Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


109 of 112 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Modest upgrade but with some powerful Develop Mode improvements
This version of Lightroom is for both Windows and Apple, but the Windows version only works with W7 and W8, support for Vista has been dropped (XP support having already gone). It's a useful but pricey upgrade, so I'll describe the main differences I've found in use. These all relate to the retail boxed issue.

Installation was more hassle than I expected. As...
Published on 27 Jun. 2013 by Midlander

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good if you're a first time buyer
... some performance improvements and the healing tool is useful - I guess most of the improvements are under the covers or in features I don't use anyway. Competent, stable, not bad, just no wow factor.

If you're on version 3 or below or are a new user worth getting. If you're on 4 unless you need a specific feature or ( like me moving everything to a new...
Published 22 months ago by C. Page


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

109 of 112 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Modest upgrade but with some powerful Develop Mode improvements, 27 Jun. 2013
By 
Midlander (Herefordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 5, Upgrade Edition (Mac/PC) (DVD-ROM)
This version of Lightroom is for both Windows and Apple, but the Windows version only works with W7 and W8, support for Vista has been dropped (XP support having already gone). It's a useful but pricey upgrade, so I'll describe the main differences I've found in use. These all relate to the retail boxed issue.

Installation was more hassle than I expected. As others have noted, there is no printed guide at all and the Serial number was (unexpectedly) in the back corner of the middle of the three boxes. 3 nested boxes and a sleeve for one DVD and no quick start guide! My first task was to transfer my pictures from the Lightroom 4 catalogue to the new Lightroom 5 catalogue - it is not necessary to re-import them, thank goodness. Searching the web turned up a video by Laura Shoe called "How to Upgrade to Lightroom 5" and I advise watching that before you get started. I understand this works with all previous versions of Lightroom.

I've been using the new version quite a lot and there is no great difference between 4 and 5 in appearance or functionality, although there a few great new tools. It does run noticeably faster and I've experienced no incompatibility issues (others have, reporting losing user presets etc.). PNG output is now supported.

The library/indexing system is pretty much identical - which is a pity as it could use an alternative Windows-Explorer-style view for managing bulk files, renaming etc etc. The improvements are all to the Develop functions so I'll relate my experience with these in some detail.

A favourite new feature of mine automatically straightens tilted images, including perspective distortion, in one click! This is surprisingly good where the tilt/perspective is reasonably clear and usually worth trying before using before the manual tools. Sometimes you will need to tweak the image afterwards, and sometimes it completely gets things wrong - in which case hit Ctrl/z (in Windows) to undo it. Even if you need to make minor manual adjustments, it's still a big time-saver. It lives in Lens Correction > Basic tag > Enable Profile Corrections > upright > auto. This places it near to the Manual tag perspective and rotate correction settings.

The other great new feature is the enhanced spot removal tool. This has two new aspects: one is great at removing multiple spots from dusty subjects, e.g. scanned negatives, while the other greatly extends the (previously meagre) ability to remove unwanted parts of the image. I'll go through these in a little detail as there are difficulties which are not (IMHO) always clearly explained in the manual or online.
I have to say that the spot removal tools are more fiddly and rather less precise than the many equivalent tools in Photoshop, but I suspect this is necessary because the fundamental nature of Lightroom's non-destructive editing is that each editing step needs to be recorded in text format. This would doubtless be very difficult with arbitrary selections, edge feathering, mixing modes etc. So the Lightroom tools appear to be based on the centre point of the selections, a radius and a tracking path - a sort of itinerary/road map really.

As in Lightroom 4, the spot removal tool is next to the crop overlay rectangle near the top of the Develop menu. With individual small spots it remains effective - but fiddly because the source and object circles are hard to differentiate and seem to have a life of their own! As always. Ctrl/z to step back, if it goes wrong. But also use the h key when you have removed the spot (and at other times) otherwise the selections will keep getting in your way when you are trying to do other edits!

Multiple spots and other blemishes can be made much easier to see by using the Visualize Spots tool. This as a tick-box item in the Toolbar under your selected picture (If not, your toolbar has got hidden - press the t key to get it back). This highlights spots and edges in white on black and you can adjust the slider adjoining the tick box until it suits your image. Again press h after each edit or things will get confusing.

The ability to remove intrusive parts of the image (unwanted people, road cones, pylons etc.) has been improved and this seems to be the most popular new feature and is well documented online. Occasionally this works really well, as with the isolated person on a moor and tent in the night examples that Adobe use. With items needing a more complicated selection you may need to use multiple stages (press h after each one!) but, as with previous versions , you can go into Photoshop (CSx and/or Elements) at any stage to use its extra editing tools. I'd advise doing this at a late stage in editing. With CS5, I re-save the edited copy image as an 8-bit TIFF with LZW compression before returning to Lightroom to save on memory as the default 16 bit uncompressed TIFs are huge (you should of course keep the original shot as your master "negative", whether it's a RAW file, TIF or jpg.). Personally, I still go into Photoshop for most detailed editing.

Overall, a worthwhile upgrade if you use Lightroom as your main photo tool and do detailed editing on only a relatively few pictures. I always use Lightroom's tools for whole image adjustments of tone, clarity, sharpness, tagging and cataloging. But I still do not see it as a substitute for Photoshop for detailed editing and adjustments of parts of the image, panoramas etc. On the other hand, Lightroom does have one big advantage over Photoshop with RAW images: you don't need to mess about with Bridge and a separate Camera RAW program . Lightroom does offer much the same functionality with jpg images as with uncompressed RAW and TIF images so if you prefer to work with jpgs, don't be put off by the frequent references to it as "a RAW image editor".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not such a leap over 4 as 4 was over 3, 1 July 2013
By 
A. Chell "Avid reader" (Staffordshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 5, Upgrade Edition (Mac/PC) (DVD-ROM)
...but if you're a 3.6 user like I was, then the upgrade eligibility was a welcome opportunity to take advantage of LR5's new features. The interface still has some foibles I'd prefer to have changed, like the way it groups and orders pictures in the catalogue, but this is more than made up for by the extensive set of correction tools that Lightroom now sports.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good if you're a first time buyer, 15 Aug. 2013
By 
C. Page (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 5, Upgrade Edition (Mac/PC) (DVD-ROM)
... some performance improvements and the healing tool is useful - I guess most of the improvements are under the covers or in features I don't use anyway. Competent, stable, not bad, just no wow factor.

If you're on version 3 or below or are a new user worth getting. If you're on 4 unless you need a specific feature or ( like me moving everything to a new pc/laptop I wouldn't bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Essential raw software just got (even) better, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 5, Upgrade Edition (Mac/PC) (DVD-ROM)
Whilst not a major update over version 4 there is enough in version 5 to bring a smile to the face of LR devotees. The 3 new Develop Module features which really make a big difference are the Advanced Healing Brush; the Radial Gradient Tool and the Upright Tool.

The first of these has to be treated with a bit of care as it is not a miracle "clone" tool but rather a nifty way of getting rid of minor flaws in your shot. These may be just sensor dust bunnies or unwanted items of scene furniture but either way it works pretty well and is a big improvement on the old version.

The Radial Gradient Tool is completely new and is a welcome addition for those users who wish a bit more creative control over their images. It allows you to apply a gradient to a specific area of an image thus allowing you to emphasize that part of the shot. Previously all that was available was a linear gradient tool that affected the full width of the image.

The Upright Tool is, however, the real jewel in the crown. It is a fabulous way of overcoming image perspective defects with one click. My initial experience with it has been very favourable as it has produced excellent, natural looking results. It is much quicker (and seemingly more reliable) than the previous manual correction method of correcting skewness.

Overall you may feel £60 (upgrade cost) is a lot to pay for a relatively minor group of improvements. However, LR5 is now a much more complete package. I find I use Photoshop less and less as a result of what LR provides. These new additions just take that a stage further.

If you have never used LR then you don't know what you are missing. It is a joy to use and makes the post-processing of photos as much fun as it was taking them in the first place. I would hate to be without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the upgrade, 30 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 5, Upgrade Edition (Mac/PC) (DVD-ROM)
I upgraded from 3.6 to 5 (having skipped 4) and it is well worth the upgrade. Some reviewers are griping about the price, but £59 is very good value in my opinion. The installation and upgrade process went very smoothly and my 3.6 catalogue was automatically updated to 5 during the installation process very quickly and with no issues at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthy upgrade from 3.6, 7 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 5, Upgrade Edition (Mac/PC) (DVD-ROM)
I upgraded from 3.6 to 5 with this edition without any incident on PC. I have not experienced any major issues with this upgrade, as the software updates itself to 5.6 (at time of writing this!). Not a radical change from 3.6 but that's not such a bad thing.

I know some people have experienced a slowing of their computers with this software. But I'm running windows 7 with 4GB RAM on a laptop and it performs perfectly. The "Book" menu however, does use a big chunk of time to load itself. Not a bother to me, as I'll never use it in my line of work.

Still the must have for serious photographers...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great software for the beginner or professional, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 5, Upgrade Edition (Mac/PC) (DVD-ROM)
Some fantastic improvements from LR4 and a great upgrade price. You may need a few You Tube lessens if you're fresh to the software, but it's so powerful, you can use it for 95% of image processing. LR doesn't replace Photoshop, but it can do a lot of the same things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential hub for my photographic post processing, 27 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 5, Upgrade Edition (Mac/PC) (DVD-ROM)
Lightroom has transformed my workflow in handling my digital and scanned images. It has automated many processes that I would traditionally done manually speeding up the editing process. Its integration with Photoshop and OnOne Perfect Photo suite makes it the centre of my photography post processing. It's library and mapping functions are great and the development model somehow works magically in the field of noise reduction. To get the best out of Lightroom shoot raw and check out tutorials on the automation features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who needs Photoshop?, 25 Oct. 2013
By 
C. Hawkes "Livefats" (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 5, Upgrade Edition (Mac/PC) (DVD-ROM)
I'm a Lightroom fanatic - apart from layers, this has everything I need for photoediting, and my expensive Photoshop CS6 rarely gets used nowadays. If you're a Lightroom user, version 5 does all it used to, but better, with more tools and display options. If you're not, then give it a try. Lightroom is a bit of a steep learning curve in that it's different from Photoshop - but sit back and let Lightroom control photographs and catalogues, and I think you'll be as happy with it as I am.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damn good but...., 10 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 5, Upgrade Edition (Mac/PC) (DVD-ROM)
I still use another software to finally sharpen images, A lot of mine are taken in low light, typical of the wet cloudy condiitons prevelant near to where I live, Lightroom doesnt seem to have developed really well in that department, so its so far with lightroom, then transfer to other companies software to get the final touch....a little way to go Adobe, but almost there.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 5, Upgrade Edition (Mac/PC)
Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 5, Upgrade Edition (Mac/PC) by Adobe Systems Inc. (Mac OS X, Windows 7 / 8)
£59.09
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews