Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fresh look at foundation NLP ideas, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Practical NLP: How to use NLP principles to improve your life and work, even if you're not NLP trained (Kindle Edition)
I know Andy personally, I've bought and highly rated many of his products but I still faced his new book with some trepidation.

The Presuppositions of NLP are a done to death subject. Almost every book on NLP has at least one chapter covering this... many of them manage to take what is usually a dull topic and make it even duller. Do we really need another book on the presuppositions of NLP?

The short answer is if it is Andy that is writing it then yes we do.

There are several things that Andy does that makes his treatment of the subject exceptional. Firstly he organises them into two sections and then connects them together in meaningful ways. The net result is that the book flows better than most on this subject and it also makes them easier to remember.

The second thing that Andy does is explain the presuppositions in simple grounded terms often giving real world examples of these principles working.

But the best bit of this book is Andy ends every chapter with a "Practical ways to make this principle work for you" section. This is pure brilliance. You leave each presupposition with exercises, techniques or things to think about that really ground these presuppositions into your reality.

The Presuppositions of NLP are not the sexy end of NLP but they are the fundamental cornerstone and the bit that probably makes the biggest difference to most people. As such they are covered in many of the NLP books that I have read. This is the first time I have been through them in a way I found entertaining, informative and practical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Still useful after 20 yrs...", 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Practical NLP: How to use NLP principles to improve your life and work, even if you're not NLP trained (Kindle Edition)
After being involved with nlp for approx 20yrs i was curious as to what a whole book on presuppositions would have to offer? Well - as a great believer that we are always learning I wasn't disappointed. What an excellent offering from Andy Smith I'm guessing that Andy has it just right for both qualified nlp' ers and anyone new to the subject. A terrific read with very useful content and an easy reading, understandable style.

Barry Shaw Master Prac
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected but still an excellent read, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Practical NLP: How to use NLP principles to improve your life and work, even if you're not NLP trained (Kindle Edition)
When I started to read this I realised I had a different map to Andy, I was expecting one thing to read (a boring book about presuppositions) and what I got was something better.

It's an excellent read, thought provoking and entertaining at the same time with some genuine laugh-out-loud moments. This is a book that you will enjoy reading in one sitting as well as referring back to it time and time again.

No matter what business you are in, you work with people and this book will help you enjoy working with them and getting the best from them, whether they are an employee or customer, proving that you really don't have to be NLP trained to benefit from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NLP made accessible, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Practical NLP: How to use NLP principles to improve your life and work, even if you're not NLP trained (Kindle Edition)
I took the opportunity to read through Alan's book over the weekend and I was not disappointed. There are many publications on NLP that seem to focus on the 'mechanics' of NLP - how to do this exercise or that activity and how to chnage your world in one small reframe. Alan's book is notlike that at all. He makes his focus :the presuppositions of NLP of the NLP world and guides the reader through an understanding of how these principles about people and communication can add value to our relationships, decision making and goal setting. I found it warm, engaging, user-freindly and worthy of recommendation to any trainer for any NLP training sessions they run.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A simple, straightforward guide to some basic concepts, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Practical NLP: How to use NLP principles to improve your life and work, even if you're not NLP trained (Kindle Edition)
This book is easy to read and introduces, in a clear and jargon free style, concepts that are basic to understanding NLP and to making it work for you.
As Andy says, even without going any further with NLP, you can gain some insights by understanding the "pre-suppositions".
There are many NLP books but this one is a great starting point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is great!, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Practical NLP: How to use NLP principles to improve your life and work, even if you're not NLP trained (Kindle Edition)
Another great book written by Andy Smith, providing detailed information on the basis of NLP, backed up by vast amount of scientific research from from psychology, neurology and neuroscience. Even though I have been working as a psychologist and a researcher for many years, I have found this book tremendously useful as it helped me to gain an even deeper knowledge on the subjects of my expertise. Nevertheless I would highly recommend this book to anyone who has to rely on working with other with people on a daily basis (and who does not?) and wishes to improve their “soft-skills” such as communication, teamwork or relationship building. By all means, this is a highly valuable purchase, not to be missed !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 4 Aug 2013
By 
Bea "Bea" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Practical NLP: How to use NLP principles to improve your life and work, even if you're not NLP trained (Kindle Edition)
A lot of things that I already knew in here, but well worth reading again - also, a lot of new stuff that will help me! Get this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes total sense!, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Practical NLP: How to use NLP principles to improve your life and work, even if you're not NLP trained (Kindle Edition)
Loved this book! Makes so much sense, easy to read, doesn't have a load of waffle before you get to the nitty gritty! I have only read it once so far, but will return to it again many times I'm sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating stuff!, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Practical NLP: How to use NLP principles to improve your life and work, even if you're not NLP trained (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed reading this book. Although its not a traditional NLP book in the sense that it teaches you 'how to' the information is far moe valuable as it covers the behind the scenes reasons NLP is so effective. I'm looking forward to putting everything I've learned into practice. This book is a great way to give you a new perspective on events and people in your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this book!, 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Practical NLP: How to use NLP principles to improve your life and work, even if you're not NLP trained (Kindle Edition)
This book should be compulsory reading for every adult! A simple, quick read yet highly thought provoking. I am now reading it for a second time! Thanks Andy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews