Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ripping Good Yarn!
Well, what's not to like?! If you like Star Trek and Star Wars you'll love this. Full of implausabilty it is, but it's well told. Full of action but sufficient attention paid by the author to character to engage and sweep the reader along. The story is based on a classic approach: maverick hero leader supported by loyal and highly skilled followers confronts hordes of...
Published 20 months ago by Nick

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars headline
lots of battlefield action.Easy reading with fast action so not boring. Not for those looking for new concepts or thought provoking situations
Published 18 months ago by Andy


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ripping Good Yarn!, 17 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homeworld (Odyssey One Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Well, what's not to like?! If you like Star Trek and Star Wars you'll love this. Full of implausabilty it is, but it's well told. Full of action but sufficient attention paid by the author to character to engage and sweep the reader along. The story is based on a classic approach: maverick hero leader supported by loyal and highly skilled followers confronts hordes of ruthless aliens bent on the destruction of earth forcing a divided humanity to make a joint and desperate last stand. Although drawing on a big legacy of sci-fi writers ( you'll recognise lots of the elements) this is a skilfully written and enjoyable read that will make it hard to prison. Highly recommended but read the first two in the series first!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars headline, 24 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homeworld (Odyssey One Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
lots of battlefield action.Easy reading with fast action so not boring. Not for those looking for new concepts or thought provoking situations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb - well written, 13 Sept. 2013
By 
B. Doswell (Cyberspace of course) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homeworld (Odyssey) (MP3 CD)
What a ride! This is back to ethos of book 1 I thought; no spoilers but once again Captain Weston is back against the baddies and winning. Well almost. It was good to read of other ships and forces in the battle. Some of the back history is filled in and the plot gets even more convoluted. I was pleasantly surprised to find the enemy (and indeed other NACS ships command crews) were not all shown as bumbling fools. No spoilers well a little one - There's a really really interesting twist at the end...

There's a little bit more science used - and some repetitive texts / segments but the general book is very readable and the story continues along at great pace. This is a good series of books, for myself when book 4 rattles off the keyboard I will be buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a finale, 11 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Homeworld (Odyssey One Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I had been waiting for this book for a while now. My pre-order sitting there patiently in cyberspace.

As soon as it was available, I practically devoured this book in a matter of hours, only to be left with as big a cliff hanger as the previous book

Hurry up Mr Currie and write some more.

Love the way Evan Currie spins a yarn, fast paced like able characters, excellent plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Decent to acceptable, but losing momentum, 10 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homeworld (Odyssey One Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
This point in the series is where the books, in my opinion, really starts to lose momentum. I still enjoyed it as a continuation of the Odyssey One series, but I felt there was alot more mileage to be taken out of the present storyline without the addition of extra vessels (which are never explained properly) and so on. Still an enjoyable read if you've gotten this far into it, but don't expect it to be as good as it was before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best action novels by far, 8 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homeworld (Odyssey One Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
My god these books are addictive, one of the best action novels by far, im so glad I didnt discover these when only the first was out, the pain waiting for the next novel would have been off the charts, right on to the 4th one, Evan if theres any chance for getting the next one out any quicker would be appreciated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 25 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homeworld (Odyssey One Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
this is a great follow-on, and I can't wait to read the next book, if it is anything lioke as good as this it should make my best seller list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, 20 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homeworld (Odyssey One Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
A really nice sci fi series. Humanities first foray into space does not find happy aliens. Really good portrayal of charactors and events, with nice - evil aliens.

Cracking series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bugs in space, 5 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homeworld (Odyssey One Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Standard space opera stuff but a good read and well written. Story moves along at a good pace with believable characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun in space, 8 Dec. 2013
By 
MR "dastardlyknave" (STAINES, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homeworld (Odyssey One Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
This has a lot of things wrong with it. It has perhaps too many characters and points of view, and sometimes no point of view at all; it loves humans kicking butt; and it has a couple of complete golden-boys for examples, but it's happy easy reading, has a clever way of showing the effect diverging technologies and still leaves you grunting 'Oorah' as out of their depth humans pull off clever maneuvers to devastating effect. I can't help but like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Homeworld (Odyssey One Book 3)
£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews