Customer Reviews


604 Reviews
5 star:
 (350)
4 star:
 (144)
3 star:
 (62)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent If Slightly Flawed Sequel
Positive.
Chris Hensworth as Thor whom has made this part his own delivering a more human side to the God of Thunder.
Tom Hiddleson scene steels every scene he's in as Loki.
Christopher Eccleston is a surprisingly good in his role as Dark Elves Malekith
Superb well directed action scenes by Alan Taylor that deliver a epic scale...
Published 13 months ago by Timelord007

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Star Thor's
Two years after they're first adventure, and the passing of Avengers Assemble, things begin to settle down as another old enemy from the past returns to haunt the Asgardians once more. The Dark Elves, lead by Malekith (Eccleston) has another chance to try & send the universe into darkness with the re-emergence of a powerful source called the Aether, and the convergence...
Published 9 months ago by Jules


‹ Previous | 1 261 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Star Thor's, 28 Feb 2014
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Two years after they're first adventure, and the passing of Avengers Assemble, things begin to settle down as another old enemy from the past returns to haunt the Asgardians once more. The Dark Elves, lead by Malekith (Eccleston) has another chance to try & send the universe into darkness with the re-emergence of a powerful source called the Aether, and the convergence of the nine realms looming once more in decades. It falls to Thor (Hemsworth) , Loki (Hiddleston) , Jane Foster (Portman) & her team to ensure that doesn't happen.

It's obvious to see that a lot of work has gone into this film in some aspects, yet it doesn't play to the strengths that made the first film a more interesting offering. As then an overzealous Thor needing to be taught a lesson, as he bonds with mortals on Earth in a humorous & exciting adventure of romance, soul searching & action. In the Dark World, the story darts around a lot more which means less concentration on the characters from the first film, and never explains the motivations of the Dark Elves like the Frost Giants, so it's hard to have any empathy towards the movie. The subtle charm/humor of the original shines through in places, but it goes a bit over the top at times e.g Thor using the London Underground, Hemsworth almost winks to camera. Some of the coincidences regarding the portal locations felt a little hard to swallow, along with some obvious predictable outcomes. With it mostly set around Asgard, and with a new enemy & technology, the action scenes felt like Thor had been thrown into some sort of Star Wars cross over movie. With tie fighter style airborne craft, laser/bolt guns, grenades, robotic like masked minions & generally a lot of distracting flashing going on.

What the film does get right, is reuniting the entire cast from the previous film, that when they do eventually briefly appear together they have that great chemistry & relationship from the get go. The humor is good when done subtlety & the emotional crescendos, that are more mature than the first film so viewers with children may want to be cautious, get the attention to detail they deserve. The core idea of the portals connecting each realm is a very interesting one indeed & link up well at the start/finish, while in parts it manages to pull off a few smart story surprises that you genuinely don't see coming. Christopher Eccleston's menacing baddie Malekith & powerful demonic henchman Kurse (Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje) made for formidable opponents in intelligence & strength.

Chris Hemsworth is solid as the now more temperate Thor, which paints his father Odin (Hopkins) as the brash one this time around. Tom Hiddleston has some of the more memorable scenes, carrying on his emotionally turbulent relationship with Thor. Natalie Portman is tossed around in scenes as the carrier of the Aether , not given much time to shine like in the first film. Kat Dennings briefly shines with some flashes of memorable humor as Darcy, with her new almost mute comedy sidekick intern. Stellan Skarsgård is shoe horned in & relegated to a banal crazy scientist role. Idris Elba & Rene Russo also co-star.

In conclusion, with new writers & direction The Dark World achieves being totally different from the first film, which is fine if your in the mood for a fast, effects driven action romp. Personally we preferred the first film better. Contains violence (incl. one very graphic scene) & mature themes. Worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent If Slightly Flawed Sequel, 2 Nov 2013
By 
Timelord007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thor: The Dark World [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
Positive.
Chris Hensworth as Thor whom has made this part his own delivering a more human side to the God of Thunder.
Tom Hiddleson scene steels every scene he's in as Loki.
Christopher Eccleston is a surprisingly good in his role as Dark Elves Malekith
Superb well directed action scenes by Alan Taylor that deliver a epic scale.

Negative.
The humour is a to much in places affecting some of the more dramatic scenes especially in the climactic battle.
The ending is an anti-climax, One assuming this is a plot device for Thor 3?

Trivia.
Keep an eye out for a Marvel Avenger cameo in this.
There 2 post cameo scenes at the end of this movie.

Blu ray Info.
Running time 112 minutes, Region B2, Rating:12a, Subtitles, Director Alan Taylor.

Extras.
Commentary, Deleted & extended scenes, First look at Captain America The Winter Soldier, Hail to the king documentary, A brother's journey parts 1 & 2 featurette, Scoring Thor Dark World with Brian Tyler & much much more.

Quality.Blu ray has a sharp crisp picture & excellent sound, I have experienced No loading problems to date.

Review.
After the events by Loki in Avengers Assemble his adopted father Odin vanquishes Loki to the cells of Asgard to atone for his crimes.

Meanwhile Thor is bringing order to the 9 realms & upon his return to Asgard a new threat looms with the power source used in past history by the Dark Elves run by leader Malekith a old enemy of Asgard who's army was virtually wiped out by Thor's Grandfather whom then banished the power source Aether to Earth for safety.

The Aether is a liquid based weapon of great power capable of destroying Earth, Asgard & the other realms.

Having located a powerful anomaly Jane Foster locates the Aether which infects her prompting Thor to rescue her & return to Asgard with Jane in tow to find a way to cure her of the Aethers possessive power.

But unfortunate for Asgard as Malekith is awakened from his hibernation sensing the Aethers presence set's out to find the Aether locating it's power source on Asgard prompting an all out attack by the Dark Elves.

With Asgard taking huge casualties from Malekiths devastating attack Thor has no other choice but to go against father's wishes & commit Treason & ask the only person whom knows of a escape route through the portals is his brother Loki as Odin has now forbidden the use of the Byfrost to travel though the realms.

Can Thor save Jane Foster from the Aethers posseive power, Seek out & stop Malekiths quest to lead the Dark Elves to rule the 9 realms?

Can Loki, Thor's brother be trusted or will he betray his brother & join Malekiths in his evil Quest to rule?

This movie is bigger louder & as action packed than the original movie, It also contains much jokey humour which is ok in small doses but it's continuous throughout which had a negative effect on the movies dramatic scenes making it feel a 1980 Flash Gordon type movie than a 2013 Marvel blockbuster.

Director Alan Taylor should know were the beats for a film go the action, Drama & humour but he makes the mistake of fusing them all together which gives the film a uneven tone.

Chris Hensworth exells at Thor whom has certainly matured into the role & can deliver those dramatic scenes by expression without the need of dialogue & just holds the movie together.

Alongside Thor is another scene steeling performance by Tom Hiddleson as Loki who makes the character both sinister & likeable again along with Hensworth these two excellent actor's keep the movie entertaining.

Anthony Hopkins is usually good value yet lacks the dramatic presence here like his performance in the original movie & seems to just phone in his performance.

Natalie Portman was average for a Oscar winning actress, I felt she was underused in places as there were too many tagged on character's that diminished the drama scenes & affected character development.

A great example of this is Rene Russo as Thors mother Frigga again like in the original film she is underused & is reduced to a few short scenes.

The shock for me was Christopher Eccleston as villain Malekith whom brings great darkness to the role although his Manchester accent at times leaks through in his performance.

There are several decent action set pieces directed by Alan Taylor that deliver scale & the climax between Thor & Malekith was decent but not epic.

Criticisms; The humour which I've already mentioned, The running time needed a extra 10-15 minutes was to smooth over some of the plot holes & the anti-climax final scene before the two post credit sequences which leaves a cliffhanger hopefully resolved in the Avengers Assemble Age of Ultron or Thor 3.

All in all 112 minutes of decent but inconsistent entertainment the homoured tone becomes annoying, But is still Marvel's second best movie of 2013 after the exellent Wolverine.

Timelord Rating.
7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


88 of 103 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What Thor Did Next, 13 Jan 2014
After the life-changing The Avengers, every nerd worth their salt has been dying to know What Thor Did Next. (A reality show HAS to be in the pipeline, right? Like a Real Housewives of Asgard thing, with wonderful asides of Loki judging everybody and... okay, getting off track here.) Iron Man 3 didn't give us any clues what our favourite burly demi-god has been up to, and here we learn why: he hasn't had time to pop by Earth just yet, as he's been busy restoring peace all over the universe. Seems a good excuse to me, mate, but I'm not sure Jane will take it so well!

Befitting director Alan Taylor's Game of Thrones heritage, this time we come to a darker, grimier Asgard. Gone is the shiny, futuristic gadgetry of Branagh's Thor; instead, everything starts falling apart around out ears five minutes in. There are tears in this film, and real losses that change characters forever. The first film was a fish-out of-water tale; Thor was an arrogant boy who needed to grow up and fall in love. Here, he's been there, done that and bought the T-Shirt: this time, he means business, and he's taking everything seriously with a much more mature head on his shoulders, and to Hemsworth's credit, he delivers this as effortlessly as he did the buffoonishness of the character in the predecessor. But it's Hiddleston who's the real treat. He has been excellent in both Thor and The Avengers, but he surpasses himself here. This film really delves into Loki's powers as the god of mischief (watch out for a particularly hilarious, blink-and-you'll-miss-it scene where he transforms into somebody familiar...) and makes a real meal out of his trickiness. And oh, what a delicious meal it is! His murky past, unclear loyalties and surprise alliances are riveting to watch. This may be Thor's movie, but Loki is arguably the breakout character. In fairness, there are no weak performances here. There's a new minor character, 'my intern's intern,' as Jane puts it, who seems a bit redundant, but even he is part of one of the film's funniest scenes, so we'll let him off.

A particularly amusing part of any Marvel movie for me is watching fellow audience members when the credits begin. The committed amongst us are easily spotted; we are the ones who don't move a muscle. While casual fans reach for their coats as soon as the first name flashes up, the rest of us hang on until the bitter end to get a glimpse of what's coming. Here, we're treated to a clip from upcoming Guardians of the Galaxy; but then, we're lucky enough to have another scene, giving us a brief glimpse of Thor again.

My grievances with this film are slight, but here they are. The first was that there seemed to be some kind of aborted subplot expanding on Thor's relationship with Sif. In interviews, I read that her role was to be greatly expanded, and there was even going to be a kind of love triangle between she, Thor and Jane, but this obviously didn't get past the cutting room floor, although hints of it remain intact in places. It's a shame, as I would have happily sat still for twenty minutes extra to get a bit more character development. The second was similar in theme; I wish that antagonist Malekith's motivations had been expanded on a little more. Marvel are usually excellent at making their villains real people with motivations, even with good intentions that became warped; but here, he's a little 2D in places, despite a marvellous effort from a barely recognisable Christopher Eccleston. Still, despite these minor annoyances, the vast majority of the film kept me utterly hooked.

Overall, Thor: The Dark World is a wonderful installment in the ongoing Marvel franchise, and certainly enough to keep me going until the release of Captain America: Winter Soldier in April! And did I mention that I really love Loki? Yes? Okay then...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Among the weakest of the Marvel franchises so far, 20 May 2014
By 
A. Chell "Avid reader" (Staffordshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Tom Hiddlestone is, of course, epic as Loki and Chris Hemsworth has the physical presence and can effect the swagger that brings Thor to life, but other actors and their characters let the film down.

Christopher Eccleston continues his Hollywood career of playing yet another unconvincing villain, while Natalie Portman phones in an unmemorable performance. "Sur An-tho-nee Hopkins' Odin is reduced to the role of Basil Exposition, while the normally-excellent Stellan Skarsgård provides comic relief and the machine that proves conveniently capable of being adapted to fight Dark Elves.

Daft fun, but no classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Improvement on the Last, 14 July 2014
By 
bizmandan (staffordshire, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Thor: The Dark World [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
Thor is a franchise that I have grown very fond of over the past few years; it has consistently proven to me how entertaining it can be despite the extremely old Norse source material. Whether it be the silver age comics that I reluctantly started to read, and found them second only to Spiderman for entertainment value, or the first film that pleasantly surprised me with its seamless transition to the big screen oozing with its Shakespearean prowess. Once again, with the second (or third, if you count the Avengers) iteration of the Thor story, committed to the big screen, my preconceptions have been squashed by the powerful mjolnir.

I thought, with the exit of the Shakespearean seasoned Kenneth Branagh as director this sequel would suffer, as some of its, for lack of a better word, class, would have dissipated along with the grandiose feel of the production. How wrong could I have been? The Dark World improves on its predecessor in almost every way. Quite a feat if you look back at my review of the original Thor film, you will see that I gave it a pretty good score.

Some people would say that the first outing of Thor was a little bit stuffy and slow paced, I would disagree, as I said, I think that the dramatic Shakespearian atmosphere that Kenneth Branagh brought to the film added a bit of class. But if you’re not happy with the franchise going in that direction then what other way is there to go? Well the Game of Thrones way of course! That’s why getting seasoned GoT director, Alan Taylor onboard was a masterstroke by the producers of TtDW. The biggest difference I can see is the character of Thor has been allowed to develop into maturity, he is no longer an arrogant bulk of muscle swinging a hammer, but a responsible conscientious ruler-in-waiting, swinging a hammer. The character is handled well by Chris Hemsworth but the director guides him expertly. This of course goes across the board with all the cast, but a special mention has to go out to Stellan Skarsgård for “revealing” his talents. I just felt a lot more invested in the whole cast to the point that, if they died in a game of thrones sort of way, I would actually care quite a lot (like in game of thrones).

Of course there is plenty of action and thrills to be experienced with in this film, a kind of film making that director, Taylor, seem plenty comfortable with but the real meat of this film lies in the relationship between Thor and his estranged brother Loki. Tom Hiddleston is arguably the star of this film giving the villainous Loki a real human side yet still managing to keep you guessing what his motives are. He literally steals every scene he is in, but this is what we have come to expect from Tom after the stellar performances he has given in the past two marvel cinematic universe films.

If one criticism could be made, it is that the story once again falls back on a McGuffin, this time it’s called the “Aether” but it could just as well be called the Tesseract, oogamafliv or Dave, it really doesn’t matter, but that is the nature of the McGuffin isn’t it? This is a very small criticism though as, I said in the previous paragraph the true story is in the character development and relationships between characters (and Stellan Skarsgård hidden, or rather, unhidden gifts).

Thor: The Dark World is an improvement on an already great franchise, it expands the size of the MCU dramatically and it also furthers the story of all of our favorite characters from the Thor movies in significant ways. It has done justice to all of the fans like me out there and has got me crossing my fingers that there will be a third instalment at some point in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thor: The Dark World 3D Blu-Ray Review, 10 Sep 2014
By 
Mr. P. Halewood "actionadventurefilm" (Newbury, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I’ve always believed that if you are going to see a film, you should never go in with any preconceived ideas of whether it will be good or bad. In reality, this is nearly impossible, because why would you decide to watch a film in the first place, if you were not sure whether it would be worth your time and money? I do not think of myself as a film critic, but I do think it is my duty to try and get to the essence of film reviews; that being is it going to be worth my time and money or not?

The reason I talk about pre-conceived ideas of films, is because there are very few positive things I had read about Thor: The Dark World before seeing it last night. I even saw it recently on one film reviewer’s list as the worst entry into the Marvel Cinematic Universe so far.

Thor: The Dark World is the next entry into the MCU (Phase 2) after Iron Man 3 (not a bad film either) and is a thoroughly enjoyable and entertaining picture. I was watching the film at home on 3D Blu-Ray, and the first thing that struck me was how beautiful the film is. The land of Asgard and the other mythical realms represented in the movie simply look gorgeous. This is one of the advantages again I believe of 3D films (as argued here) is that they can involve you far more within the film. I wanted to fly around Asgard in one of their spaceships all day! Ok, urban London (also represented) does not match the beauty of Asgard but you can’t expect every scene to be a landscape painting.

Regarding the film itself, I’m struggling to find what must have been so unappealing to the hardened film critics. That’s not to say I wasn’t concerned, because at one point (probably about 30-40 minutes in) I was starting to wonder where this film is going. But that brief moment of doubt was quickly extinguished by the wonderful characters, the sense of drama, the sheer ‘epic-ness’ of the film, and as mentioned, the beautiful worlds represented within it.

The first Thor film was one of my favourite entries of Phase 1 of the Marvel Cinematic Universe, and is indeed one of the more darker films that Marvel produce. As you can tell by the name, Thor: The Dark World is very gloomy in parts, yet surprised me with it’s sense of humour. There are more than a few laugh out loud moments, one of the most memorable being Stan Lee’s cameo (I won’t spoil the joke!). Chris Hemsworth is once again on top form as the hammer-wielding superhero, and plays the role with balanced amounts of tension, sadness and humour. Tom Hiddlestone also returns in his role as undeniably the greatest villain in the MCU, Thor’s brother Loki. Whilst he has a smaller role, and is not the film’s central villain, he nevertheless pretty much steals every scene he appears in, with his villainous charm and witticisms at Thor’s expense. To add to this wonderful cast is the returning Natalie Portman, Anthony Hopkins and Rene Russo, among the most prominent names. Whilst a cast does not make a film, the performances do again make me wonder why this is regarded as a ‘poor’ film.

To add the balance therefore, my job is to assure you to go and enjoy Thor: The Dark World, and if you haven’t already seen it, I thoroughly recommend watching it on 3D Blu-Ray. It’s worth the extra money you pay. My random thoughts were that the first half of the film felt like The Phantom Menace (but in a good way) with it’s beautiful golden city, it’s premise of invasion, a floating burial scene, and of course Natalie Portman. With much of the film taking place in London, and it’s scientific (though of course fictional) theories, much of the 2nd part of the film felt like a Doctor Who episode. This of course is helped with the multiple switches between London and the nine realms in the second half of the film.

The rotten tomatoes film site gives an aggregate score of 65%. Personally, I would add another 10% to that. No it’s not the strongest film of the MCU, but as superhero movies go, it is still a thoroughly enjoyable and entertaining epic of a film. Most superhero movies would do very well to do better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'THOR' USES THE 'HAMMER OF POWER' AGAIN', 8 April 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another C,G,I Spectacle to behold.
With Lead cast : 'Chris Hemsworth' (Thor) 'Natalie Portman' (Jane Foster)
'Tom Hiddleston' (Loki) 'Anthony Hopkins' (Odin) and 'Christopher Eccleston'
(Malakith)
The Cosmos is in danger as rare alignment of the planets is about to come
about.
Ancient adversary 'Malakith' has re-emerged 'Thor' cannot combat the enemy
alone, he needs the help of his treacherous brother 'Loki' to save both 'Asgard'
and 'Planet Earth' where 'Jane Foster' lives, 'Jane' the woman 'Thor' loves.
Apparently 'Jane' possesses powers that the evil 'Malakith' will need to fulfil
his intent to destroy both worlds.
Can 'Thor's' brother 'Loki' be trusted. ?
This an Action-Packed visual and enjoyable spectacle in the 'Marvel' Super-Heroes
series.
Great Picture and Sound Quality Throughout both watching in either 3-D or 2-D
(May have to duck a few time with the 3-D version)
Special Features include :-
* Marvel one shot - All Hail the King.
* Featurette :- A Brother's Journey - 'Thor' and 'Loki'
* Featurette :- Scoring Thor :- The Dark World with 'Bryan Tyler'
* Deleted and Extended Scenes.
* Gag Reel.
* Audio Commentary...
Plus Much More....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good CGI and action let down by weak plot and forced humour., 18 Aug 2014
By 
MR "rlawton2" (Swindon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I watched this today followed by the Captain America sequel and where Caps movie shone this one is a bit average and probably one of the weaker films Marvel have released to date.

The film feels like a filler movie just so they could reposition the characters for later films rather than a genuine attempt at progressing Thor's story. The plot is weak (especially if you compare it to Captain America 2) and there are parts that don't fit well. They've tried to place some humour along the story line which just doesn't work and often feels like you're watching some mild Sunday afternoon rom-com with chirpy elevator music rather than a Marvel movie.

The CGI and action scenes are done well and Chris Hemsworth gives a good performance as Thor. Natalie Portman is forgettable and dull as are her colleagues (even when they are trying to be funny). Poor Stellan Skarsgård, who plays Eric Stelvig, is often reduced to the films buffoon character which just doesn't work.

I can't say its a terrible film but its not a good one. I think 3 stars is enough given the good CGI and action moments but I can't give it more as the forced humour and generally dull plot pulls it down. If you had to choose between this and Captain America 2 then buy Caps movie...its far better and more entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh boy - it looked like it might be good but . ., 21 April 2014
By 
This review is from: Thor - The Dark World (Blu-ray)
So, thinking that it might be as good as the Marvel Avengers Assemble 3D film I got this in good faith.

The film effect are amazing, the characters look great.

But the dialogue, although a little funny, is woeful. The storyline is predicatable, but not unlike LOR and other similar films.

Good, if you want to while away a couple of hours multi-tasking between watching the film and reading a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great follow on from the first movie and picked up the baton nicely from the other MCU films preceding it, 31 Oct 2014
This tale nicely picks up where the Avengers left off in relation to the Thor/Loki dynamic and it introduces yet another infinity stone into the MCU.
In this tale the two brothers eventually work towards a common end, Loki seeking to avenge the one person in his adopted family he apparently still cared for and Thor seeking vengeance and a means to save both Jane and the Universe from the mysterious Aether and the dark elves.
The humour in this tale is provided by almost all the cast, from Thor delivering the first bit of fun with the one liner 'I accept your surrender.' To Loki's Captain America mimicry and Darcy's observation that Jane must be trying to drag herself out of her post Thor hiatus because she has showered and is wearing 'lady clothes'.
The fight scenes are well staged, with still more humour and some angst and real misery thrown in, Malekith is a suitably nasty villain, Frigga gets more to do this time round, Sif shows signs of jealousy in relation to Jane and Thor and the shoe throwing scene with the bossy Darcy and the children is hysterical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 261 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thor: The Dark World [Blu-ray] [2013]
Thor: The Dark World [Blu-ray] [2013] by Alan Taylor (Blu-ray - 2014)
£9.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews