Customer Reviews


559 Reviews
5 star:
 (412)
4 star:
 (63)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (41)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Control freak...
The Xbox one controller has many new and updated features from the older 360 model. I will attempt to address the main ones below.

The D-pad is lowered and loses its border, the thumb-sticks have shrunk ever so slightly and moved closer together, the four main coloured buttons are now a lot easier to read and the battery pack no longer sticks out but instead is...
Published 17 months ago by DARKcell

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Faulty and would like replacement
This is a replacement of my original purchase. The original controller had an issue with the left trigger getting stuck in position. The replacement controller which we have now had less than 3 months is not working properly as the analogue stick is getting stuck. I would like to make contact to arrange a replacement.
Published 1 month ago by Beck


‹ Previous | 1 256 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Control freak..., 23 Nov. 2013
By 
DARKcell - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Official Xbox One Wireless Controller (Accessory)
The Xbox one controller has many new and updated features from the older 360 model. I will attempt to address the main ones below.

The D-pad is lowered and loses its border, the thumb-sticks have shrunk ever so slightly and moved closer together, the four main coloured buttons are now a lot easier to read and the battery pack no longer sticks out but instead is flush with the rear of the controller. Another big difference is that the ‘Start’ and ‘Back’ buttons are replaced with nameless pictures. The right picture, or ‘Menu' acts as a start button when you need it to, but also brings up contextual menus, dependent on where you are in the dashboard or game. The left button is called ‘View’. This changes the view in certain games, as well as providing more information when it’s available, which so far, rarely is.
The main difference in my opinion are the triggers. They are of a completely different design, and much more ‘moulded to your finger’. They have individual vibrating motors inside them as well, that sounds a little gimmicky, but works a treat. For example, when playing Forza 5, if your right wheels stray onto rumble strips or onto the grass, just the right side (including the right trigger) of the controller will vibrate. You could almost drive without looking at the screen. Almost. The shoulder buttons have changed too. They are now more of a ‘click’, and seem quite a bit harder to press.
The main ‘Home’ button (the big X in the middle that glows) is now further away from the user, meaning accidental presses in-game are a lot less likely, and it works. A single press of this button will take you back to your main page on the dashboard, this works irrelevant of where you are, and does it really well.
For the hardcore competition gamers, included in the play and charge kit is a cable that will essentially turn the wireless controller into a wired one, as well as charge the battery pack.

All in all, the new controller is a welcome evolution from the 360’s, and feels great in the hand.

----------------------------------------------
OVERVIEW
----------------------------------------------
Would I recommend this product to a friend? Yes
If lost/damaged would I repurchase product? Yes

PROS:
+ All controls just ‘feel’ nicer
+ Vibrating triggers are simply awesome
+ Home button is further away so less likely to knock it
+ A, B, X and Y buttons are much clearer at a glance
+ Battery pack flush with rear of controller

CONS:
- None
----------------------------------------------
----------------------------------------------
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PC users take note - currently this only works with a micro USB and not wirelessly., 14 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox One Wireless Controller (Accessory)
I bought this for my PC since they released the drivers and I was a bit disappointing that it can only be tethered through USB and not wirelessly. Other than that, this controller feels great, the sticks feel great, the buttons feel great, the triggers feel great, the D-Pad is awesome and a far cry from the terrible D-Pad that was on the 360. Overall I think this is a worthy purchase and a more than worthy update to the 360 pad, but as I said before this won't work wirelessly yet so if you're PC gaming on a couch it's best to hold for the updated drivers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great controller, 29 Dec. 2014
By 
Reviewify.co.uk "Mark" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox One Wireless Controller (Accessory)
Length:: 0:44 Mins

Needed a second controller for some multiplayer fun on the Xbox one. Went with the standard black wireless controller, exactly the same as the one I got with the Xbox. It's a great allround controller and at the time of review Amazon gave me £10 credit against any Xbox One game, a nice bonus for purchasing the controller!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is an improvement to the previous controller and my only choice for the PC. This is great, 9 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox One Wireless Controller (Accessory)
First of all, a commendable service and value for money from Amazon: £32 item and Free Super-Saver delivery arrived within 72 hours after purchase.

The controller is a more sleek, cleaner and comfortable upgrade to the XBOX 360 controller I owned for more than four years. For PC use, I appreciated the ability to use any micro-USB cable to power it, and when I was done I simply removed the cable and stored the controller elsewhere. The micro-USB cable is not included, but costs vary from £1-onwards.

Those who are purchasing the controller are either existing XBOX One owners looking for additional controller so this review may contain things they already know/felt, or they are PC gamers looking to diversify from their previous PS3, XBOX 360 or even PS4 controllers, or even new customers aiming to buy their first controller.

As a PC gamer, I wanted to know how this new controller (referred here as XB1) compares to the old controller (referred here as XB360) in terms of feel. The triggers in the XB1 controller feel lighter, but with enough resistance to modulate the triggers accurately. The longer shoulder buttons in the XB1 means your index fingers wrap fully around the buttons rather than your fingers having to arch further outwards to find the click, as was the case with the XB360 controller. It feels great in the hand with less obstruction from the D-pad in comparison to the raised D-pad and central XBOX home button of the XB360 model.

With the new D-pad, up, down, left and right is now easier to press. For games that use the diagonal directions, you must press up-left, up-right, down-left and down-right, therefore requiring two-button presses and hoping it was pressed cleanly. This is certainly manageable, but not as easy as it was with the XB360 controller.

The thumb grips are slightly smaller, but have ridges around the edges which provide much better grip, and the larger indentation allows better placement for your thumb to ensure it does not move out of place. They have less resistance when moving than the XB360 controller, but I found it to be adequate and precise because the previous XB360 model would not be as smooth for the entire directional range.

The XYAB buttons feel the same as the previous model, but appear less like a toy button-box as this new XB1 controller features a black backdrop to the coloured letters.

For PC users, I made a comparison with the PS4 controller which had weak and straight triggers, flat buttons and the D-Pad was in the wrong place (in this gripped position your thumb physically has more range going outwards rather than inwards), so it was less ergonomic, but I liked the touchpad feature which was very innovative, though not usable in most current games for the PC and of course, cannot be used on the XBox One.

Overall, for something of this quality, at this price, it is unbeatable and I look forward to many years ahead in the future with this controller. It really helps that Microsoft now officially support it meaning for the PC it is the only truly new-generation plug-and-play controller for all of the current games. I would definitely recommend this controller as the number one choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fits like a glove., 27 Dec. 2014
By 
T. Lane (Bristol, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox One Wireless Controller (Accessory)
Very well designed, a perfect evolution of the Xbox/Xbox 360 controller.

I'd begrudge spending £45+ on it but at £32 I'd say it's not bad value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Does what is says on the tin, 16 Mar. 2014
By 
Jack Brewis (Newcastle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Official Xbox One Wireless Controller (Accessory)
Wireless controller the does what it is supposed to. What more is there to say? With this being the next version of the Xbox controller it is an improvement over the Xbox 360 controller, although it may feel a bit strange at first, you will quickly get used to it.

This new controller does feel lighter than the 360 version which I do think does make a large impact on the feel of the controller. Another improvement that has been put into place is the vibrating impulse triggers, this does really add some thing to games.

This controller also feels more comfortable thanks to the batteries being store within the actual controller, this always bugged me on the 360 controller and so I do feel this is a good addition. Something else that they have improved is the joysticks, they have changed the material and so the grip is much better.

All in all this controller is a massive improvement to what was already a very good controller, and so this is exceptional. The changes that they have implement have made a massive difference that I do really like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic controller for PC gaming, 5 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox One Wireless Controller (Accessory)
Fantastic controller to use with PC games. Basically an improvement on the Xbox 360 Controller for Windows in every single way (more comfortable, better triggers, better buttons). The only real downside is that wireless is NOT supported on Windows at this time.

The controller was extremely easy to set up. It uses a standard MicroUSB to USB cable (I am using one that came with my Android phone for now and that is working fine) and only required me to install drivers which were available on the Microsoft site and easily found by typing Xbox One Controller Drivers For Windows into Google.

The drivers emulate an Xbox 360 controller on Windows, meaning that any game with Xinput support (which is the vast majority of modern PC games) supports the controller natively and will have the proper button prompts.

Overall, fantastic buy if you're looking for a new controller for your PC. Lack of wireless is the only real downside when compared to the Dualshock 4, but this is offset by the ease of use and proper support.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great controller., 7 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox One Wireless Controller (Accessory)
I purchased this as both a second controller for my Xbox One and as a controller for my PC. It works on both flawlessly (I was surprised that it really does just work on pretty much everything in my Steam collection, giving all those "bargains" I've never played from Steam sales a new lease of life.

I have a PS4 as well as this and I'm really torn between the two for a favourite, but both are huge improvements over the previous generation, really comfortable to use and just become invisible after prolonged use.

If I had to split hairs, I'd say I preferred the offset placement of the thumbsticks on Xbox One, but the DPad placement is worse by default and it has a less positive action than that on the PS4.

One thing to note, at the time I purchased this, not only was it as cheap as anywhere I could find on the web, it also offered a £10 discount for any Xbox One title, so I got GTA V for a bargain price at the same time.

Great controller - highly recommended, service great as usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Improving Perfection, 8 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox One Wireless Controller (Accessory)
Fantastic, durable, need I say any more?

I have to say, I didn't think after the ergonomics and comfort of the 360 controller that it could be improved. But consistently after long sessions, there are no aches and pains, it doesn't slip out of your hand when you've been sweating, and It is even more comfortable then it's older brother. Well worth it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars However if there are some people reading this to find out what the controller is like prior to buying a console I will go into ., 30 Dec. 2014
By 
Mozzy (Gloucestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Xbox One Wireless Controller (Accessory)
I imagine that the majority of people buying this will already have a controller and therefore know what to expect.

However if there are some people reading this to find out what the controller is like prior to buying a console I will go into a little more detail.

The controller hasn't changed significantly in shape over the years as MS have found a set-up that works well. The most significant change from the XB360 controller is the bulky battery compartment which is now built into the design making it look more sleek. The only functional change is the D-pad which now is just an up-down-left-right option. One new addition is 'rumble' triggers which provide a bit more feedback.

The reason I can't award this with the full 5 stars is down to the actual build quality. My 360 controllers feel much more solid and well built. The plastic feels thinner and more 'creaky'. It feels like it won't last as long as the 360's controller so it loses a mark here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 256 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Official Xbox One Wireless Controller
£34.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews