Customer Reviews


298 Reviews
5 star:
 (151)
4 star:
 (72)
3 star:
 (40)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


78 of 93 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What Thor Did Next
After the life-changing The Avengers, every nerd worth their salt has been dying to know What Thor Did Next. (A reality show HAS to be in the pipeline, right? Like a Real Housewives of Asgard thing, with wonderful asides of Loki judging everybody and... okay, getting off track here.) Iron Man 3 didn't give us any clues what our favourite burly demi-god has been up to, and...
Published 3 months ago by Nichola Thorpe

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tom Hiddleston once again steals the show
When the sequel to Thor came out in cinemas, I decided to skip it as I thought the first film was pretty average and from what I'd heard about the sequel after it's release I was put off it for a while. However I eventually decide to it a shot.

Tom Hiddleston does another great job as Loki and once again steals the show from everyone like he did in the first...
Published 18 days ago by Gatekeeper197


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

78 of 93 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What Thor Did Next, 13 Jan 2014
This review is from: Thor: The Dark World [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
After the life-changing The Avengers, every nerd worth their salt has been dying to know What Thor Did Next. (A reality show HAS to be in the pipeline, right? Like a Real Housewives of Asgard thing, with wonderful asides of Loki judging everybody and... okay, getting off track here.) Iron Man 3 didn't give us any clues what our favourite burly demi-god has been up to, and here we learn why: he hasn't had time to pop by Earth just yet, as he's been busy restoring peace all over the universe. Seems a good excuse to me, mate, but I'm not sure Jane will take it so well!

Befitting director Alan Taylor's Game of Thrones heritage, this time we come to a darker, grimier Asgard. Gone is the shiny, futuristic gadgetry of Branagh's Thor; instead, everything starts falling apart around out ears five minutes in. There are tears in this film, and real losses that change characters forever. The first film was a fish-out of-water tale; Thor was an arrogant boy who needed to grow up and fall in love. Here, he's been there, done that and bought the T-Shirt: this time, he means business, and he's taking everything seriously with a much more mature head on his shoulders, and to Hemsworth's credit, he delivers this as effortlessly as he did the buffoonishness of the character in the predecessor. But it's Hiddleston who's the real treat. He has been excellent in both Thor and The Avengers, but he surpasses himself here. This film really delves into Loki's powers as the god of mischief (watch out for a particularly hilarious, blink-and-you'll-miss-it scene where he transforms into somebody familiar...) and makes a real meal out of his trickiness. And oh, what a delicious meal it is! His murky past, unclear loyalties and surprise alliances are riveting to watch. This may be Thor's movie, but Loki is arguably the breakout character. In fairness, there are no weak performances here. There's a new minor character, 'my intern's intern,' as Jane puts it, who seems a bit redundant, but even he is part of one of the film's funniest scenes, so we'll let him off.

A particularly amusing part of any Marvel movie for me is watching fellow audience members when the credits begin. The committed amongst us are easily spotted; we are the ones who don't move a muscle. While casual fans reach for their coats as soon as the first name flashes up, the rest of us hang on until the bitter end to get a glimpse of what's coming. Here, we're treated to a clip from upcoming Guardians of the Galaxy; but then, we're lucky enough to have another scene, giving us a brief glimpse of Thor again.

My grievances with this film are slight, but here they are. The first was that there seemed to be some kind of aborted subplot expanding on Thor's relationship with Sif. In interviews, I read that her role was to be greatly expanded, and there was even going to be a kind of love triangle between she, Thor and Jane, but this obviously didn't get past the cutting room floor, although hints of it remain intact in places. It's a shame, as I would have happily sat still for twenty minutes extra to get a bit more character development. The second was similar in theme; I wish that antagonist Malekith's motivations had been expanded on a little more. Marvel are usually excellent at making their villains real people with motivations, even with good intentions that became warped; but here, he's a little 2D in places, despite a marvellous effort from a barely recognisable Christopher Eccleston. Still, despite these minor annoyances, the vast majority of the film kept me utterly hooked.

Overall, Thor: The Dark World is a wonderful installment in the ongoing Marvel franchise, and certainly enough to keep me going until the release of Captain America: Winter Soldier in April! And did I mention that I really love Loki? Yes? Okay then...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'THOR' USES THE 'HAMMER OF POWER' AGAIN', 8 April 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another C,G,I Spectacle to behold.
With Lead cast : 'Chris Hemsworth' (Thor) 'Natalie Portman' (Jane Foster)
'Tom Hiddleston' (Loki) 'Anthony Hopkins' (Odin) and 'Christopher Eccleston'
(Malakith)
The Cosmos is in danger as rare alignment of the planets is about to come
about.
Ancient adversary 'Malakith' has re-emerged 'Thor' cannot combat the enemy
alone, he needs the help of his treacherous brother 'Loki' to save both 'Asgard'
and 'Planet Earth' where 'Jane Foster' lives, 'Jane' the woman 'Thor' loves.
Apparently 'Jane' possesses powers that the evil 'Malakith' will need to fulfil
his intent to destroy both worlds.
Can 'Thor's' brother 'Loki' be trusted. ?
This an Action-Packed visual and enjoyable spectacle in the 'Marvel' Super-Heroes
series.
Great Picture and Sound Quality Throughout both watching in either 3-D or 2-D
(May have to duck a few time with the 3-D version)
Special Features include :-
* Marvel one shot - All Hail the King.
* Featurette :- A Brother's Journey - 'Thor' and 'Loki'
* Featurette :- Scoring Thor :- The Dark World with 'Bryan Tyler'
* Deleted and Extended Scenes.
* Gag Reel.
* Audio Commentary...
Plus Much More....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tom Hiddleston once again steals the show, 29 Mar 2014
When the sequel to Thor came out in cinemas, I decided to skip it as I thought the first film was pretty average and from what I'd heard about the sequel after it's release I was put off it for a while. However I eventually decide to it a shot.

Tom Hiddleston does another great job as Loki and once again steals the show from everyone like he did in the first film. Unfortunately, the other characters are still very bland and the additions don't stand out either. The relationship between Thor and Jane Foster is still unconvincing despite Natalie Portman's caliber as an actress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thor. The dark world, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not overly impressed with this film, Lost the plot half way through (if there was one). Thought the 3D effects were not that good either
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A disappointment., 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thor: The Dark World [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I have all the Marvel series and found them entertaining, no matter how far-fetched. I like Thor #1 and his part in the Avengers; but this film was all wrong -- very boring, dark for dark's sake, and basically mindless. The story was very weak -- Thor seemed a dimwit, Jane Foster could have been any Hollywood bimbo, the enemy was some smear of red, and the villain was all make-up and had been better created by computer graphics. Loki was predictably treacherous and obnoxious, having no difficulty fooling the clueless heroes. I hope Marvel gets some talent for the next installment. Save your time and money and don't buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb Thor Sequel, 2 Nov 2013
By 
timelord007 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Positive.
Chris Hensworth as Thor whom has made this part his own delivering a more human side to the God of Thunder.
Tom Hiddleson scene steels every scene he's in as Loki.
Christopher Eccleston is a surprisingly good in his role as Dark Elves Malekith
Superb well directed action scenes by Alan Taylor that deliver a epic scale.

Negative.
The humour is a to much in places affecting some of the more dramatic scenes especially in the climactic battle.
The ending is an anti-climax, One assuming this is a plot device for Thor 3?

Trivia.
Keep an eye out for a Marvel Avenger cameo in this.
There 2 post cameo scenes at the end of this movie.

Blu ray Info.
Running time 112 minutes, Region B2, Rating:12a, Subtitles, Director Alan Taylor.

Extras.
Commentary, Deleted & extended scenes, First look at Captain America The Winter Soldier, Hail to the king documentary, A brother's journey parts 1 & 2 featurette, Scoring Thor Dark World with Brian Tyler & much much more.

Quality.Blu ray has a sharp crisp picture & excellent sound, I have experienced No loading problems to date.

Review.
After the events by Loki in Avengers Assemble his adopted father Odin vanquishes Loki to the cells of Asgard to atone for his crimes.

Meanwhile Thor is bringing order to the 9 realms & upon his return to Asgard a new threat looms with the power source used in past history by the Dark Elves run by leader Malekith a old enemy of Asgard who's army was virtually wiped out by Thor's Grandfather whom then banished the power source Aether to Earth for safety.

The Aether is a liquid based weapon of great power capable of destroying Earth, Asgard & the other realms.

Having located a powerful anomaly Jane Foster locates the Aether which infects her prompting Thor to rescue her & return to Asgard with Jane in tow to find a way to cure her of the Aethers possessive power.

But unfortunate for Asgard as Malekith is awakened from his hibernation sensing the Aethers presence set's out to find the Aether locating it's power source on Asgard prompting an all out attack by the Dark Elves.

With Asgard taking huge casualties from Malekiths devastating attack Thor has no other choice but to go against father's wishes & commit Treason & ask the only person whom knows of a escape route through the portals is his brother Loki as Odin has now forbidden the use of the Byfrost to travel though the realms.

Can Thor save Jane Foster from the Aethers posseive power, Seek out & stop Malekiths quest to lead the Dark Elves to rule the 9 realms?

Can Loki, Thor's brother be trusted or will he betray his brother & join Malekiths in his evil Quest to rule?

This movie is bigger louder & as action packed than the original movie, It also contains much jokey humour which is ok in small doses but it's continuous throughout which had a negative effect on the movies dramatic scenes making it feel a 1980 Flash Gordon type movie than a 2013 Marvel blockbuster.

Director Alan Taylor should know were the beats for a film go the action, Drama & humour but he makes the mistake of fusing them all together which gives the film a uneven tone.

Chris Hensworth exells at Thor whom has certainly matured into the role & can deliver those dramatic scenes by expression without the need of dialogue & just holds the movie together.

Alongside Thor is another scene steeling performance by Tom Hiddleson as Loki who makes the character both sinister & likeable again along with Hensworth these two excellent actor's keep the movie entertaining.

Anthony Hopkins is usually good value yet lacks the dramatic presence here like his performance in the original movie & seems to just phone in his performance.

Natalie Portman was average for a Oscar winning actress, I felt she was underused in places as there were too many tagged on character's that diminished the drama scenes & affected character development.

A great example of this is Rene Russo as Thors mother Frigga again like in the original film she is underused & is reduced to a few short scenes.

The shock for me was Christopher Eccleston as villain Malekith whom brings great darkness to the role although his Manchester accent at times leaks through in his performance.

There are several decent action set pieces directed by Alan Taylor that deliver scale & the climax between Thor & Malekith was decent but not epic.

Criticisms; The humour which I've already mentioned, The running time needed a extra 10-15 minutes was to smooth over some of the plot holes & the anti-climax final scene before the two post credit sequences which leaves a cliffhanger hopefully resolved in the Avengers Assemble Age of Ultron or Thor 3.

All in all 112 minutes of decent but inconsistent entertainment the homoured tone becomes annoying, But is still Marvel's second best movie of 2013 after the exellent Wolverine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Virtually Plotless, 27 Mar 2014
This review is from: Thor: The Dark World [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I will keep this review short, because I don't want to waste any more words or time on this than I have to. Basically, the first Thor film didn't exactly impress me and this one is even worse. I just cannot understand all of the four and five star reviews on this site and others for this film. If you want to watch a plotless, shallow, tedious film, which is full of too-good-to-be-true good-looking actors, then this film is for you. If you value a good plot, characters, believable action, or anything else, then I suggest you keep looking. I am sure that this film will keep comic-book nerds and 10-year old boys happy for a couple of hours, but I can't imagine it having much appeal for anyone else. One star from me, for this extremely over-hyped up piece of garbage. Avoid like the plague.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Frantic, 17 Mar 2014
This review is from: Thor - The Dark World (DVD)
There is a point where legend and myth slides into ridicules nonsense. Too much going on to understand or care what doom we were being saved from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars is and OK follow up, 17 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was OK no great. I thought there were excellent action scenes but I would have thought they could have developed a better story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love the Super Heroes, 16 April 2014
By 
wicket2005 (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love all the superheroes films, though this one is a bit far fetched. Picture quality is amazing in 3D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6a5fee8)

This product

Thor: The Dark World [DVD] [2013]
Thor: The Dark World [DVD] [2013] by Alan Taylor (DVD - 2014)
10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews