Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars34
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£5.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
One Day Music DAY2CD205
This 2 CD set covers the formative years of Dusty Springfield through her recordings as part of The Lana Sisters (CD2) and as a member of the trio The Springfields.
CD1 concentrates on recordings from 1961 & 1962. She signed to the Philips label in May 1961 and this resulted in a number of albums and EPs from the group and it is these that provide the music for the first CD. The Springfield LPs are Kinda Folksy and then Silver Threads and Golden Needles plus singles from 1961/62. The song Island of Dreams was to chart at number 5 in the UK in 1963 the year the trio disbanded.
CD2 has the A&B sides of the singles output of The Lana Sisters who recorded for the Fontana label in 1958. The group had plenty of television exposure and success but it was not the musical direction that Dusty wanted to stay within.
The liner notes for this set are from Helen Akitt and the visual presentation of the packaging is excellent with a colour image of The Springfields on the cover and numerous smaller images of Dusty with both The Lana Sisters and the Springfields and solo. The sound transfers are excellent throughout. Running times 64.41 for CD1 & 33.09 for CD 2.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 26 May 2013
takes me back to a brilliant time, brilliant music, learnt something I didn't know, that Dusty began before the Springfields, but what a start for one of the greatest female voices of all time.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 9 June 2013
Most people know before her incredible solo career Dusty was a member of The Springfields, but I wonder just how many know she was in The Lana Sisters before that ?
Well, now you can hear Dusty's output before 1963 with this retrospective on both The Springfields AND The Lana Sisters. Firstly The Lana Sisters who along with The Beverley Sisters and later The Kaye Sisters were about all the UK had as far as 'girl groups' were concerned. They were 'poppy', but also more adventreous than the others with their material choices. Today it does sound dated, but it's a great picture of what pop music was like in the late 50's/early 60's.
The Springfields (mainly due to Dusty's superb voice) quickly became the most popular UK group winning several awards, but they saw The Merseybeat sound and The Beatles coming up, so at the height of their popularity they broke up. Many fans couldn't understand this at the time, but out of it came the greatest female singer the UK has ever had - Dusty was about to GO and show the world 'perfection'
This collection of nearly all of The Springfield's recordings just shows the sheer quality and class Dusty brought to pop music. Here we have some great songs ('Say I won't be there', 'Island of dreams', 'Silver threads and golden needles' etc), through to some of the most memorable and tuneful songs from South America and the US,as well as a couple of 'happy twee ditty's' that they most probably wished no one would remember!
This is a WONDERFUL collection, and should be purchased by everyone who loves pop music and nostalgia..especially at this price.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 4 June 2013
Back in the early 60's The Springfields were my favourite group, when Dusty went solo it was the start of an even greater career.

Dusty often said The Springfields were loud and cheerful, yes they were but they sang some beautiful ballads too like No Sad Songs For Me & Two Brothers - the latter is included in this set. The final track will also please a lot of people as Star Of Hope was the B side to their Christmas single Bambino,

The harmony between Dusty, Tom & Mike was excellent and Dusty's voice rang out loud and clear - these were the recordings that made me sit up and take notice of THAT VOICE - -Dusty was so unique.

The quality of the discs is wonderful as is the sleeve, even I have not seen some of the pictures included so that was an extra surprise.

The Springfields happy melodies always pick you up if you're feeling down, I never tire of hearing anything that includes Dusty's voice.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 13 July 2013
I loved the original springfields and used to have the seven inch vynyls, now I am pleased to be able to hear them in the advanced sound of compact discs.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
Introducing The Springfields has Original recordings by the group.
Of course Dusty was to go on to solo stardom or should that be Stellerdom?

But this is a chance to hear where she first started with her brother in a Trio called the Springfields.
The price is an absolute bargain.
Its a double CD and at around three pounds is the price you 'd pay in the sixties for two LPs!

AT the time of writing Amazon have scrunched up all the tracks so if you're like me and prefer then to be spaced out then this is for you.
This is not in anysense a review just and aid.

CD 1-The Springfields

1.Island Of Dreams
3.Silver Threads And Golden Needles
4.Dear John
5.Swahili Papa
7.Allentown Jail
8.Gotta Travel On
9.Dear Hearts And Gentle People
10.Goodnight Irene
11.Wimoweh Mambo
12.The Johnson Boys
13.The Green Leaves Of Summer
14.Good News
15.Far Away Places
16.The Black Hills Of Dakota
17.Row, Row, Row
18.Lonesome Traveler
19.I Done What They Told Me
20.Two Brothers
21.Eso Es El Amor
22.Aunt Rhody
23.Tzena, Tzena, Tzena
24.They Took John Away
25.Silver Dollar
26.Say I Won't Be There
27.Little Boat
28.Star Of Hope

CD Two -The Lana Sisters

1.Chimes Of Arcady
2.Ring-A My Phone
4.Cry, Cry Baby
5.Mister Dee-Jay
6.Tell Him No
7.(Seven Little Girls) Sitting In The Back Seat
8.Sitting On The Sidewalk
9.My Mother's Eyes
10.You've Got What It Takes
11.Someone Loves You, Joe
12.Tintarella Di Luna (Magic Colour Of The Moonlight)
14.Down South
15. The Old Mountains of Holderness.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 22 August 2013
I enjoyed the Springfield's disc and it was a good indicator to the future Dusty Springfield. The Lana Sisters disc is just a novelty and explains their early demise.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2015
Nostalgia at it's best. This was the beginning of the career of the great Dusty Springfield. I can still remember seeing her in her fishnet stockings, stood on a box between her brother Tom and the other guy whose name escapes me, on the 6-5 Special. Great singing in harmony and I've always loved women in fishnet stocking since then. This catalogues Dusty's early career with the Lana Sisters (who I'd been unaware of. So if you love Dusty and Great Harmony's give it a whirl
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 18 May 2013
I agree totaly with Mr Cook above great album of dusty and would recommend
this disc to anyone who loves dusty..
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2013
i have been a fan of the seekers and peter, paul and mary for many years.
the springfields are a group I was very interested in but until now I only had their singles on compilation albums.
it is great to have the original recordings in perfect quality,island of dreams still brings a tear to my eye.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
The Very Best Of
The Very Best Of by The Seekers (Audio CD - 1997)

Silver & Gold
Silver & Gold by The Springfields (Audio CD - 2014)

On An Island Of Dreams
On An Island Of Dreams by Springfields (Audio CD - 2007)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.