Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars1,011
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:£9.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 January 2016
The return of Thor. Yet another amazing story as we see the toll that the fallout of the first film and Avengers Assemble has had on Thors friends and family. Brilliantly directed and scripted this film feels intimately personal one minute and then at an epic scale the next. As Thor begins to question his future at Asgard and his father continues to decline in health there really is a lot at stake when the film starts and when the film finishes. The Dark Elves make for frightening and eerie enemy that poses a real threat not just to Asgard but to the entirety of creation. Riddled with easter eggs and references to past and future films Thor delivers once more on every level. I cant wait to see the Third in his film franchise.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2015
Bought this for xmas, but have only just managed to watch it a couple of days ago. Cant watch it because the in film subtitles (when aliens are speaking) are missing off the screen no matter how much you try to adjust your TV or dvd player, you miss a large portion of the films plot. when they do finally reappear into view over half way through the film, they are in an unrecognisable foreign language which again you cant change. I have tried to find a way to sort this problem on your site but can only find where you have a refund or swap it for something else. I don't want it swapped for something else I wanted it replaced with a dvd of the same film that actually works and isn't a bad copy pretending to be authentic
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2014
Again Loki steals the show, sure the other actors are good, but the classical training of Hildeston shines through, he really is a joy to watch acting.

The plot is ridiculous, the "science" laughable, and the continuity of the story is thrown out the window....but you know what? I dont care, it was really fun, it was spectacular, with great shots of Asgard and other locations with brilliant but not overdone CGI. The action is fastpaced and fun, and the film retains that quirky sense of humor that makes these movies so enjoyable....they dont take themselves too seriously, so we really should not either.

A fun "summer blockbuster" type movie that gives us our superhero fix.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Thor was the Marvel movie I was most sceptical of. How was this frankly ludicrous (though great fun) story supposed to work on film? Thankfully Kenneth Branagh did a great job grounding the characters and The Dark World continues the plot brilliantly. Chris Hemsworth is excellent once more, Tom Hiddleston relentlessly steals every scene he is in and Natalie Portman is fine as Jane Foster (though if you were Thor wouldn't Darcy be much more fun to hang out with?).
I can probably pay this movie no bigger compliment than to say that (unlike Iron Man 3) it doesn't go too far over the top, instead letting a relatively simple story lead the effects and build to a satisfying denouement!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2014
A reasonable follow up to the first film. Having seen far to many sequels, prequels and other nonsense from the fictious land of the film makers (no prizes for guessing) this at least made some effort and so did the cast. It will be interesting to see if the cast come back for the third film and if the script writers don't panic and write some of the awful nonsens that seems to appear in round three of these film series. We shall have to wait and see.

If you like this sort of thing then it is worth seeing along with the other "Avengers" films as they are connected. If you are not into comic book characters then it is not probably not for you.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Thor: The Dark World is the second film in Marvel's phase two series of it's cinematic universe. Carrying on from Avengers Assemble The Dark World sees Thor (Chris Hemsworth) having returned to Asgard in an attempt to bring peace to the nine realms after Loki's (Tom Hiddleston) grab for power on Midgard. During this time the realms are aligning in an incredibly rare event known as the convergence. This event brings forth Malekith (Christopher Eccleston) the leader of the last of the Dark Elves who wish to use it to remove light from all the realms.

I really liked the Dark World though it's not quite as good as the first film, it really shows how Thor has grown though, how he has matured in his duties. It doesn't have as much character development as a whole however and the leader of the Dark Elves Malekith gets very little development, he's just kind of evil because they want the universe dark. This film has a decent amount of humour and all in the right places and although it uses a lot of characters both on Asgard and on Midgard the pacing of the film is fantastic throughout and I thought the ending was especially brilliant.

The acting is great, Chris Hemsworth has really settled into the role of Thor though Tom Hiddleston as Loki simply steals every scene he is in showing his unbalanced emotional state. The guy is just brilliant. The sets and special effects are also superb and really set the scene for the actors, Asgard looks amazing at every moment and the fight scenes have really developed with Thor's move set.

The blu-ray itself has a pretty cool menu using an almost sketch art with the core colour of each character. The extras are also pretty decent. A Marvel one shot mini film linking to Iron Man 3, featurettes looking into Thor and Loki, how the music of Thor was made. Not to mention gag reels, commentaries, among other bits.

Overall this is a great film that has me excited for Thor 3 that comes with some fun little extras. I always thought Thor would be so difficult to turn into a decent believeable film yet Marvel continue to surprise me.

Recommended.

+ Tom Hiddleston steals every scene as Loki.
+ Great sets and special effects.
+ Has excellent humour and pacing.
+ Good extras.

- Malekith isn't developed enough as a villain.
review image
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
The Marvel Money Train trundles on and it is about time that someone pointed out who the runt of the litter is; ‘Iron Man’ makes almost as much money as ‘The Avengers’, the new ‘Captain America’ appears to be very popular, so that leaves ‘Thor’. Thor’s second solo outing is ‘Thor: The Dark World’, a film that is perhaps one of the lesser Marvel films of recent years, but still a lot better than your ‘Amazing Spidermans’ and ‘The Wolverine’. This is a film that stars the charismatic Chris Hemsworth and Tom Hiddleston as Thor and Loki; it is just a shame that happen to be surrounded by charm vacuums like Natalie Portman, Rene Russo and Anthony Hopkins.

‘Thor 2’ sees the return of a race called the Dark Elves as they seek to take back what they believe Odin took from them. To achieve this they much activate the Aether which will plunge the universe into darkness. ‘Thor 2’ is at its best when the action is happening. There is a tremendous fight scene in Asgard and the closing fight set in London is slightly smaller in scale than that seen at the end of ‘The Avengers’, but is still excellent. Hemsworth is still great as Thor, still charming and a little daft. Hiddleston is also very good, but does not really have enough to do here – they are going to really have to justify his return in any future films.

The issue is that the threat just seems a little limp. The science fiction ideas are fun, but like they were randomly plucked from a patchy back catalogue of Thor comics. Some rather dull alien leader using a weapon that could be just about anything. Despite the central thread of the film being a little flaky, the action and humour means that ‘The Dark World’ is still a very entertaining film. It looks fantastic and director Alan Taylor has certainly improved on the action front over Kenneth Branagh. All you can hope for that in the third film Thor has an enemy that will be scary enough and bring out a little more depth in Hemsworth’s portrayal.

The film should be seen in HD as it looks wonderful, especially the final fight sequence and the colours in Asgard. Extras are also good with behind the scenes and a very entertaining short about what happened after ‘Iron Man 3’ ended.
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2015
A great blockbuster. A marvellous British cast along with Hemsworth as Thor and Portman as Jane in the film. Tom Hiddleston as Loki is chilling as he was in Thor and Avengers Assemble and keeps getting better. Eccleston is able to turn a mediocre villain into a terrifying and formidable opponent for Thor. Set in London which was a nice change of pace and the battle at Greenwich. Like all Marvel films, a mix of funny and serious acting all the way through. A good continuation from Thor. Not as brilliant as the first Thor, still a great film to watch.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2013
The film opens with the defeat of Malekith (Christopher Eccleston) who wants to destroy the universe with darkness called "the ether" apparently a hater of the cinema. He is defeated and the ether is hidden somewhere deep where it can't be found. Then the movie title hits the screen: "Thor: The Dark World." Not too hard to figure this one out and since Natalie Portman doesn't work for bus fare, you can bet she will be prominent in the film.

Chris Hemsworth provides us with some early beefcake moments for what is a borderline chick flick. I found Darcy (Kat Dennings) to be the most entertaining character in the film, too bad she was underutilized. The film excelled in special effects, but had a plot we could figure out before the title flashed on the screen, minus some details. Thor was played rather stiffly and made Loki (Tom Hiddleston) likeable. The writers need to lighten him up.

Worth a view on the big screen. We will all add this to our growing Avengers' collection, although I might wait for a price drop on this one.
11 comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2014
There is usually a law of diminishing returns with these blockbusters superhero films. How many have you seen that start strong then pile on more villians, crazy plot lines and unnecessary extras in the later films. Well Marvel seem to be bucking this trend. IN my opinion this is a stronger film with just enough humour and nods to the fanboys to make it rise above the rather dreary recent Batman and Superman films. Plus it looks like it is linking in with all the other films and with Agents of Shield the TV show. I recommend it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.