if you somehow manage to magically get it in the right position.
The second I got from my brother in law as he had no use for it, knowing what I knew then that yanking it out would eventually kill it I figured I may just get a longer life out of this one before it gave up the ghost.....oh how foolish I was. I took extra care of this one making sure to never bend or be forceful with the wires at ether ends of the headset but it just doesn't matter how gentle you are these things are one of the cheapest pieces of crap I've ever had. For no reason out of nowhere while chatting with my friends they were introduced to large amounts of static from my mic followed by it sounding as if I was on the other end of my house talking to them, even when I raised my voice as loud as I could without yelling they could barely make out a word I was saying over the sound of the game.I haven't checked to see if there are other headsets out there I can use for my X-One (even if there is not I won't be spending any money on another one of these dreadful things) but if there is I highly recommend you take the cheaper option which much like the cheap headset I had for my 360 will most likely last a whole lot longer rather than spending good money on what is a headset designed to break so MS can squeeze your wallet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars first one failed as part of the xbox 1 package ..., 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox One Chat Headset (Xbox One) (Accessory)
first one failed as part of the xbox 1 package, but amazon replaced foc with no quibble, so xbox 4 star amazon 5 star
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars broke after 2 months, 7 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Official Xbox One Chat Headset (Xbox One) (Accessory)
I had this for 2 months and it broke. The sound didn't come out of the speaker anymore, a few of my freinds also had this problem and to be honest it looks like its designed to break.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Does a basic job but it's not cheap, 22 Mar. 2014
By 
MrE (E Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Official Xbox One Chat Headset (Xbox One) (Accessory)
This is identical to the headset you get included with the console when you buy one new. It's a very simply one ear digital chat headset for voice communication only. It comes with a proprietary control box at the end of the cable which plugs directly into the base of the Xbox One controller, both the ability to adjust chat volume and indeed mute your microphone is included. The microphone arm swings both ways too meaning this can be worn on either side of your head and the speaker itself can be raised/lowered on the headband as well as pivoted so everyone will be able to get comfy.

It does a pretty good job for what it is although the headband is made from cheap plastic and feels like it could break through persistent use. Also the price does seem steep for what it is, aside from that if all you need is a headset for chat purposes...look no further!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Simply not good enough, 30 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox One Chat Headset (Xbox One) (Accessory)
We've owned three of these headsets, two console pack-ins and one replacement. All three have broken, two within a couple of months. Essentially the microphone cesases to function, putting an end to chat - which is essentially the key purpose of the headset. My original 360 headset, by contrast, is still functioning after 9 years. Can recommend Turtle Beach as a more pricey but more reliable alternative. Also currently in the process of replacing one of the pack-in One controllers - four months in, and the right bumper has stopped working, almost certainly due to a well-documented parts failure (internal bumper mechanism basically fractures/snaps). Very poor quality control and/or design all-round really - a shame, as the One itself has much to recommend it as a console.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Official Xbox One Chat Headset (Xbox One)
£19.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews