Customer Reviews


115 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exquisitely crafted...
Exquisitely crafted and meticulously researched, 'The Handfasted Wife' takes a poignant look at the lives of some of the leading women affected by the power politics and turmoil at the time of the Norman Conquest. The novel has an original focus on Edith (Elditha) Swanneck, the love-wife of Harold Godwinson, last Anglo Saxon King of England, a lady who is set aside when...
Published 10 months ago by Jenny Barden

versus
30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting read...
I don't really know what to think about this novel (not a great start to a review, I realise). I really want to like it, and I did enjoy reading it, but I'm not sure it entirely found its feet.
For a start, it's a fascinating story - the handfasted wife of King Harold, her place usurped by a church-wed wife in a marriage of political convenience - is forced to make...
Published 12 months ago by Helsbelles


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exquisitely crafted..., 19 Dec 2013
Exquisitely crafted and meticulously researched, 'The Handfasted Wife' takes a poignant look at the lives of some of the leading women affected by the power politics and turmoil at the time of the Norman Conquest. The novel has an original focus on Edith (Elditha) Swanneck, the love-wife of Harold Godwinson, last Anglo Saxon King of England, a lady who is set aside when her husband is crowned with devastating consequences for her and her children. 'The Handfasted Wife' deals sensitively with the effect of war on women at a time when they had little control over their destinies, and with conflicts in faith and tradition when Christianity was supplanting Paganism. A story as finely worked as a precious tapestry; one for anyone with an interest in the Middle Ages or who enjoys sound biographical fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Handfasted Wife, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Handfasted Wife - an historical novel (The Daughters of Hastings Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Intended to be the first of a trilogy this is the story of Edith who was married to Harold Godwineson the last Saxon King of England who was killed at the Battle of Hastings. They were married according to a Danish, non Christian, rite and though the relationship was a happy one and they had several children after Harold became King in the early part of 1066 he married another lady in a Christian ceremony. This is a superb historical novel telling the story of Edith and her family in the months before the Battle of Hastings and the years afterwards. It really brings the period to life. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bringing history to life, 11 May 2014
By 
R. Hazell (Duncan, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This novel interweaves fact and fiction to bring to life not only a pivotal time in British history but also a perspective that I wish we had more of in history: that of the women. I was so fascinated by the former that I had to keep setting the book down to research more about those times, and was so moved by the latter that I had to look up even more. McGrath has successfully recreated the setting, the lives and the difficulties that beset the Godwin women after King Harold Godwinsson was killed at the battle of Hastings.

The story builds slowly, showing the background for why he set aside his `handfasted' wife for a political marriage, and the kind of prejudices that his first wife, Elditha (the main character) encountered. But it quickly builds as war approaches. We are spared the horrific battle, but from there on in, the action builds as we are plunged into the grief of loss as well as the fight for survival and for her children that Elditha and others like her endured.

I was especially taken by how Danish, Irish, English and Norman themes are interwoven, reflecting the way people of that era actually lived and how they perceived each other. So different from dry history books! And had I been more patient, many of the questions I wanted to ask were answered in McGrath's postscript. Best of all, I understand that there are more books about the Godwin women on their way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delightful book of Edith Swan-Neck, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are books that you want to finish at one go - the ones you want to race through the pages so that you will find out how the story ends. Then there are books that you want to savour - the ones you want to read slowly and enjoy every turn of the page, every single word, and every carefully placed punctuation mark, whilst trying to delay the inevitable end and feeling that you have lost a good friend. Carol McGrath's delightful The Handfasted Wife offers both of these reading experiences. Written in compelling prose, the book adroitly weaves the events of the precarious time to human life, the Norman conquest, into a rich tapestry and brings to life the story of Edith Swan-Neck, the handfasted wife of King Harold, from the few sources available.
The Handfasted Wife is an incredibly well-researched book; it is steeped in the past, but it carries the weight of history lightly, just as a good historical novel should. The characters are drawn deftly and convincingly and you learn to love them. Without giving anything away, if I had to pick a favourite character, it would be, apart from the protagonist and the other remarkable women of the story, Padar, that wandering skald, who also turns out to be a warrior. To me, he is the nexus between the Vikings and the English, one of the intriguing characters that allows McGrath to give life to the multifaceted society of the eleventh century. Those who have knowledge of the Anglo-Saxon culture, enjoy spotting the many references to Old English poems and other cultural references. I personally relished the scene with Beowulf!
I recommend The Handfasted Wife whole-heartedly to all fans of historical novels as well as to those interested in Anglo-Saxon period. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it and was sorry when the book came to an end, but I am comforted in the fact that the story continues in the next instalment with Gunnhild. I cannot wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting read..., 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Handfasted Wife - an historical novel (The Daughters of Hastings Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I don't really know what to think about this novel (not a great start to a review, I realise). I really want to like it, and I did enjoy reading it, but I'm not sure it entirely found its feet.
For a start, it's a fascinating story - the handfasted wife of King Harold, her place usurped by a church-wed wife in a marriage of political convenience - is forced to make the best of it she can at a time of great upheaval, as the Normans invade and the country is turned upside down by their unstoppable force. Her husband killed at the Battle of Hastings, she has her fair share of derring-do as she struggles for her own survival and that of her children.

So far, so good. A great premise for a story. And clearly very thoroughly researched, which made for interesting reading. I did wonder if perhaps the grittier realities of the Saxon times were rather airbrushed over - there did seem to be lots of fine cloth, clean linen, and delicious food and not a lot of smell, smoke, fleas and animal dung. But I suppose this story was dealing with the upper echelons of society so that's forgivable.

In her notes the author excuses filling in the gaps in the known story of Edith Swanneck, because, as she rightly says, this is meant to be a historical novel and not a work of history. However, I think in working so hard to recreate the history as accurately as possible, she might have lost sight of that sometimes. Ultimately I think there are a lot of missed opportunities for creating real, expressive characters with whom the reader can identify - they all seemed pretty one-dimensional. Eldytha's (and others) emotional responses to traumatic events were barely explored - occasionally she wipes a tear away with her sleeve and says a fervent prayer, but so much more could have been done in this respect that would have lifted the work beyond merely interesting, and made it emotionally involving too. Interactions between characters suffered from the same lack of dramatic interest.

Nonetheless, it's worth reading, it's quite a gripping story and nice to see a historical novel tackle the period from a woman's perspective.

PS, if the publishers read this for heaven's sake remind your copy editors of the difference between 'sliver' and 'slither'. Reading about 'a slither of mandrake root' and 'a slither of the true cross' made me want to howl!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Detailed and accurate but slow moving., 4 Mar 2014
By 
Heather S "HB" (West Country, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Handfasted Wife - an historical novel (The Daughters of Hastings Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I am an avid reader of historical novels but couldn't finish this one. I found the text very slow and in many places there is just too much detail and a lot of repetitiion (e.g why she couldn't have a church wedding). I am sure this is exceptionally well researched, but it did not sustain my interest. I stopped reading about half way through when I realised that I just didn't care what happened to the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Handfasted Wife - an historical novel (The Daughters of Hastings Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
It was so good to read a historical novel NOT based in Tudor Times! This story is about the first wife of King Harold who was defeated at the battle of Hastings in 1066.
While a lot of the novel is based on true facts, the story is fictional.
Harold and his first wife were happily 'handfasted' in other words happily married in the old traditional ways without benefit of the church. However when he became king the church had taken hold and he was persuaded that he should marry'properly' for political reasons, even though he had children with his first wife.
Nothing is known of what happened to her afterwards and this novel endeavours to give a fictional answer, whilst using true facts known.
I loved reading about this period in history as it is greatly neglected in a good novel and I look forward to more of the same by the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She and Harold had a love story and she considered herself to be his wife ..., 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Handfasted Wife - an historical novel (The Daughters of Hastings Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I have never really read any book pre Plantagenet, a book where I didn't know the story and how it ended. I knew of a Edith Swanneck and that she walked the battle field of Hastings searching for King Harold, but that was all. It was interesting to read about her life pre and post Hastings. She and Harold had a love story and she considered herself to be his wife and mother of his legitimate children. Good History books are there to take the reader on a journey through another time and place and hold the reader so that they do not want to come to the end. The Handfasted Wife does just that. I can not wait for the Daughters of Hasting - book II to come onto to Kindle - not long thank goodness. A good book, please more on the Normans and their families.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Riveting Story, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Handfasted Wife - an historical novel (The Daughters of Hastings Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book is about the wife of King Harold, who was killed at the Battle of Hastings.

I liked it because a lot of it was taken from information gleaned from historical records of the time; so was very believable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thoroughly good read., 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Handfasted Wife - an historical novel (The Daughters of Hastings Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I knew very little about this time period, except what I had gleaned at school. This book drew me in right from the start. The characters come to life in the book, and one is left feeling a "need" to know what happens next. Whilst this is obviously a work of fiction it does give the reader an impression of what life may have been like at that time. It is well written - not challenging, more of an easy read. I look forward to reading more in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews