Customer Reviews


497 Reviews
5 star:
 (276)
4 star:
 (117)
3 star:
 (60)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Improvement on the Last
Thor is a franchise that I have grown very fond of over the past few years; it has consistently proven to me how entertaining it can be despite the extremely old Norse source material. Whether it be the silver age comics that I reluctantly started to read, and found them second only to Spiderman for entertainment value, or the first film that pleasantly surprised me with...
Published 1 month ago by bizmandan

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thor He's a Jolly Good Fellow
The Marvel Money Train trundles on and it is about time that someone pointed out who the runt of the litter is; ‘Iron Man’ makes almost as much money as ‘The Avengers’, the new ‘Captain America’ appears to be very popular, so that leaves ‘Thor’. Thor’s second solo outing is ‘Thor: The Dark World’, a film...
Published 3 months ago by Sam Tyler


‹ Previous | 132 33 3450 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good film., 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's a pity that Americans feel that everyone is as asinine as they are, as portrayed in the scenes shot in the UK. The phrase, "We are American", does not inspire confidence in what may happen next. Aside from this, a good film to watch, with plenty of heroic doing good going on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thor: The Dark World [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Carries on where Avengers left off, excellent storyline. Teaser at the end sets up the next Avenger movie nicely too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film was a great film loved it, but then again I'm bias being a fan of most of the marvel films!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good film with lots of action and the stars are believable., 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thor: The Dark World [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I .enjoyed this film not like some of the others I have purchased recently. If I can watch a movie a second time then its good and I could with Thor exciting with lots of action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great film, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thor: The Dark World [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
i bought the first THOR and thought that was great but this one is brilliant,and am looking forward to the next,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Film, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thor: The Dark World [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
A great action movie, with some good comedy! Loved it! Only problems were some minor continuity errors and the main villain was completely overshadowed by Loki.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THOR-DARK WORLD, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thor: The Dark World [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Great mixture of action and suspense that kept me interested all through and hopefully there will be a follow up to this movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars funny and gripping, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
really enjoyed this film the funny touches throughout make it a great family film too. good action and nice follow on from the previous film with good links in to the Avengers series too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERB !!!!, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thor: The Dark World [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
The film is superb, an excellent second installment in the Thor series of super hero films. I grew up reading all the comics & the characters are just as i imagined them to be. Well worth watching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great addition to the Marvel Cinematic Universe, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a self confessed superhero addict who will watch anything remotely linked to Marvel and DC. That said I continue to be particularly impressed with Marvel's cinematic output and the ever-expanding universe they have created. I was eager to watch Thor: The Dark World again after my first viewing at the cinema and opted for the 3D Blu ray version. The film itself looks stunning but I don’t think it’s necessarily essential that you see it in 3D. The sequel picks up from the events of Avengers Assemble and the first Thor film. Thor is busy restoring peace in the nine realms, the Bi-Frost has been repaired and Loki is languishing in the cells of Asgard as punishment for his actions in New York. Alan Taylor (of Game Of thrones fame) takes over directing duties from Kenneth Branagh who did a great job on the first film. His style fits the story well especially the scenes set on Asgard and he does a great job managing the films’ huge action set pieces. The plot is revolves around the return of an ancient evil race of Dark Elves led by Malekith played by Christopher Eccleston. Although Malekith is played well by Eccleston his character isn’t really developed or given much of a motive other than wanting to return the universe to darkness. Therefore, he’s largely forgettable when compared to the first films antagonist Loki who once again steals every scene he’s in. The films’ McGuffin, the Aether also lacks menace and impact but Malekith’s right hand man Algrim is a worthy foe to Thor once he undergoes his transformation into the formidable Kurse.
The relationship between Thor and Loki remains my favourite aspect of the Thor films and the two actors obviously relish playing these roles. Natalie Portman's Jane character is given more to do in the sequel and has a great moment when confronting Loki. The climatic battle features some inventive world hopping action and finds time for a humorous sequence in London’s underground. The film in general contains more humour than you might expect for a sequel, which are traditionally darker affairs than their originals. It sets up another instalment with a final scene twist that many may see coming and be sure to stick around for the traditional post credit scenes, one teasing an upcoming Marvel Phase 2 film and another more light-hearted clip dealing with Jane’s ongoing abandonment issues. Marvel continues to set the standard for creating a cohesive and involving cinematic universe and Thor: The Dark World is a worthy into the series. The film is full of action and humour and I for one can’t wait to see what happens next to my favourite Asgardian Thunder God.
The Blu ray contains multiple extras including a look at the upcoming Captain America sequel but the highlight is the All Hail the King short film which looks at what happened to Ben Kingsley’s character following the aftermath of Iron Man 3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 132 33 3450 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thor: The Dark World [DVD] [2013]
Thor: The Dark World [DVD] [2013] by Alan Taylor (DVD - 2014)
9.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews