Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tempts even the most seasoned traveller to take a braver culinary step
In Down and Out, would be chef Lenny navigates a precarious path in his quest to set up his own restaurant in a place in the sun.

Whilst this travelogue follows the usual backpacker circuit of Thailand, Vietnam and Cambodia, (the standard destinations for those 'doing Asia'), Down and Out stands out in that it takes you well off of the culinary beaten track...
Published 24 months ago by Claire

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Vaguely interesting
Some interesting parts about SE Asia, but the author comes across as a boastful know-it-all and I don't think knows as much about the world of cooking as he would like his readers to believe.

An ok, light hearted holiday read
Published 17 months ago by knightknight


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Vaguely interesting, 8 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Down And Out In South East Asia (Kindle Edition)
Some interesting parts about SE Asia, but the author comes across as a boastful know-it-all and I don't think knows as much about the world of cooking as he would like his readers to believe.

An ok, light hearted holiday read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little bit of a ramble...., 22 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Down And Out In South East Asia (Kindle Edition)
A good read as I was travelling around Asia, good to take note of the recommended restaurants etc. bit of a ramble in places though, but ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tempts even the most seasoned traveller to take a braver culinary step, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Down And Out In South East Asia (Kindle Edition)
In Down and Out, would be chef Lenny navigates a precarious path in his quest to set up his own restaurant in a place in the sun.

Whilst this travelogue follows the usual backpacker circuit of Thailand, Vietnam and Cambodia, (the standard destinations for those 'doing Asia'), Down and Out stands out in that it takes you well off of the culinary beaten track and the staple dishes that feature in your Lonely Planet guide food section. Your taste buds tingle from the exotic flavours and street foods that Lenny seeks out with sweaty determination, tempting even the most seasoned traveller to want return to take a braver step in their digestive exploration of this part of the world.

But as always, the longer you stay, the more you see and Lenny has his mettle tested in this seemingly exotic idyll by its less attractive underbelly made up of a strange collection of misfits who have long since lost their grasp of reality and in some cases, their moral compass, if they ever had one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christian Williams, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Down And Out In South East Asia (Kindle Edition)
Down and Out In South Eat Asia is a great read from start to finish. It takes you from the grim reality of 'The Hill' with it's truly bizarre characters to the food markets of Vietnam and Cambodia, where some of the of the best eating is to be found. Finishing the book made me look into a holiday in South East Asia and I might just do it, but I will be giving 'The Hill' a wide berth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SE Asian food off the banana pancake trail, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Down And Out In South East Asia (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book, and it made me slightly ashamed of my own rather pedestrian gustatory experiences in Asia.

This is no hippie-dippie 'how I found myself in Asia' travelogue: Alex shows us the darker, grittier side of life in another world, generously spiced with well-researched helpings of real Vietnamese and Cambodian cooking.

I would recommend this book to anyone with an interest in Asian food or travel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great value, 16 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Down And Out In South East Asia (Kindle Edition)
An education in a few areas of South East Asia which I have yet to visit. Shocking and educational in equal parts. Not sure I'm ever going to visit Cambodia, but loved learning about the food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 21 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Down And Out In South East Asia (Kindle Edition)
I have read this authors other books and to be honest this one is right up there with them . I loved to hear about his travels.. the way he gives us the recipes.. ( although not too much detail ) was almost like listening to Rick Stein. I felt by the end of the book I had been tagging along with him.. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read!, 25 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Down And Out In South East Asia (Kindle Edition)
Anyone who appreciates good writing and food must surely get this! Humorous, emotional and utterly engaging, Alex paints a personal and interesting picture of his travels in S.E. Asia in the pursuit of good food, cooking and living a dream. Get this, you won't regret it. I didn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars leaves you wanting more, 31 Dec. 2013
By 
B "B" (Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Down And Out In South East Asia (Kindle Edition)
Read it while on holiday in Cambodia and Vietnam. Alex visits the same places and eats some of the same things. Easy reading, enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating insight in to SEAsian food and travel, 10 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Down And Out In South East Asia (Kindle Edition)
Well written book describing the travels of a young chef in S E Asia .Some hilarious tales of Food and experiences along the way as the chef searches for recipe's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Down And Out In South East Asia
£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews