Customer Reviews


647 Reviews
5 star:
 (380)
4 star:
 (155)
3 star:
 (63)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent But A Slightly Flawed Sequel
Positive.
Chris Hensworth as Thor whom has made this part his own delivering a more human side to the God of Thunder.
Tom Hiddleson scene steels every scene he's in as Loki.
Christopher Eccleston is a surprisingly good in his role as Dark Elves Malekith
Superb well directed action scenes by Alan Taylor that deliver a epic scale...
Published 14 months ago by Timelord-007

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Star Thor's
Two years after they're first adventure, and the passing of Avengers Assemble, things begin to settle down as another old enemy from the past returns to haunt the Asgardians once more. The Dark Elves, lead by Malekith (Eccleston) has another chance to try & send the universe into darkness with the re-emergence of a powerful source called the Aether, and the convergence...
Published 10 months ago by Jules


‹ Previous | 1 2 365 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Good but could have been great, 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film arrived with a lot of expectation from me, i very much enjoyed the first film, but with a new director could this be built upon?
On the whole the answer is yes, this feels like a much more epic adventure, bolder and bigger in scale than the first film. The cast are good as a whole, and the minor charactors are still stealing every scene they are in. My problems with the film are the same as everyone elses, Malekith the dark elf is tragically underused as the main protagonist, with no motivation of depth. Relying on Loki again after the Avengers shows a lack of confidence in the world for me, it is time to rest him for awhile before he loses his impact.
The humour does at times seem misplaced, there are great one liners and sight gags at times, but at others it just seems a bit over the top and misjudged.
Overall although these affect the film i still enjoyed it immensely and will happily watch it again.
The Extras on this DVD are disappointing to say the least, but that is often the way now for DVD releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Different and Great, 25 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an unusual movie and the storyline is great, imagination and ideas that come about are marvellous so the interest is there and so is the cast that are fabulous. Thor is on a mission to stop two worlds colliding with one another, planet Earth and another planet don't guess you will be wrong. Now I rated this an A grade plus for the performances and ideas that keeps the entertainment flying thick and fast keeping us seated during the entire show. A little bit more of a hint and that he is forced to make an alliance with his treacherous brother Loki, Now I have told you very little but suspense is great for the unknown and leaving you in mid air. Now it's time for the trip to the local video shop and corner store for the popcorn, that you'll need for your night of great entertainment that will have you in a spell so get ready with feet up and relaxing, if you have trouble getting it to start don't forget to push play on the remote. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thor returns, 3 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thor:The Dark World was an extremely satisfying follow up to the original Thor movie and the Avengers.Thor returns back to Asgard after the events of the alien invasion of New York with the Avengers against Loki.Thor is reacquainted with the woman he loves Jane Foster, after she is infected with a power source that Malekith, leader of the Dark Elves wants possession of. In a attempt to defeat Malekith and the Dark Elves Thor has to trust and work with his untrustworthy adoptive brother Loki. I loved the first Thor film, the escapism into a beautiful captivating new world, Asgard which in a new turn most of the story takes place in. It was a great film full of great action and emotional moments. The first movie of four years that my girlfriend burst into tears at. I loved it and is one of my favorite movies.

Check out my Blog http://supercomicsmovieblog.blogspot.ie/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the first film, 28 April 2014
By 
S. Bateman (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a big Marvel fan I missed this one at the cinema, and glad I saved myself the expense. Don't get me wrong, it perfectly enjoyable nonsense with good performances from all the main leads, but slightly forgettable in terms of plot compared to the first film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A reasonable effort for round two of the Thor franchise!, 13 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A reasonable follow up to the first film. Having seen far to many sequels, prequels and other nonsense from the fictious land of the film makers (no prizes for guessing) this at least made some effort and so did the cast. It will be interesting to see if the cast come back for the third film and if the script writers don't panic and write some of the awful nonsens that seems to appear in round three of these film series. We shall have to wait and see.

If you like this sort of thing then it is worth seeing along with the other "Avengers" films as they are connected. If you are not into comic book characters then it is not probably not for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thor He's a Jolly Good Fellow, 13 May 2014
By 
The Marvel Money Train trundles on and it is about time that someone pointed out who the runt of the litter is; ‘Iron Man’ makes almost as much money as ‘The Avengers’, the new ‘Captain America’ appears to be very popular, so that leaves ‘Thor’. Thor’s second solo outing is ‘Thor: The Dark World’, a film that is perhaps one of the lesser Marvel films of recent years, but still a lot better than your ‘Amazing Spidermans’ and ‘The Wolverine’. This is a film that stars the charismatic Chris Hemsworth and Tom Hiddleston as Thor and Loki; it is just a shame that happen to be surrounded by charm vacuums like Natalie Portman, Rene Russo and Anthony Hopkins.

‘Thor 2’ sees the return of a race called the Dark Elves as they seek to take back what they believe Odin took from them. To achieve this they much activate the Aether which will plunge the universe into darkness. ‘Thor 2’ is at its best when the action is happening. There is a tremendous fight scene in Asgard and the closing fight set in London is slightly smaller in scale than that seen at the end of ‘The Avengers’, but is still excellent. Hemsworth is still great as Thor, still charming and a little daft. Hiddleston is also very good, but does not really have enough to do here – they are going to really have to justify his return in any future films.

The issue is that the threat just seems a little limp. The science fiction ideas are fun, but like they were randomly plucked from a patchy back catalogue of Thor comics. Some rather dull alien leader using a weapon that could be just about anything. Despite the central thread of the film being a little flaky, the action and humour means that ‘The Dark World’ is still a very entertaining film. It looks fantastic and director Alan Taylor has certainly improved on the action front over Kenneth Branagh. All you can hope for that in the third film Thor has an enemy that will be scary enough and bring out a little more depth in Hemsworth’s portrayal.

The film should be seen in HD as it looks wonderful, especially the final fight sequence and the colours in Asgard. Extras are also good with behind the scenes and a very entertaining short about what happened after ‘Iron Man 3’ ended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loki Steals the Show (again), 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thor: The Dark World [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
Thor: The Dark World manages to break the "bad sequels" curse and introduces us to much more of the Marvel universe while delivering a cracking tale
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If I had a hammer, I'd hammer in morning....., 4 Dec 2014
By 
LINGO (Conwy, U.K.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Thor - The Dark World (DVD)
I do prefer sole hero movies more than the group movies, and this was no different, better than the first movie in my opinion. An old enemy from the Asgardian Tales is brought to the screen with Christopher Eccleston unrecognisable as the leader of the dark evles. Plus the action switched between the nine realms, with the action on Earth taking place in London, woohoo. As a franchise I can see Thor going for another couple of movies, I think Chris Hemsworth is making the role his own, Good stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Thor: The Cash In Pointless Sequel., 2 Aug 2014
Bleak, boring and predictable are just three words that sum up this movie.
Like so many sequels it just didn't match the same level of quality as the first. Oh yes it has plenty of fancy CGI effects but I think this would have benefited more from a far better script.
Highlights of this movie include:
Chris O'Dowd from the IT Crowd.
The predictable ending.
The post credits scene.
Just stick to the first one as this has none of its charm
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A review for the Blu-ray NOT the film which is excellent, 25 Dec 2014
By 
N. M. Heavisides "pulgogi" (bournemouth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thor: The Dark World [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
I hate the blu-ray for only one reason:
Every time you press stop, even if you press play again after just 1 second, you are forced to choose the language option AGAIN, then watch a trailer unless you press MENU, then you are shown:

This film has been viewed before.

Would you like to continue where you left off?

YES NO

This is a truly ridiculous and UNNECESSARY feature I have never encountered before.
I will be buying it on DVD as soon as I can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 365 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thor: The Dark World [Blu-ray] [2013]
Thor: The Dark World [Blu-ray] [2013] by Alan Taylor (Blu-ray - 2014)
£15.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews