Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good!
Saints Row 4 is great fun and it's really everything early GTA's were (Vice City, San Andreas) and then some.

Saints Row 4 takes the `everything and the kitchen sink' approach and throws you into an open world, with a ton of Infamous-like superpowers along with a gaming parody-laden and hilarious story line. The story has your character as the President when an...
Published 8 months ago by M.M

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars And the point of this game is?
Let me just start by saying i have played all 4 saints row games and saints row IV was a complete let down for me. Ok it still has the feel of a typically saints row game but aliens ? Fake reality? I mean come on deep silver! So if you are reading this review and think 'aliens are cool' then i would recommend this game.
Published 3 months ago by deanna


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good!, 29 Mar 2014
By 
M.M - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saints Row IV(PS3) (Video Game)
Saints Row 4 is great fun and it's really everything early GTA's were (Vice City, San Andreas) and then some.

Saints Row 4 takes the `everything and the kitchen sink' approach and throws you into an open world, with a ton of Infamous-like superpowers along with a gaming parody-laden and hilarious story line. The story has your character as the President when an evil alien invades earth and dumps you in a Matrix-like sim world. To escape you need to rescue your team and break the simulation.

With parodies of so many gaming greats like Mass Effect, Metal Gear Solid (that one was particularly good), Streets of Rage, Space Invaders and more. Plus references of 80's classics like The Transformers Animated Movie, Tron and an appearance from Rowdy Roddy Piper....? Saints Row 4 went out of its way to create one of the most fun games I have ever played. The end `dance off' is the cherry on the cake (Mass Effect 3 should have done that instead). Another favourite moment was being sent back to 1950's America and mowing through police with a `dub-step' gun. This is how this game is, wacky to the extreme.

The game play is hugely fun as it lets you loose to explore the city from car to plane to space craft to bounding and speeding over buildings with your superpowers. Customisation of your character is also huge as is customising vehicles.
The only criticism I can lay at this game (and its not a big one) is the side-missions do get a bit samey. I think another reviewer criticised the graphics, but I think they went for more of a cartoony look, like Kingdoms of Amalur did.

By the end of this game I wanted to play it again right away. It's really that good and sadly underrated because of how it is traditionally viewed (a GTA clone). However this is no longer a GTA clone it's very much its own game, but don't take my word for it....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious Game Play, 11 Aug 2014
This review is from: Saints Row IV(PS3) (Video Game)
If you like zany games that push the "acceptable" boundaries, then this is a game for you. Although bought as a gift for the husband, I have been drawn into watching him play. The graphics are good (not fabulous, but it's not needed IMO) and game-play and control is easy to understand. It's an open world, allowing exploration and mischief, and appears to be influenced by (or Parodies of) the Matrix, Destroy All Humans, amongst others. The Super-Human powers add an interesting dimension with, let's just say, "interesting" weapon types.. All in all, a great little game, that will have you laughing a lot at the ludicrous and downright crazy situations. Highly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Madder than a barrel of espresso-fuelled monkeys..., 17 Jan 2014
By 
Steampunk "JS" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Saints Row IV(PS3) (Video Game)
This is the first Saints Row game I've played, so I had no idea what to expect. That perhaps made the game seem even crazier than it was at first.

But to start at the beginning... The graphics REALLY aren't great. I thought it looked like a game from about ten years ago. In fact the whole thing looked so naff that I reckoned I would probably quit after 30 minutes or so.

I'm very glad I didn't. I would have missed one of the most fun experiences I've had on the PS3 for a long time. You soon forget about the graphics, and get caught up in the gameplay. This is like a cross between The Matrix and... well, and just about every other video game I've played recently! The different sections and sub-games somehow manage to copy and at the same time spoof lots and lots of other games, from GTA to the recent superhero games, as you dash around a virtual world in all sorts of outlandish costumes (or none!) wreaking all sorts of havoc.

How good do I really think it is? Here's the answer: I was playing a rental copy. I liked it so much that I've come here to BUY myself a copy. I almost never buy games I've previously rented, but I'm making an exception in this case.

Excellent fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Much to be desired for., 29 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saints Row IV(PS3) (Video Game)
Was quite disappointed the way it was laid out the backdrop was pretty much exactly the same as the previous one skyscrapers and all the only thing that was really different was the alien invasion, and not only the backdrop was disappointing for me, it still has no improvement with the graphics as it kept on glitching between scenes and the people who you get to shoot and do whatever to are again pretty much the same as the previous game and the melee's again the same. I mean when a gaming franchise brings out a new game you'd expect to see big improvements and some people might expecting to use this game as a way of distressing from everyday sort of people but also make it humorous at the same time. I just think it's about time volition Inc started something radically different so it can then compete with rockstars GTA games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars STOP comparing these games to GTA, 15 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saints Row IV(PS3) (Video Game)
I love this game backs they have designed it to be FUN!!! ☺

I love the super powers and clearly they have taken the super jumping from the Matrix films.

The game is not supposed to be a competitor to GTA because at no point could it be considered a simulation of real life. I love the fact you can carry a whole arsenal of weapons at the same time and upgrading the weapons is fun. In addition the gun shops permit you to buy ammo whenever you wish.

THIS IS NOT A GAME FOR CHILDREN. There is a a lot of adult content.

The only problem with the game is that it does crash occasionally. So if this was being sold for £40 I would give it 3 or 4 stars. But for under £10 this deserves 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yo, 30 Jun 2014
This review is from: Saints Row IV(PS3) (Video Game)
Great game came on time no problems with anything *thumbsup* buy this if you liked travelling across the city in prototype. Also blast element is like infamous and vehicles available is insane
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saints Row IV(PS3) (Video Game)
Giving it 4 stars cos the PC version is much better, but apart from that the game is amazing, Havent laughed so much playing a game. The super powers look cheap but are really fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic game, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saints Row IV(PS3) (Video Game)
Fantastic game with amazing graphics and fantastic storyline. The perfect game if you're looking for something a little different. Product was also perfect condition like always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not really a gamer, but...., 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saints Row IV(PS3) (Video Game)
I'm not a big fan of games like GTA and so on, but this makes me laff like a drain and the superpowers are cool. Nice one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saints Row IV(PS3) (Video Game)
Haven't played much of it but from what I have played it's a great laugh and great to pass the time, so 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Saints Row IV(PS3)
Saints Row IV(PS3) by Deep Silver (PlayStation 3)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews