Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars14
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.27+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 June 2013
Anne Marie Helder and Jonathan Edwards of the brilliant Panic Room have conjured up this Sheer Delight of an album. The Duo format gives the songs so much room, with Anne Marie's ever versatile haunting voice blending perfectly with Jon's crystalline but ever subtle piano work. The arrangements are beautiful , benefitting in particular from the use of the string quartet in many songs. There's a lot of thought provoking lyrics but the songs encompass a wide range of moods. For me the stand out so far is Rise Up featuring, to my mind, Anne Marie's greatest recorded vocal yet. But really this is An Album in the best sense, a complete piece of work that will appeal to a wide range of Music Lovers. Don't hesitate......
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
Received this album in the post today and I have not stopped listening to it. The music is so beautiful and at times can only be described as haunting and mysterious.

Only just recently discovered Anne Marie through Mostly Autumn (saw them recently and she stole the show) and Panic Room and this album is clearly another wonderful production from two very talented individuals. GREAT CD ....go buy it.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2013
OK, first of all I admit that I'm a huge fan of Anne-Marie Helder. I've followed her career from Karnataka to Panic Room, including her work with Mostly Autumn and others. She is hugely talented - a great voice and multi-instrumentalist. Jon tends to be less in the spotlight, but his keyboards with Panic Room really help shape their distinctve sound. Panic Room are one of my all time favourite bands.

It was therefore with some excitement that I awaited the arrival of their new acoustic side project, Luna Rosas, and I was not disappointed. Here is a collection of 11 spine-tingling songs. Anne-Marie's delicate, emotive vocals blend perfectly with Jon's expressive piano playing. In addition they have employed sparing amounts other other instruments, including guitar, flute, strings and even tuned wine glasses! The music is very hard to classify, but the overall effect is an extremely beautiful and haunting album. It's hardly been out of the CD player since it was delivered.

Buy this album you won't regret it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
Multi-instrumentalists Anne-Marie Helder and Jonathan Edwards created "Sleeping Pills and Lullabies". This album is composed of eleven stripped down tunes performed by Anne-Marie and Jon and supported by a small string section (ten original songs and a cover of "The Book Of Love").

Anne-Marie`s exquisite vocals, Jonathan's mastery of the piano, the delightful string section, Anne-Marie`s flute playing...
A real gem!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2013
Sleeping Pills and Lullabies is a superb first outing as a duo for the wonderful Anne-Marie Helder and Jonathan Edwards from Panic Room. I truly love this album, which is beautifully crafted, delicate and soulful work. Anyone familiar with Anne-Marie's music will expect the highest vocal quality and her performances throughout provide a stunningly strong core around which gorgeous, acoustic instrumental textures have been layered. Sleeping Pills and Lullabies provides magnificently moving and tender music and like all great stuff, the rewards grow and grow with repeated listening. This isn't just Panic Room unplugged; Luna Rossa have their own distinct feel but retain all of the key elements that make Panic Room so great: fantastic musicianship and songwriting and richly emotive singing and playing straight from the heart.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2013
The duo project of Anne-Marie Helder and Jonathan Edwards of the band Panic Room. This is beautiful music, superbly arranged, sung and played.
Moving, uplifting and a joy for the ears !! Buy it people!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
This is a really wonderful collection of songs from two very talented musicians from the Panic Room band. The title suggests you might fall asleep listening to it, but far from it, as each track is just too good to miss and will keep you wide awake. particularly because you'll want to keep on playing it again and again. The combination of Anne-Marie Helder's beautiful voice and all manner of instruments played by both her and Jonathan Edwards is perfect.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
Have listened to this beautiful album since release in early June. Anne Marie's vocals are excellent as ever.Jon's arranging and piano playing exquisite.A wonderful way to enjoy good music
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2015
It's some years since Anne-Marie released "Contact", her solo work, and now, fortified by Jon from Panic Room (if you have not heard them, you must live under a stone) we have this glorious work.
Now no, it is not a solo effort, and it is all the better for Jon's collaboration. Anne-Marie has one of, if not the best voices in contemporary music and it is heard in fine form on some lovely songs with a little less intensity than we have become accustomed to with Panic Room.
Frankly I'd give this six stars if I could.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2016
This album showcases the gentler side of Ann-Marie Helder and Jonathan Edwards of the superb Panic Room. Making more use of Jonathan's piano work, the songs also make use of string quartet arrangement and Ann-Marie's flute . The music is haunting and has a nite relaxed feel than their normal band. Well worth a listen
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£13.16

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.