Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Clear Track Listing.-Breakin' In A Brand New Broken Heart
Lovesick Blues GEMS FROM THE MGM VAULTS is a 3 disc set which comes in a pastic case.

All of the tracks on the CDs are, you will be glad to know, the Original recordings.

BUT Amazon's track listing isn't exactly clear and I must admit I found it hard to read when it's cramped up.
I did not notice Gene Kelly in there for example!
So here is...
Published 14 months ago by Glenn Cook

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's very interesting with lots of obsure songs.
There are lots of things I haven't heard before which is the idea of this collection. It gets a bit esoteric at times though. There are 75 songs at a great price.
Published 9 months ago by William C. Saul


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Clear Track Listing.-Breakin' In A Brand New Broken Heart, 17 May 2013
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lovesick Blues: Gems From The MGM Vaults (Audio CD)
Lovesick Blues GEMS FROM THE MGM VAULTS is a 3 disc set which comes in a pastic case.

All of the tracks on the CDs are, you will be glad to know, the Original recordings.

BUT Amazon's track listing isn't exactly clear and I must admit I found it hard to read when it's cramped up.
I did not notice Gene Kelly in there for example!
So here is a clear track listing which makes the artists and title just that bit clearer.

Have pity I'm too old for a paper round and too young to retire!

CD 1

1.Don't Go Near The Eskimos-Ben Colder
2.Who's Sorry Now-Connie Francis
3.You're My Teen Age Baby-The Berry Kids
4.One More Time-Andy Starr
5.Hey, Good Lookin'-Hank Williams
6.It's Only Make Believe-Conway Twitty
7.Respectable-The Chants
8.Theme From Dr Kildare (Three Stars Will Shine Tonight)- Richard Chamberlin
9.The Purple People Eater-Sheb Wooley
10.The Glory Of Love-Clyde McPhatter
11.Stampede-Danny Valentino
12.The Stripper-David Rose And His Orchestra
13.Sorry (I Ran All The Way Home)-The Impalas
14.I Apologize-Billy Eckstine
15.Breakin' In A Brand New Broken Heart-Connie Francis
16.Let Me Be Your Boy-Wilson Pickett
17.Rockin' And Rollin' With Grandmaw-Carson Robison
18.Handy Man-Jimmy Jones
19.Whole Lotta Woman-Marvin Rainwater
20.Gonna Find Me A Bluebird-Russ Hamilton
21.Your Cheatin' Heart-Hank Williams
22.I Really Love You-The Stereos
23.It's All In The Game-Tommy Edwards
24.Second Hand Love-Connie Francis
25.Singin' In The Rain-Gene Kelly

CD2

1.Lovesick Blues-Hank Williams
2.Everybody's Somebody's Fool-Connie Francis
3.Let's Try Again-Clyde Mcphatter
4.Whatever Happened To Baby Jane- Bette Davis & Debbie Burton
5.Biology-Danny Valentino
6.Go, Go, Go-The Berry Kids
7.Can I Come Over Tonight-The Five Satins
8.Stupid Cupid -Connie Francis
9.I Ain't A Studying You Baby-Don Gibson
10.Mona Lisa-Conway Twitty
11.Angela Jones-Johnny Ferguson
12.Rock And Roll Fever-Cecil Campbell
13.Watchin' The 7-10 Roll By-Buck Griffin
14.Rootie Tootie-The Berry Kids
15.Another Lonely Girl-Mark Dinning
16.I Told You So-Jimmy Jones
17.Lonely Blue Boy-Conway Twitty
18.Why Did You Have To Go And Leave Me? - Marvin Rainwater
19.Freddy-Connie Francis
20.Love Me Tender-Richard Chamberlain
21.Skin Tight, Pin Striped, Purple Pedal Pushers-Sheb Wooley
22.Half As Much-Hank Williams
23.Do You Love Me-The Stereos
24.My Melancholy Baby-Tommy Edwards
25.Teen Angel-Mark Dinning

CD3

1.Good Timin'-Jimmy Jones
2.Lipstick On Your Collar-Connie Francis
3.Whole Lotta Shakin' Going On-Conway Twitty
4.My Square Dancin' Mama-Bob Gallion
5.Jambalaya (On The Bayou)-Hank Williams
6.Sunset Strip-David Rose and His Orchestra
7.Love Me, Love-The Berry Kids
8.Oh What A Fool-The Impalas
9.No One Can Love You Like I Do- Johnny Ferguson
10.Always Always-Johnny Cymbal
11. Vacation-Connie Francis
12.Hoot Owl Boogie-Sheb Wooley
13.I Dig You Baby-Marvin Rainwater
14.The Big Knock-The Stereos
15.I Really Don't Want To Know-Tommy Edwards
16.Summer Love-Joni James
17.Please Come Back To Me-The Stereos
18.Settin' The Woods On Fire-Hank Williams
19.Danny Boy-Conway Twitty
20.There Is No Greater Love-The Wanderers
21.Rock Around The Clock- MGM Studio Orchestra
22.Turn of the Moon-Sue Lyon
23.These Foolish Things-The Five Satins
24.Mule Boogie-Sheb Wooley
25.Together-Connie Francis
26. Cook House Blues - Glenn and the Mellowtones.#

Don't include the last track 26 on your listing.

It's a sad thought that many of these artist will now have passed away after over 50 years or more since the tracks were originally recorded.

In a way it's really good that when we hear them again today we can think back to the original artists.
It would be nice if you could say a little prayer for them.
Like the add for Tesco says `Every little helps'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT!!!!!, 22 July 2013
By 
Mrs. S. A. Moss "classic 100" (essex england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lovesick Blues: Gems From The MGM Vaults (Audio CD)
great music more please !!! what more can I say go go go why do we have to put so many words when a few would do ????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love one day cds, 26 Jun 2013
By 
John Sheldon (Leek Staffs UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovesick Blues: Gems From The MGM Vaults (Audio CD)
Another great collection of songs never dreamed in the late fifties when I started collecting records I would be able to pick up gems
like this for a few pounds terrific sound, I have bought all the one label releases and found everyone first class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars memories., 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovesick Blues: Gems From The MGM Vaults (Audio CD)
Like so many of these albums from a particular label some well known classics and also some tracks i have only heard once or twice, years ago. Good to hear them again. So many great singers who never really got much recognition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovesick Blues: Gems From The MGM Vaults, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovesick Blues: Gems From The MGM Vaults (Audio CD)
I have others in this series and love them all. This MGM set is 3-CD discs and 75 tracks. It gives me a good smattering of Connie Francis, Hank Williams(Sr) and David Rose. If one remembers these tracks and had the original MGM 45rpm records this is a perfect replacement and full of memories. Clean transfers all. Go for it if popular music from 50+ years ago is your bag.

Others in the series often prove hard for me to purchase due to Marketplace sellers who restrict international or some countries but the price is a steal for most of these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classics, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovesick Blues: Gems From The MGM Vaults (Audio CD)
There are some good tracks on this compilation, the notes are informative and many of the tracks here were an education to my ears. Simple music, constructed songs, not all great, but fun music from less complicated times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovesick Blues: Gems From The MGM Vaults (Audio CD)
great.bit of oldies music, Love this old stuff this sort of sound will always be around. it is always nice to here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great memory jogger for those tunes you have long forgotten, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovesick Blues: Gems From The MGM Vaults (Audio CD)
This takes me back to my teenage years when 45rpm records were all the rage. This album contains tunes I well remembered along with others. Back then it was very common for many singer/labels to produce cover versions of current songs so there are some track that I remeber that were sung by another artist. Great value for money though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gems and Understatement, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovesick Blues: Gems From The MGM Vaults (Audio CD)
A brilliant collection of time gone by memorabilia from Sheb Wooley in 1958 through to Sue Lyon in 1962, 75 great tracks, some not heard of before and all good quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value., 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovesick Blues: Gems From The MGM Vaults (Audio CD)
A very good collection of oldies, which is good to reminisce with. Good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lovesick Blues: Gems From The MGM Vaults
Lovesick Blues: Gems From The MGM Vaults by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews