Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
9
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 May 2013
If you ever caught any footage of South American football and wondered what all the fuss was about, take this crash course guide to one of the world's biggest games. When Boca Juniors and River Plate collide, it is never anything short of gripping. This book captures the essence of why that is the case and you can read it all in one sitting.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2013
Been wanting to read this for a while, and when it was priced at 99p, it was an opportunity I couldn't let pass.

Got it on Kindle while on holiday, thinking I'd read some of it whenever I had a few minutes. As soon as I started it, I knew I wouldn't be able to let it go until I finished it.

Concise, and gives a lot of history on both Boca and River Plate. Well worth its price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2013
Excellent read on a riveting rivalry. Always enjoy reading about football from outside Europe and this was no exception, highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2015
Forget Real Madrid v Barcelona – Buenos Aires is where it’s at. This short book is an interesting overview of the River Plate v Boca Juniors derbies in Argentina – matches where there is fierce rivalry both off and on the pitch. Richards traces the history of these matches, giving just enough detail for the casual reader. Those who want to know more will need to look elsewhere, but this is a good starting point.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2014
A quick, easy and niftily constructed read that skips the minutiae and insider-y jargon that weigh down many football books and gets you straight to the heart and soul of one of football's most storied rivalries: Boca Juniors vs River Plate.

Richards clearly knows his stuff and has immersed himself in the often seamy world of Argentine football so that we don't have to. Refreshingly he doesn't obsess over Diego Maradona (who, Richards reminds us, only played one season for Boca in his prime), but dwells instead on local legends like the enigmatic Juan Román Riquelme and the "traitorous" Oscar Ruggeri, who committed the ultimate crime of switching from Boca to River.

Worth 90 minutes of anyone's time and by the end you'll be wishing for extra time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2013
Fantastic incite into the history or this rivalry. Definitely a must read for avid football fans. MUST READ MUST READ.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2013
Good introduction to a world famous Derby.
A lot of info which will come in handy on matchday especially if decide to support the away side!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2016
A good summary of what is probably the most intense rivalry in world football. Would definitely recommend as a solid introduction to the topic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2013
It was definitely an interesting read, especially seeing as how I previously had a far more bare knowledge about the Argentine centre piece. I just wish it was longer!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse