Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars125
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 May 2013
I have followed Tom Bruce via twitter so decided to sample his book "Every inch of the way" on Kindle. The first 10 pages hooked me so I bought the whle thing.

Im a big fan of the late Anne Mustoe and alwaus enjoyed her descriptions of places and eventd but Tom has a very different style to her. Where Anne talks about the historical significance Tom describes the actual ride, his camping spots and the food he eats along with some detail of the landscape.

As someone who aspires to make this journey, Tom's book has inspired me further. His description of the 'stans' and the Pamir highway make.me want to grab my bike and set off tomorrow.

This has been a great read and I completed the book in one session. I commend it to anyone with an interest in cycling or travel
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
I have read several books by round the world cyclist and this is probably the best. This is partly due to the unusual route he chooses, visiting the republics of the former Soviet Union and partly to his simple, honest writing style. a great read
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2014
One of my favourite cycling books. And I have read quite a few!
I like to call it a Blook. Where blog meets book. No nonsense, no fluff, just one geezer and his bike on a journey around the world. This is not a journey of corporate sponsors, support vehicles, massage teams and big budgets; this is fixing dodgy wheels with gaffer tape, missing the girlfriend, cheap food, camping in a hedge, rural hospitality, embassy queue's, wrong directions and more...and that's what i love about it.
Real, honest and very enjoyable read. Bear Grills on wheels. A great motivator to explore you're village, countryside, island, continent, or world on a bike.
Order the book, enjoy the read and if you're like me you will be ordering panniers in no time!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2014
This is an inspiring book and Tom Bruce's enthusiasm is infectious. The section of the book that covers Asia is excellent. The section covering America is rather more hurried and you certainly feel that he was looking forward to finishing the journey by then. If you don't own a touring bike already, you'll want to buy one after this.

I felt I couldn't give it a full 5 stars as there were so many typos in the text - did anyone actually proof read this book before it was printed?! Some of the typos are ridiculous... at one point he asks 'Who rides a bike through a massive dessert?'. He also repeats himself in some of the lines.

It's still worth reading however and I was sorry to finish it - I think.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
Fascinating account of Toms journey; many of the places I have visited but not on a bike! Unfortunately late 60's is a bit late to plan even a part of such a journey, but what an inspiration for younger sets of legs and minds.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2014
I thoroughly enjoyed the way Tom writes of his development as a touring cyclist from taking the wrong turn from home to managing adverse conditions and awkward customs in Asia.
He has clearly loved doing the trip and where he has struggled he has honestly recorded his trials. You can only admire his strength and determination to persevere each day and complete his self-set goals.
A few words of constructive criticism - there were a few too many typos which interrupt the flow of the text and the reader's enjoyment. However, this can easily be resolved and make a good read even better.
Tom has definitely motivated me to visit the 'Stans' and the Pamir highway - but maybe not on a bike!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2015
Can't say I've read every account of cycling circumnavigations but this one was well worth the time invested.
Congratulations Tom, a) For the huge achievement & b) For sharing your experiences.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2014
Follow the adventures of the then 24 year old Tom Bruce (he celebrated his 25th birthday on this adventure) as he cycles around the world. Meet the cultures and peoples of many different countries and be inspired by the generosity of the people Tom met along the way on his epic ride, Share his angst at leaving his girlfriend behind and his joy at meeting her on the way. Ride solo with him as he crosses deserts and enjoy the companionship of friends he meets along the way. Experience the highs and lows of cycling 1000's of miles around the world, but most of all admire this young man from Wales who followed his dream that changed his life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
Really enjoyed reading this amazing story. To cycle around the world would seem to be impossible but this shows what can be achieved if you put your mind to it (and are young and fit).
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2014
Very interesting journey through places I knew little about. His adventure is told In an entertaining and informative way and holds your interest throughout. Highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)