Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars here's (another) song for ya
Now before you go dive bombing my house with pink pig awards, I would like to point out that I am a huge Whitesnake fan. I tipped over into nutty collector status a long, long time ago, as anyone who has tried to navigate their way through the Snake shelves in the spare room will attest. But I'm not 100% happy about this. After all, we managed quite happily to last a...
Published 12 months ago by Mr. H

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Here we go again,again,again,again
Recorded on the 2011 Forevermore tour,although specific venues are not identified as to where the tracks were actually recorded.This is a pretty good set of Whitesnake tunes,however long term fans of pre Slide It In era,maybe unhappy as there are only 3 tracks (Aint no love,Here I go Again & Fool for Your Loving) from before Slide It In & with the backing band that...
Published 10 months ago by robbo's liver


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars here's (another) song for ya, 17 July 2013
By 
Mr. H "Mr H" (Embra) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Made In Britain/The World Record (Audio CD)
Now before you go dive bombing my house with pink pig awards, I would like to point out that I am a huge Whitesnake fan. I tipped over into nutty collector status a long, long time ago, as anyone who has tried to navigate their way through the Snake shelves in the spare room will attest. But I'm not 100% happy about this. After all, we managed quite happily to last a quarter of a century between Whitesnake live album (excluding Starkers), so do we really need two in the space of six months? And, yes I know that "Made In Japan" was supposed to be a live DVD with the audio as a bonus, but it still counts.

But now we have the poorly titled "Made In Britain/The World Record" spread across two CDs The main British CD sees the band going through the exact same set as Japan, although it is a full length set with `My Evil Ways', `Fare Thee Well' and `Ain't No Love In The Heart Of The City' restored to the middle of the running order. But everything else is practically identical, right down to the grunts and the widdles. Don't get me wrong I can't have enough versions of `Love Ain't No Stranger' and `Steal Your Heart Away', but still. I suppose there will be some Snake fans out there who didn't bother with the DVD so they'll be please to hear a plethora of newer material like `Best Years', `Forevermore', `Love Will Set You Free' and the numbers mentioned above, but for the fanatics amongst us, there are no surprises.

Which means it's the bolted on World Record that interests me more. The furriners get a different track listing so there is room for the likes of `Slide it In', `Lay Down Your Love', `Can You Hear the Wind Blow', 'The Deeper the Love' and trips to Deep Purple land for `Soldier Of Fortune' and `Burn / Stormbringer'. It makes for a much better listen, and is hands down the better CD. I must admit I am one of those people who prefer to hear a concert from beginning to end, rather than a stitched together melange of numbers from 9 UK shows and a further 87 furrin gigs, but you don't really notice the joins. The band are in fine form and as I've said elsewhere Coverdale has dropped down his vocal range, so the strained scream of a few years back have gone. And if your bank balance is starting to feel the strain (and this isn't a cheap CD), then Sir David has some bad news for you.

He says; "for the end of the year, we're hoping to achieve a limited-edition box set for Christmas," Coverdale went on to explain, saying it'll be "`Forevermore -- The Complete Collection,' which will have everything `Forevermore'-related plus outtakes, alternate mixes, acoustic versions of songs, behind-the-scenes footage. Really cool stuff." And for completists like me, this "Made In Britain/The World Record" CD has a bonus Japanese track in the shape of `Ain't Gonna Cry No More (Acoustic)', so it's credit card ahoy once again.

If it wasn't for the second disc I'd be hard pushed to recommend this, and the premium price will put some off. However, if you have the cash, "The World Record" is definitely worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top snake outing, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made In Britain/The World Record (Audio CD)
Now this is what I'm talking about.having been disappointed slightly with the previous made in Japan album ,this for me is a blistering collection of tracks, and as far as I'm concerned,one of the best live albums ever,easily alongside, if not better than, Purple(Japan),Lizzy(dangerous),Ufo(strangers)etc. As stated by previous reviewers,any editing is seamless,and the musicianship and power are jaw dropping.So go buy it ,drop the windows in the car,and turn up the juke box to eleven,you WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HERE WE GO AGAIN..., 21 Aug 2013
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made In Britain/The World Record (Audio CD)
In the twilight of his career,Coverdale has produced the goods again,i've had this(on repeated play) since the day of release,its a belter.If you liked 'Live In Japan',then you'll absolutely love this!!.

2 discs worth of live 'Snake,in glorious sound,production is excellent and the vocals are to,(the occasional screech not withstanding),disc 1 recorded on the UK 2011 tour,no venues listed per track although Newcastle get a mention during proceedings.Replicating the majority of the audio from 'Live In Japan' you may be put off,dont be,this is top notch performances ,cherry picked beautifully,EVERY track is superb,a hearty 5 stars.

Disc 2 shorter at approx 50 mins or so,is from the Eurpean tour supporting the Forevermore disc,so its great that there is only 1 track duplicated with disc 1,again it wonderfully produced and a few acoustic performances thrown in,magnificent,wish he'd called it 'Made In Europe,that might have ruffled a few feathers,ha ha.,again 5 stars all the way.

This is as close to the definitive 'live ' disc for modern 'Snake,so hopefully he can concentrate on another studio disc,maybe even find time to release a few archive live albums individually rather than expensive box sets,just a thought.

Anyway if you were hesitant about buying,no need its excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heres a song for ya!, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made In Britain/The World Record (Audio CD)
Great singer, great songs, brilliant band.
If you like your hard rock "Hard", then this album is for you. Some stand out tracks played the way they should be, loud, heavy and live.
Buy it and turn up the volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Missing just one thing......, 28 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made In Britain/The World Record (Audio CD)
I won't go on too much about this but it is a massive shame that there is no "Don't Break My Heart Again", it is the only missing piece of the jigsaw here.

Sound wise it is better than Made in Japan, they really have cherry picked the ones that came out well (as an aside though made in Japan is worth it for the bonus disc of the soundcheck stuff which is really good). A good live album, we won't get another now so this is your lot i feel. Personally i think the "Live in the shadow of the Blues" double album is better but this is pretty good.

I wouldn't mind one more studio album out of DC before he calls it a day, the Aldrich / Beech era has been awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Here we go again,again,again,again, 16 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made In Britain/The World Record (Audio CD)
Recorded on the 2011 Forevermore tour,although specific venues are not identified as to where the tracks were actually recorded.This is a pretty good set of Whitesnake tunes,however long term fans of pre Slide It In era,maybe unhappy as there are only 3 tracks (Aint no love,Here I go Again & Fool for Your Loving) from before Slide It In & with the backing band that Dorothy currently employs, these tunes are performed very much in a widdly,diddly shredder type way.Sorry but the version of 'Fool' in particular is awful,to this listener,very much in the Slip of the Tongue mould.Positives??The Forevermore stuff sounds very good,especially One of these Days which I'm very pleased at it's inclusion.Love Aint no Stranger too sounds wonderful.Negatives??The bass should be louder & 2 versions of Fare Thee Well seems odd,could've put a different tune in & some of Reb Beach's soloing,as talented as he is, just seems plain WRONG.His solo on Give me all Your Love doesn't get anywhere near the original,he widdly,diddlys on Slide it in & biggest disappointment is the solo on rarely performed The Deeper the love, as the guitarists appear to chicken out of properly tackling Vai's original.Also,I would've like some more tunes from the Good to be Bad album.Also the musical interludes on disc 2 are annoying,very vegas-like padding,robbing the audience of actual songs.Overall not a bad set,the band sounds better on later-day material & Doug Aldrich does a fair John Sykes tribute act on the 87 stuff,but Beavis & Butthead enthusiast, Reb Beach must try harder!!Ideally,you should MP3 the live versions of tracks here off Good to be Bad & Forevermore,then buy John Sykes's Bad Boy Live & Company of Snakes Here they go Again Live.This way you will have all era's Whitesnake properly catered for in the live arena,assuming you already own the super Live in the heart of the City.Bad Boy Live Here They Go Again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant!, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made In Britain/The World Record (Audio CD)
I bought this CD for my Husband and his response is "Simply superb - best ever DC! ". I think he enjoyed it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST OF ROCK, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made In Britain/The World Record (Audio CD)
BRILLIANT ALBUM BY AN EXCELLENT ROCK BAND THAT ARE STILL AROUND RECORDING MUSIC AND STILL WILL BE FOR YEARS TO COME
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars return to form, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made In Britain/The World Record (Audio CD)
this is five stars for one reason the second disk is brill made in japan was ok this is so much better nothing beats seeing them live but this brings back some cool nights and expensive whitesnake got me throgh my teens this helps with the midlife crisis loud powerfull and the band are in top form dont care that dc cant hit the screams anymore this is still good rock music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Made In Britain/The World Record
Made In Britain/The World Record by Whitesnake (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews