Customer Reviews


212 Reviews
5 star:
 (91)
4 star:
 (84)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nicely Researched and Engaging Exploration on Life in a Victorian Asylum
Mark Stevens delivers a relatively well-written and researched exploration of life in Broadmoor in late-Victorian England. This book offers an insight into daily life inside the asylum and of the patients, inmates, and professionals for whom Broadmoor became such an important part of their lives. Common perceptions of the asylum system are often influenced by narrow and...
Published on 11 Sep 2011 by Jeff M

versus
54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An incredible work of research.
I purchased this for free on my Kindle, mistakenly thinking it would be a broad strokes description of victorian crime and punishment with a few details thrown in, assembled in a way that makes it easy to read and learn from.

It is actually more a list of very thoroughly researched case histories which, although they have interest and merit, does not a...
Published on 5 Nov 2011 by kindler


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nicely Researched and Engaging Exploration on Life in a Victorian Asylum, 11 Sep 2011
By 
Mark Stevens delivers a relatively well-written and researched exploration of life in Broadmoor in late-Victorian England. This book offers an insight into daily life inside the asylum and of the patients, inmates, and professionals for whom Broadmoor became such an important part of their lives. Common perceptions of the asylum system are often influenced by narrow and prescriptive interpretations of 'lunacy' and its 'treatments' during this period, and this text offers a more objective interpretation of events, whilst at the same time giving some 'flesh' to the personalities at work. The book is written in a sympathetic manner, devoid of sensationalism and overt subjectivity. There are some minor typos, and I did feel that the chapter on escape attempts was overlong; I would have preferred further insight into routines and institutional hierarchies, and perhaps further examination of some more of Broadmoor's inmates. However, this was an informative piece of good research, which was accessible and educational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interesting read, 5 Sep 2011
fantastic look at the history of broadmoor, i always looked at broadmoor as a scary place but the author makes the reader look at it from a different view and the stories of the different patients are very interesting, the escapes were quite funny! well done for a really good read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars couldn't put it down, 16 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got this book on a free download.This isn't the sort of thing that i usually read but was soon hooked and found myself googling people mentioned as i worked through the book.
Lots of detail and a very worthwhile read.
Thanks to the author for what must have been a lot of research to bring us such an interesting book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A well written and researched book, 4 Sep 2011
By 
G. Whalley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a book of vignettes, brief case histories of some of the many patients at this most prestigious institution. Some of the cases I was already familiar with, the majority were new to me. The author presents his information in considered and respectful way, never losing sight of the fact he is describing people's lives and misfortunes. It is a little lightweight, I was hoping for more depth, however a very good introduction to Broadmoor and 'jumping off point' for further reading, of which there is a good list at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An incredible work of research., 5 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased this for free on my Kindle, mistakenly thinking it would be a broad strokes description of victorian crime and punishment with a few details thrown in, assembled in a way that makes it easy to read and learn from.

It is actually more a list of very thoroughly researched case histories which, although they have interest and merit, does not a page-turner make.

The author writes well and has clearly put a lot of time and thought into the book though and as he states in the preface, he intends it to be a stepping stone for people who are interested in researching similar areas - something to start the discussion and whet your whistle if you intend to devote serious academic time to specific elements of the age and the system.

There isn't much about lunacy in this, despite the title. It mainly deals with petty criminals and people with mental illnesses we would recognise and easily treat today. It is quite a sad portrait at times, and the depth is fantastic, but it isn't an exciting read. The escapes section was my favourite part, all in all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An eye opener, 8 Nov 2011
By 
J. Turner (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
an excellent book, really well written - and for free! It was a 'I don't really read this sort of thing' book for me - but I am very glad I did. It doesn't just feature the 'infamous' stories,like that of Victorian 'faery' painter, Richard Dadd, but covers also the ordinary man's struggles with mental illness. It deals with the inmates assessment process and treatment, their grading into different categories, their work, diet and leisure time. It also shows the staff in a new and often compassionate light, unlike the typical gothic horror that we think of as Victorian punishment. Although harsh by today's standards, this ebook makes for fascinating and compelling reading, and the author really draws you in, showing a fine flare for historical writing. I couldn't put it down, and therefore highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Behind closed doors?, 9 Oct 2011
By 
Jo D'Arcy (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a little book in terms of its length but in terms of subject matter it is vast, and one that could lead to further reading. Mark Stevens has access to the historic records of Broadmoor, as he is an archivist at the Berkshire Record Office.

What he has done, has allowed those who are fascinated by crime, the Victorian era and perhaps the historic placement of mental health in the wider world to dip in and out of a book which fills in so much about a hospital. From its inception, the book covers the structure of the buildings and the way they were set out with a few of the more well known Victorian inmates who were detained 'at pleasure'. Babies that were born into an institution through no fault of their own and many who decided that it would be the best place to escape from. It appears that insanity was seen by some 'career' criminals as an easy way to gain access to the outside world through the gates of Broadmoor.

Obviously there is only certain things that are covered in this book, it is short, but there are restrictions due to the age of records, and obviously the security of the place. This was a really interesting book and I learnt a lot from it, that it has piqued my interest and I then went and read more about the hospital. In a macabre sort of way a nice change to read some excellent non-fiction which sparked my interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short but sweet, 2 Oct 2011
By 
Mr. M. J. Payne (The North) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Would like to say thank you to the author for sharing their research and also for free. An enjoyable look into some of the earliest inmates of Broadmoor. The book contains interesting stories about a handful of the patients, escape attempts and a bit more. Well worth downloading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well researched, 13 Sep 2011
By 
P Beech "paulabeech" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An interesting history of the early days of Broadmoor. A useful insight into Victorian attitudes to ' lunacy'. A large number of names, dates and details that I found difficult to keep track of. I would have liked more detail about the characters involved but I know that was not the intention of the author, nor was the information accessible. Thank you for providing this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and well written, recommended!, 26 Sep 2011
By 
Sandy M "The Mad Jock" (in exile in Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As other reviewers have said, this is a collection of stories about the history of Broadmoor and selected inmates. With no prior knowledge of the subject, I found it interesting and easy to read. I would have preferred some diagrams to accompany the stories, but that is a weakness of the Kindle. I settled for a Google Maps view of the current establishment!

A very good introduction to Broadmoor's history, with a strong human interest angle on both inmates and staff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews