Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superior early career retrospective...
One Day Music DAY2CD205
This 2 CD set covers the formative years of Dusty Springfield through her recordings as part of The Lana Sisters (CD2) and as a member of the trio The Springfields.
CD1 concentrates on recordings from 1961 & 1962. She signed to the Philips label in May 1961 and this resulted in a number of albums and EPs from the group and it is these...
Published 23 months ago by C. FULLER

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
HILLBILLY TYPE STUFF DONT LIKE
Published 2 months ago by Barbara


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superior early career retrospective..., 24 May 2013
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Introducing The Springfields [Double CD] (Audio CD)
One Day Music DAY2CD205
This 2 CD set covers the formative years of Dusty Springfield through her recordings as part of The Lana Sisters (CD2) and as a member of the trio The Springfields.
CD1 concentrates on recordings from 1961 & 1962. She signed to the Philips label in May 1961 and this resulted in a number of albums and EPs from the group and it is these that provide the music for the first CD. The Springfield LPs are Kinda Folksy and then Silver Threads and Golden Needles plus singles from 1961/62. The song Island of Dreams was to chart at number 5 in the UK in 1963 the year the trio disbanded.
CD2 has the A&B sides of the singles output of The Lana Sisters who recorded for the Fontana label in 1958. The group had plenty of television exposure and success but it was not the musical direction that Dusty wanted to stay within.
The liner notes for this set are from Helen Akitt and the visual presentation of the packaging is excellent with a colour image of The Springfields on the cover and numerous smaller images of Dusty with both The Lana Sisters and the Springfields and solo. The sound transfers are excellent throughout. Running times 64.41 for CD1 & 33.09 for CD 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sprngfields / lana sisters, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introducing The Springfields [Double CD] (Audio CD)
takes me back to a brilliant time, brilliant music, learnt something I didn't know, that Dusty began before the Springfields, but what a start for one of the greatest female voices of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JOYOUS SOUNDS, 4 Jun. 2013
By 
K. Johansen "luvmusic" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Introducing The Springfields [Double CD] (Audio CD)
Back in the early 60's The Springfields were my favourite group, when Dusty went solo it was the start of an even greater career.

Dusty often said The Springfields were loud and cheerful, yes they were but they sang some beautiful ballads too like No Sad Songs For Me & Two Brothers - the latter is included in this set. The final track will also please a lot of people as Star Of Hope was the B side to their Christmas single Bambino,

The harmony between Dusty, Tom & Mike was excellent and Dusty's voice rang out loud and clear - these were the recordings that made me sit up and take notice of THAT VOICE - -Dusty was so unique.

The quality of the discs is wonderful as is the sleeve, even I have not seen some of the pictures included so that was an extra surprise.

The Springfields happy melodies always pick you up if you're feeling down, I never tire of hearing anything that includes Dusty's voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars memories, 13 July 2013
By 
Mr R P Coulson (WALLASEY, MERSEYSIDE, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introducing The Springfields [Double CD] (Audio CD)
I loved the original springfields and used to have the seven inch vynyls, now I am pleased to be able to hear them in the advanced sound of compact discs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Clear Track Listing-Dear Hearts And Gentle People-Good News, 18 May 2013
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Introducing The Springfields [Double CD] (Audio CD)
Introducing The Springfields has Original recordings by the group.
Of course Dusty was to go on to solo stardom or should that be Stellerdom?

But this is a chance to hear where she first started with her brother in a Trio called the Springfields.
The price is an absolute bargain.
Its a double CD and at around three pounds is the price you 'd pay in the sixties for two LPs!

AT the time of writing Amazon have scrunched up all the tracks so if you're like me and prefer then to be spaced out then this is for you.
This is not in anysense a review just and aid.

CD 1-The Springfields

1.Island Of Dreams
2.Breakaway
3.Silver Threads And Golden Needles
4.Dear John
5.Swahili Papa
6.Bambino
7.Allentown Jail
8.Gotta Travel On
9.Dear Hearts And Gentle People
10.Goodnight Irene
11.Wimoweh Mambo
12.The Johnson Boys
13.The Green Leaves Of Summer
14.Good News
15.Far Away Places
16.The Black Hills Of Dakota
17.Row, Row, Row
18.Lonesome Traveler
19.I Done What They Told Me
20.Two Brothers
21.Eso Es El Amor
22.Aunt Rhody
23.Tzena, Tzena, Tzena
24.They Took John Away
25.Silver Dollar
26.Say I Won't Be There
27.Little Boat
28.Star Of Hope

CD Two -The Lana Sisters

1.Chimes Of Arcady
2.Ring-A My Phone
3.Buzzin'
4.Cry, Cry Baby
5.Mister Dee-Jay
6.Tell Him No
7.(Seven Little Girls) Sitting In The Back Seat
8.Sitting On The Sidewalk
9.My Mother's Eyes
10.You've Got What It Takes
11.Someone Loves You, Joe
12.Tintarella Di Luna (Magic Colour Of The Moonlight)
13.Two-Some
14.Down South
15. The Old Mountains of Holderness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Springfields sing again!, 9 Jun. 2013
By 
B. T. Fidler (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introducing The Springfields [Double CD] (Audio CD)
Most people know before her incredible solo career Dusty was a member of The Springfields, but I wonder just how many know she was in The Lana Sisters before that ?
Well, now you can hear Dusty's output before 1963 with this retrospective on both The Springfields AND The Lana Sisters. Firstly The Lana Sisters who along with The Beverley Sisters and later The Kaye Sisters were about all the UK had as far as 'girl groups' were concerned. They were 'poppy', but also more adventreous than the others with their material choices. Today it does sound dated, but it's a great picture of what pop music was like in the late 50's/early 60's.
The Springfields (mainly due to Dusty's superb voice) quickly became the most popular UK group winning several awards, but they saw The Merseybeat sound and The Beatles coming up, so at the height of their popularity they broke up. Many fans couldn't understand this at the time, but out of it came the greatest female singer the UK has ever had - Dusty was about to GO and show the world 'perfection'
This collection of nearly all of The Springfield's recordings just shows the sheer quality and class Dusty brought to pop music. Here we have some great songs ('Say I won't be there', 'Island of dreams', 'Silver threads and golden needles' etc), through to some of the most memorable and tuneful songs from South America and the US,as well as a couple of 'happy twee ditty's' that they most probably wished no one would remember!
This is a WONDERFUL collection, and should be purchased by everyone who loves pop music and nostalgia..especially at this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Album, 18 May 2013
By 
B. Griffiths (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introducing The Springfields [Double CD] (Audio CD)
I agree totaly with Mr Cook above great album of dusty and would recommend
this disc to anyone who loves dusty..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia at it's best. This was the beginning of the career of ..., 18 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introducing The Springfields [Double CD] (Audio CD)
Nostalgia at it's best. This was the beginning of the career of the great Dusty Springfield. I can still remember seeing her in her fishnet stockings, stood on a box between her brother Tom and the other guy whose name escapes me, on the 6-5 Special. Great singing in harmony and I've always loved women in fishnet stocking since then. This catalogues Dusty's early career with the Lana Sisters (who I'd been unaware of. So if you love Dusty and Great Harmony's give it a whirl
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introducing The Springfields [Double CD] (Audio CD)
Good pair of CDs for the era of the Springfields etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memorys never die., 25 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introducing The Springfields [Double CD] (Audio CD)
Dusty may have left us, but she still sounds great, even on this CD going back to the start of her career.
A must for any collector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Introducing The Springfields [Double CD]
Introducing The Springfields [Double CD] by The Springfields (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews