Customer Reviews


169 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


89 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars utter bargain
About this review, note that I work in the consumer-electronics industry. I take part in the development of products similar to the WD Play. These products do not compete with the WD Play, so please consider my review to be unbiased and based on a modicum of knowledge for such products.

To summarise: I think it is an excellent product and beats others I have...
Published 4 months ago by keribillen

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok bit annoying
i bought this to watch mp4s and avis on an old tv, which it does quite well. It has played all file types ive sent at it.

The picture when playing some files is blurry. connecting and disconnecting usb devices is a bit of a chew. takes ages to detect them. for some reason it makes the screen go smaller when it has been turned on for awhile. sometimes device has...
Published 2 months ago by greg


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 417 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD TV Play Media Player (Accessory)
This worked for all of 3 months. Now is useless fails to load every time. Do not waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars pleased, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD TV Play Media Player (Accessory)
Quick delivery very easy to set up we bought for my parents and they are very happy with it. All round good purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD TV Play Media Player (Accessory)
Purchased from Amazon at the ridiculous price of 30.
Absolute bargain, and does everything and more than expected! Welcome little accessory for internet and applications on my old LCD TV!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Too slow loading and connecting and gets very hot., 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD TV Play Media Player (Accessory)
Bought for my mum to allow her to access media saved on my pc and watch bbc and netflix, but she's hardly used it as it's too slow. It takes ages to turn on, minimum of 5 minutes, and it often crashes at the end of watching a program, whether it's streamed from the pc, or something watched on i player or netflix. Once a movie or tv program is playing it's fine, it just takes too long to get to that point and she doesn't have the patience. Also gets very hot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very slow and riddled with bugs, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD TV Play Media Player (Accessory)
This is ok for Netflix and iPlayer. It is very slow todo anything such as searching, it reacts to button presses very slowly.

A lot of the apps are useless. I have got rid of virtually all of them except youtube, iplayer, tunein radio and Netflix.

Overall, it's pretty good value. Worth getting only if you cant afford Apple TV. Personally I would wait and see what the "Google Chromecast" dongle is like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Chosen one!, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD TV Play Media Player (Accessory)
Essential Media Player, movies via Netflix, You Tube, BBC iplayer, and a whole load of other Apps!. never knew You Tube had so many 70's cult programmes, with this Player I can watch it through my TV. Wonderful Player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good for converting an old TV to Smart TV, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD TV Play Media Player (Accessory)
I mainly use for playback Videos from a NAS drive. So far it has played all file formats.
Very pleased with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not this one, 22 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD TV Play Media Player (Accessory)
This refers to an earlier model but I doubt if this is any better. The other one-star reviews certainly reflect my thoughts. If you want a retro experience similar to a dial-up 14.4 modem that freezes and often throws you out, buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD TV Play Media Player (Accessory)
Use it most days to watch Netflix or to stream recordings off our Humax Fox t2 in the other room.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars nice idea but could be better, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD TV Play Media Player (Accessory)
nice little product but limited as unable to add to list
so you can only use apps installed not add extras.

storage streaming works but when streaming over lan have problems reading large file lists but works great for small ones.

while using plex had no issues with playback but when using other dlna streamers would stall on some formats and this would require reboot of box to fix as wouldn't play any file after stall.

over all would look at another product if looking for online tv or lan streaming with large archives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 417 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xfc7057c)

This product

WD TV Play Media Player
WD TV Play Media Player by Western Digital
69.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews