Customer Reviews


492 Reviews
5 star:
 (271)
4 star:
 (117)
3 star:
 (60)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Improvement on the Last
Thor is a franchise that I have grown very fond of over the past few years; it has consistently proven to me how entertaining it can be despite the extremely old Norse source material. Whether it be the silver age comics that I reluctantly started to read, and found them second only to Spiderman for entertainment value, or the first film that pleasantly surprised me with...
Published 1 month ago by bizmandan

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thor He's a Jolly Good Fellow
The Marvel Money Train trundles on and it is about time that someone pointed out who the runt of the litter is; ‘Iron Man’ makes almost as much money as ‘The Avengers’, the new ‘Captain America’ appears to be very popular, so that leaves ‘Thor’. Thor’s second solo outing is ‘Thor: The Dark World’, a film...
Published 3 months ago by Sam Tyler


‹ Previous | 132 33 3450 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THOR-DARK WORLD, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great mixture of action and suspense that kept me interested all through and hopefully there will be a follow up to this movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars funny and gripping, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thor: The Dark World [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
really enjoyed this film the funny touches throughout make it a great family film too. good action and nice follow on from the previous film with good links in to the Avengers series too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERB !!!!, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The film is superb, an excellent second installment in the Thor series of super hero films. I grew up reading all the comics & the characters are just as i imagined them to be. Well worth watching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great addition to the Marvel Cinematic Universe, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a self confessed superhero addict who will watch anything remotely linked to Marvel and DC. That said I continue to be particularly impressed with Marvel's cinematic output and the ever-expanding universe they have created. I was eager to watch Thor: The Dark World again after my first viewing at the cinema and opted for the 3D Blu ray version. The film itself looks stunning but I don’t think it’s necessarily essential that you see it in 3D. The sequel picks up from the events of Avengers Assemble and the first Thor film. Thor is busy restoring peace in the nine realms, the Bi-Frost has been repaired and Loki is languishing in the cells of Asgard as punishment for his actions in New York. Alan Taylor (of Game Of thrones fame) takes over directing duties from Kenneth Branagh who did a great job on the first film. His style fits the story well especially the scenes set on Asgard and he does a great job managing the films’ huge action set pieces. The plot is revolves around the return of an ancient evil race of Dark Elves led by Malekith played by Christopher Eccleston. Although Malekith is played well by Eccleston his character isn’t really developed or given much of a motive other than wanting to return the universe to darkness. Therefore, he’s largely forgettable when compared to the first films antagonist Loki who once again steals every scene he’s in. The films’ McGuffin, the Aether also lacks menace and impact but Malekith’s right hand man Algrim is a worthy foe to Thor once he undergoes his transformation into the formidable Kurse.
The relationship between Thor and Loki remains my favourite aspect of the Thor films and the two actors obviously relish playing these roles. Natalie Portman's Jane character is given more to do in the sequel and has a great moment when confronting Loki. The climatic battle features some inventive world hopping action and finds time for a humorous sequence in London’s underground. The film in general contains more humour than you might expect for a sequel, which are traditionally darker affairs than their originals. It sets up another instalment with a final scene twist that many may see coming and be sure to stick around for the traditional post credit scenes, one teasing an upcoming Marvel Phase 2 film and another more light-hearted clip dealing with Jane’s ongoing abandonment issues. Marvel continues to set the standard for creating a cohesive and involving cinematic universe and Thor: The Dark World is a worthy into the series. The film is full of action and humour and I for one can’t wait to see what happens next to my favourite Asgardian Thunder God.
The Blu ray contains multiple extras including a look at the upcoming Captain America sequel but the highlight is the All Hail the King short film which looks at what happened to Ben Kingsley’s character following the aftermath of Iron Man 3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've not long watched the movie, literally just before I wrote this review... haha Loved the film from start to finish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 26 Mar 2014
By 
CK (Gloucester) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved the first film and thought this was a wonderful sequel - couldn't wait for it to come out on DVD and wasn't disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, 26 Mar 2014
By 
J. Inglis "jinglis1" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having been a marvel fan since I was a kid I was very happy with this movie. The packagearrived well wwrapped and on time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars better than the first one..., 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you enjoy the marvel films and liked the first one you will enjoy this, excellent transfer of video and audio and a top film for your 3D TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as the 1st., 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed this ad much as the first, and the way they left it open at the end I can't wait till the 3rd. Very good, throughly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another well oroduced DVD in custom with the standard of work by these actors and the distributors.
Thank you one and all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 132 33 3450 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thor: The Dark World [Blu-ray] [2013]
Thor: The Dark World [Blu-ray] [2013] by Alan Taylor (Blu-ray - 2014)
15.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews