Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I WILL CALL YOU BACK
This is a combination crime-drama comedy which is light on both, but entertaining just the same. Joe Maguire (Brendan Fraser) is watching a shop for his cousin in Ireland. Due to a number of odd circumstances Joe becomes the hostage of a young desperate man (Martin McCann) who recently robbed a crime boss (David O'Hara). As they are held up in the shop, Detective Weller...
Published 15 months ago by The Movie Guy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Just so so
Not the best, liked it because it was shoot near where I worked, but the script isn't too hot, sort of ok but not great.
Published 4 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I WILL CALL YOU BACK, 22 April 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is a combination crime-drama comedy which is light on both, but entertaining just the same. Joe Maguire (Brendan Fraser) is watching a shop for his cousin in Ireland. Due to a number of odd circumstances Joe becomes the hostage of a young desperate man (Martin McCann) who recently robbed a crime boss (David O'Hara). As they are held up in the shop, Detective Weller (Colm Meaney) is outside negotiating.

Fraser and Meany provide the proper light comedic element to this film filled with quirky characters from our stars down to the gypsy Travellers. Meany is the old fashion home spun detective, our Andy of Mayberry. He tries to keep the situation real and low key while there are other departments who make this out to be something which requires major intervention.

The film also includes father/son relationships, Joe's love interest, and of course the Irish mafia. This feature is definitely worth a view. It would make for a good date night film.

Parental Guide: F-bomb. No sex or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another commanding Colm Meaney performance., 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stand Off [DVD] (DVD)
Colm Meaney is a world talent.A film where nature is mirrored to perfection and humour is a supporting feature in process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wacky comedy thriller set in unpredictable Belfast, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stand Off [DVD] (DVD)
Always liked Brendan Fraser as an actor & delighted to see him in N Ireland where the film is set. Lots of local humour, incidental plots so the viewers attention is held throughout. Apart from some bad language, very suitable for a wide range of ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Poor delivery, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stand Off [DVD] (DVD)
The trailer of this film looked better than the actual movie itself, which was disappointing. After purchasing the movie, I waited almost two weeks on my purchased to be delivered and after four different emails at four different times telling me my item had be dispatched, I was left frustrated and annoyed. I'll be using Play.com in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Just so so, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stand Off [DVD] (DVD)
Not the best, liked it because it was shoot near where I worked, but the script isn't too hot, sort of ok but not great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stand Off [DVD] (DVD)
I purchased this DVD for my husband for Christmas and we both watched it together. It was great quality and a lovely movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars my home town, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stand Off [DVD] (DVD)
Amazing! I was there when they shot this film in Downpatrick and met most off the stars. Turned out a better then expected movie!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stand Off [DVD]
Stand Off [DVD] by Terry George (DVD - 2013)
5.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews