Customer Reviews


638 Reviews
5 star:
 (374)
4 star:
 (153)
3 star:
 (63)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent But A Slightly Flawed Sequel
Positive.
Chris Hensworth as Thor whom has made this part his own delivering a more human side to the God of Thunder.
Tom Hiddleson scene steels every scene he's in as Loki.
Christopher Eccleston is a surprisingly good in his role as Dark Elves Malekith
Superb well directed action scenes by Alan Taylor that deliver a epic scale...
Published 13 months ago by Timelord-007

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Star Thor's
Two years after they're first adventure, and the passing of Avengers Assemble, things begin to settle down as another old enemy from the past returns to haunt the Asgardians once more. The Dark Elves, lead by Malekith (Eccleston) has another chance to try & send the universe into darkness with the re-emergence of a powerful source called the Aether, and the convergence...
Published 9 months ago by Jules


‹ Previous | 128 29 3064 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars my nephew is so happy with the, 21 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thor: The Dark World [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
...my nephew is so happy with the dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic film and delivered quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thor-some., 4 Nov 2013
By 
The Dark World picks up where the Avengers left off with Loki (Tom Hiddleston) being condemned to the dungeons for the rest of his days by Odin (Anthony Hopkins), and Thor (Chris Hemsworth) trying to bring order back to the nine realms following the battle of New York. Meanwhile, back on Earth, Jane Foster (Natalie Portman) accidentally unleashes an ancient power known as the Aether capable of returning the universe to one of complete darkness. Something wanted very much by the dark elves (their past attempt to unleash the Aether is explained in the prologue) who are led by Malekith (Christopher Eccleston), a man who would literally sacrifice his own to do this. So Thor must defy his father and team up with his treachourous brother Loki to defeat the dark elves and save the universe (and his girlfriend).

The film looks pretty spectacular, the opulence of Asgard contrasting rather starkly with the desolation of the dark elves home planet. There are great performances from the cast so the story moves along nicely and the running time, if anything, is a little short at 112 minutes. The humour comes thick and fast- there some great exchanges between the leading men, Hemsworth and Hiddleston. The latter stealing every scene he's in as silver- tongued, fan- favourite Loki.

All in all Thor: The Dark World is a definite must- see, its funny and action- packed. Keep an eye out for a few cameos (one of which introduces a Guardians of the Galaxy character) and the 2 extra scenes- one mid credits, the other post credits. Fingers crossed for Thor 3 and a stand- alone Loki movie!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Film!, 29 Oct 2013
By 
Just Me :) (Earth, The Solar System, The Milky Way) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Thor: The Dark World [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
After being lucky enough to watch the preview of Thor: The Dark World, all I can say is that I cannot wait to buy this DVD!
Jam-packed full of action, sprinkled with humour, and enough twists and turns to constantly keep you on the edge of your seat - this film is an absolute must-see. The acting is outstanding, with Chris Hemsworth (Thor) and Tom Hiddleston (Loki), to name but a few, excellent as always.
So far my favourite out of the Marvel Avengers films and has left me hungry for more! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Big lot better than in ordinary DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good film, my son and I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NOT the target audience review - but look - FOUR STARS!, 12 Nov 2013
By 
Lola (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Thor: The Dark World [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I was completely ignorant about Marvel, Thor and his adventures, and anything intergalactic and involving sledgehammer. During school holidays, I was dragged to see "Thor: The Dark World" in 3D and let me tell you, I liked it (even though I am as far away from Thor's target audience as nine realms are from each other).

BUT, the two hours flew by. I enjoyed the special effects, the good cast that blends surprisingly well, Thor's brother Loki and his humour. For the irony and sarcasm (which had the audience laughing quite a lot during the movie), the film deserves an additional star.

Without imagining to comprehend exactly how the cosmic disaster would have happened if the nine realms of the universe aligned, Thor, but of course, managed to save the Universe(s). There is a lot of action, but there is also an intelligent dialog. All in all, good fun. Three and a half to four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thor And Loki's Life Unfolding, 9 Nov 2013
This review is from: Thor: The Dark World [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Intrigue and revenge are two of the multiple themes that are displayed in Thor: The Dark World. Both Thor and his father Odin are faced with a powerful but evil leader named Malekeith bent on inflicting suffering. This leader's taste for violent chaos comes from personal tragedy in his own life. I enjoyed the love story that played out between the characters of Thor (Chris Hemsworth) and Jane Foster (Natalie Portman). This is because both characters seamlessly picked up where they last left off from the first film with their relationship. Additionally, Thor's character is shown bravely taking Jane Foster to his world despite how his father Odin (Anthony Hopkins) may act. Realistically, true emotion was also shown when Thor and his brother Loki are greatly affected by an event that would change many people (involving a family member). Idris Elba is given an even bigger influential role in the plot of the film as Heimdall. Heimdall's character portrays a sense of perceptiveness in a scene that involves him foreseeing what can happen on one of the main bridges in Asgard. Just a gentle suggestion: maybe Heimdall could be including with Thor in future films as some type of advisor to both Thor and/or his father Odin regarding protection plans for Asgard and/or other strategic mission ideas. My husband's favorite character portrayals were that of Loki (Tom Hiddleston) and Malekith (Christopher Eccleston). This is because Loki's character is portayed as a strong spirit who wisely knows how to appeal to Thor's heart-centered side while also shrewdly concealing his private and tricky plans. Eccleston's Malekith also appealed to my husband due to the character depth portrayal of what motivated Malekith's actions. Thor: The Dark World is great for those who enjoyed the first film or those who like fantasy films with the inclusion of these other actors/actresses: Stellan Skarsgard, Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje, Chris O' Dowd,Kat Dennings, Ray Stevenson, Zachary Levi, Tadanobu Asano, Jaimie Alexander, and Rene Russo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thor: The Dark World [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
three stars could have been better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Film, 15 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thor: The Dark World [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Good Film, 15 year old enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 128 29 3064 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thor: The Dark World [DVD] [2013]
Thor: The Dark World [DVD] [2013] by Alan Taylor (DVD - 2014)
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews